We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trehellas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trehellas House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Certificate of Excellence
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Excellent value; delicious food; pleasant, attentive but not obtrusive staff; we stayed in the huge Courtroom Suite which was magnificent with a very comfy large bed. Good location - handy for the Eden Project; the Lost Garden of Heligan and both North and South Coasts and very close to the Camel Valley Vineyard. Very helpful and friendly hosts nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    94
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
184
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We visited here recently with friends. We only had starters and main courses but there was a good choice. The food was very nice but my husband's choice of steak and chips was disappointing, the steak was very tasty and cooked to his liking but was let down by the accompanying chips. They were catering chips which I would not have expected from an establishment where everthing else was of a high standard. Waiting staff were attentive and helpful when we asked for an amendment to one dish. Will visit again and recommend to friends but will avoind the chips next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

One night stay on a B&B deal. Lovely old building and our room was very comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful about the local area. Very handy for the local attractions. We went to the Camel Valley vineyard. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant and they have a good wine list including some of the local wines. An enjoyable experience and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAtsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Spent two nights on a bed and breakfast deal at the end of January 2012. The hotel is situated ideally for trips out to Padstowe and surrounding area, but you really have to travel to have a day out. Staff were all polite friendly and helpful. We had the set meal on the first night & it was very good - wish I'd booked in for dinner as teh food did seem to be well received by most and the deal on offer was pretty good. The breakfasts were good too, liked the home made preserves by "granny" and it was no problem asking for more toast etc.
We tried the pub up the road on Saturday night and were a bit disappointed - probably because it was virtually empty and the food was pretty ordinary.
Trehallas was relaxed, clean, friendly - the bed was comfortable and the linen felt luxurious. My advice would be look for dinner Bed & breakfast deals - days out on the coast & back for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here for one night in January 2012 on business and it was perfect. No faults at all! The hotel is full of character in a lvoely old building, with low ceilings and slate floors. I was in the Courtroom Suite, which was huge. Plenty of hote water, lovely warm room, and the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in ever, I think. I slept really well.

Evening meal was excellent, wine really good, and breakfast also very good. The staff were very attentive, and were good enough to amend my dinner request to something not quuite on the menu. I paid £50 on expedia, but would have paid up to £100 for this standard. Paid £150 to stay in the Holiday Inn in Plymouth, albeit in the height of summer, and Trehellas was far superior. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Courtroom Suite was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washaway
3.1 km away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
6.2 km away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
13.4 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
12.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.3 km away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trehellas House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trehellas House

Property: Trehellas House
Address: Bodmin, Washaway, Bodmin PL30 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Washaway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,822 - ₹ 13,800
Hotel Class:3 star — Trehellas House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1745 this lovely building still retains its charm with its original stone floors and converted courthouse on the first floor. Now a comfortable hotel located close to Padstow & Fowey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Trehellas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trehellas House Hotel Washaway
Trehellas Hotel Bodmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing