We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,135 results
Traveller rating
1,554
384
138
36
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,554
384
138
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gallery restaurant royal suite hot tub fudge courtyard room four poster welcome drink main building beautiful hotel steeped in history sublime sunday coffee machine birthday treat on arrival turn down service little touches fantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,042 - 1,047 of 2,135 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

This country house hotel looks incredibly grand with an imposing coat of arms and a history that includes Elizabeth1st and James 1st but the warm welcome and the really high level of service from all the staff soon puts you at ease. I thoroughly enjoyed my two day break here and felt quite restored even without the spa. When that opens Boringdon Hall will be perfect. The breakfast was delicious.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrzysztofProkop, General Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Dear Caro C
Many thanks for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor. It is always gratifying to read when Boringdon Hall means something special to our guests who return time and again. Look forward to seeing you on your third visit.
Kind regards,
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

My wife and I booked this hotel as an overnight stop before catching a ferry to Spain.
It is located just outside Plymouth and as we drove uphill through residential housing we wondered what we would find.

The hotel is at the top of a hill with views, plenty of free parking and some acres of nice grounds.
Our room was located on the ground floor with easy access to our car. The room itself was fine with all the usual amenities and was clean and tidy. There was no noise at night so we slept soundly.

The hotel is a very historic building with a lot of interesting nooks and crannies.. We had dinner in the Minstrel's gallery restaurant overlooking the main hall. Both the setting and the food were very good.

If you are looking for a hotel in the Plymouth area this must be one of the nicest choices and at a very reasonable price as well.

Even if you are not staying overnight it is worth visiting for food or drinks just to have a look around the very interesting building.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrzysztofProkop, General Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Dear James F
Thank you also for the super comments regarding the food and service , all the team keep a close eye on Tripadvisor so it is good for them to receive such praise.
Kind regards,
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We stayed here whilst attending the Rod Stewart concert in Plymouth. We had a lovely room which was an executive suite which appeared to be a complimentary upgrade from the courtyard double I had booked although nobody said as much, however if that was the case it was a nice touch.

The suite was spacious with a nice lounge area and lovely completely private high walled patio/deck with sunken Jacuzzi. The bedroom was Ok but a little dark with high windows but I guess that's down to the old building style, I though it might have been better to swap the bedroom and lounge around,

The only negative in the room was the hard and lumpen nature of the mattress and the fact to my wife's horror it didn't have a mattress protector (apparently Alex Polizzi would have had something to say about this!) Not great for a four star hotel and we didn't get a great sleep.

The staff were very friendly, chatty and helpful and organized us a taxi to the concert, getting back was another issue and we were very lucky to get a taxi back as it was chaotic to say the least. We were a little disappointed on arriving back at 11:30pm to find the bar closed.

We had a bar lunch on the afternoon of arrival and sat outside on the green which was very nice although the wrought iron seating is quite uncomfortable and could either do with some cushions or modernizing. The food was very nice and tasty and we also enjoyed our breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast. Its not the best I've every had and if they want to raise it up to a higher level home made bread, jams, yoghurts and higher quality sausages would help. Its very nearly there but just needs some tweaks.

It was a shame the spa wasn't finished yet, apparently its behind schedule, and we would be happy to return for a couple of days to try it out. They also do some themed evenings for murder mystery as well as jazz events and events at Christmas and New Year.

Overall a great hotel from our limited time and we would recommend it and hope to return.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrzysztofProkop, General Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear MarkCornwall_UK
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you found your Boringdon Hall very Special and is a lovely place to stay. I have also noted your disappointment with regards to the lack of mattress protector. I have spoken to Paulina Gajzler our Head Housekeeper who joins me in apologizing that the bed did not meet your wife expectations.
Thank you for your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Have just come back from 2 nights at Boringdon Hall. The hotel is lovely and our room was fantastic, very clean and spacious and extremely comfortable bed. We had dinner the first night and the food was excellent though the waiter was perhaps too attentive. It isn't really appropriate to point out what someone has left on their plate and how long the chef had been preparing it!! Also he did appear to have more food on his suit than on our plates!!
Breakfasts both mornings was excellent quality and plenty of choice.
Along with a number of other guests at the hotel we attended the Rod Stewart concert in the town, we arrived back at the hotel at around 11.30pm and we were all disappointed that the bar was shut and we were unable to get a drink. On the whole though this is an excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful reception and bar staff and despite the odd complaints I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1,90,91,992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrzysztofProkop, General Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear 19091992
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time with us. Our teams pride themselves on offering world class service and we are delighted to hear that the team were professional and passionate throughout your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The hotel was a lovely setting.
Shame the Spa was not open.
Staff were helpful and smiley
Food choices were great. Love the 'local' thing.
Only criticism would be the food was not very hot and looked anaemic.
Plates could be hot, etc.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rw140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrzysztofProkop, General Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear rw140
Thank you for you glowing review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that the team looked after you.
Kind regards,
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews