We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
149
137
67
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
137
67
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub nice village shepherd neame village square car park full english breakfast on arrival bar area bar menu enjoyed my stay good size lovely hotel hot water comfortable room one night stay stayed here for nights tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

My partner and I popped in for a drink after afternoon tea at a nearby coffee shop and wished we hadn't bothered. I always check the rim of the glass for lipstick marks as this is what I sometimes find in pubs and unfortunately that is what I found here. I politely asked for a new drink (I asked for a bottle instead) and he completely ignored my request for a bottle but held a new glass up to scan before filling up with a fresh drink. He did apologize but I thought to serve me what I hadn't asked for was rather rude. I ended up leaving almost all the drink because although the glass was cleaner than before, I could still see marks and it just put me right off. If he had just given me a bottle and straw I could've at least had the drink we paid for. I'm not sure if he just wanted to prove their glasses were clean but it didn't work as I don't care how fainter a lipstick mark appears, if it's not mine, I don't want it. Disgusting.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank misslambx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

The only downside was that we were put on 2 separate tables. Other than that the food was lovely the waiter and waitresses were friendly efficient and welcoming. Everyone was served promptly and they had the savvy to serve the children first and one waitress had the brilliant idea of "whoever was sitting down could order their pudding". I highly recommend a visit and thank you to the staff both on bar and in restaurant for being so great.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank foxpeter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Plusses. Old and pretty hotel well situated in delightful village. Pleasant helpful young waitress. Good car park. Room clean except for toilet and well appointed with tea tray and biscuits, tables,, chairs, wardrobe, mirrors. Fish and chips for dinner was reasonable. Menu choice sensible.

Minuses. Ground floor room and en suite overlooked courtyard where drinkers could be heard but also could see and hear you unless windows were shut and blinds down. In sweltering heat in a little room this was torture. Windows were jammed shut (very old) and had to be levered open. Toilet had disturbing gunge in it. All night noise of loud humming from some machine plus 10 minute bursts of loud plumbing noise. Hence little sleep. Dining room so dark I couldn't read the menu without difficulty. As other people have had a better experiences I suggest avoiding the ground floor rooms and checking the location of your room. Maybe some rooms are fine. If I had not had a special deal I would have been even less enchanted.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

This must go down as the worst roast dinner in my living memory! ‘Lamb’ - wasn’t sure what it was, vegetables had the strangest taste that could only be described as reminiscent of dish washing liquid? Awful. Quite astonishing they could get it so wrong? After traveling down from York we had no choice but to try and eat what we could. Will never return.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GG029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed here whilst working locally. I only had a single room booked, the pub and location are nice but my room was just next to the beer garden. As it has been so hot, I had to open the windows (no air-conditioning due to the age of the Pub) so it was quite noisy during early evening and later evening.

I travel alot for my work so I see alot of hotel rooms! I don't think this room was as clean as it could have been tbh, the bathroom needed a bit of tlc and the halogen lights had multiple dead insects in them. Basic things that can be easily sorted though.

Breakfast in the morning was painfully slow, it took approx 50 minutes for my breakfast to arrive by which time I had to rush as I had a meeting to attend. Toast which had been ordered didn't arrive so I didn't even have time to re-order. They were busy, but I was a lone traveler.

I must say though, even though I wouldn't stay here again on business, it's a busy and vibrant hotel (if you don't need to rush) and the hotel staff were all very nice and pleasant.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank beckiejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews