We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lorne House
Ranked #2 of 6 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The B&B is within easy travel distance of Bath - bus stop just outside and our taxi home late at night was £10-15 (can't remember exactly!) Room was beautiful with fabulous bathroom and really comfy beds. Breakfast was also amazing with a range of homemade jams.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    30
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
71
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Lorne House surpassed our expectations! Gorgeous home, friendly hosts, delicious breakfast-all perfectly situated in the charming town of Box. Our entire family of seven were well taken care of and felt welcome in this must-stay B&B. I am home now and wish my bed was half as cozy as the beds in the Lorne House! We will be recommending this place to all those we know who will be making a trip into Bath. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Finding accommodation in Bath during the Easter weekend was proving hard so we looked further afield and glad that we did.

Lorne House accommodated 9 of our family on Good Friday. The rooms were lovely. The service very friendly. The breakfast was gorgeous, perfectly cooked with plenty of traditional and fruit selection. Very highly recommended and only 15muns from the centre of Bath. Do consider staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJT2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

There were several occasions when i thought I must have died and ended up in heaven. To start with the hosts were VERY welcoming when we arrived. The venue - set in a wonderful charming town AND the former dwelling of the author of the Thomas the Tank Engine books. AND it's out of the tourist hustle and bustle of Bath but very conveniently located in the next village The room - I don't know where to start - we stayed in the room that contained the bathroom that the famous man used to use as his bedroom. - the bedding was absolutely dreamy BY FAR the most comfortable bed we stayed in in 6 weeks of traveling ( and I'm also comparing some of the top hotel chains....add to this the bathroom and shower was THE BEST we experienced. BUT on top of all this the breakfast was ABSOLUTELY SUPERB. A selection of a wide range of fresh fruits, cereals, toast, coffee, tea, locally sourced free range eggs and other local produce comprising my wonderful full English breakfast cooked to perfection and delightful homemade jams to please the palate. If heaven is as good as this bring it on! If I could live here I would

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveW404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night in March 2012 with my wife. The room was quite small but decorated and furnished to a good standard, the shower was very good though. I did ask and was allocated a room with bath AND shower but we weren't given this when we arrived, I didn't complain as it wasn't really a problem. The breakfast was tasty and the village of Box is very pretty. I'd definitely recommend The Northey Arms to eat as we did it, great food, service and lovely interior.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
3.6 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.0 km away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
4.7 km away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
8.6 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
5.3 km away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne House

Property: Lorne House
Address: Lorne House London Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,803 - ₹ 10,367
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2016, Lorne House offers guests smart and sophisticated accommodation with ensuite modern wetrooms or bathrooms. Furnished to a very high standard, Lorne House is a stylish home from home offering our guests an elegant charm and very friendly welcome. Breakfasts are hearty and traditionally English. Close to Bath, Lacock, Castle Combe, Corsham, Bradford on Avon and Avebury Lorne House is perfectly situated for guests wishing to explore the beauty and history of this lovely corner of Wiltshire. Lorne House was the childhood home of the Rev. W J Awdry, author of Thomas the Tank Engine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lorne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne House Hotel Box

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing