We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable beds, amazing breakfast!”
Review of High Orchard B&B

High Orchard B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Orchard B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Wiveliscombe B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, amazing breakfast!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for a night in July. Margaret made us feel immediately welcome. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, and all at a reasonable price. Breakfast was superb - the bacon and sausages wholesomely home-made and scrambled eggs divine (made my fry-up seem almost healthy!).

The only negative is that it is located 1.5miles from the town centre and cabbies aren't a roaring trade in Taunton so if you head out on the lash you'll have some difficulty getting back if you don't pre-arrange transport. That said, our friends stayed in a B&B in the centre and it was just plain awful in comparison, and noisy to boot.

The real treat was taking the kids to the farm to see all the animals. They absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We literally rang an hour outside of Taunton and asked if there was a room just for the one night. Despite this we were made to feel very welcome, the kettle was on as soon as we arrived and Margaret even apologised for not having a cake in!

The room was very clean with fantastic views, the bed a welcome comfort after a long day of travelling and being 5 months pregnant and the breakfast delicious and plantifull. Best of all Margaret was so interesting and knowledgable to talk to I could have listened to tales of the farm all day.

Just down the road is a small pub serving good food, saves you going too far if it's just a stop over you're after. However I would think this would be a lovely spot to stay for a walking holiday or a base to explore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willand, Devon
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were made immediately welcome on arrival and the room was clean, nicely decorated and comfortable.

The breakfast was excellent, plenty of toast and tea!

Margaret and John run a lovely B&B.

John and Susan Kelly
Devon

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have been working in the area and found High Orchard a brilliant place to stay.The rooms are spotless and spacious and Mageret and John really make you feel at home.You get to know the dogs who are really friendly the breakfast is superb with it all beeing home produced and I learnt a lot about farming,brill.I stayed with mageret and john for aprximatly ten weeks and once there didnt bother to look for anywhere else.I couldnt ask for better thanks again for a brilliant stay
David Souster
Plymouth PL21JW

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed here for a week for work, and couldn't have asked for more- Margaret fixed me up with a room at short notice, and she and John made me feel extremely welcome and at home. It was also lovely to have cuddles with the dogs! They juggle running a farm and a B&B, but achieve fantastic service all round. The room was top notch- amazing value for money- so clean and comfortable, and with beautiful countryside views. There was ample parking and all the necessary facilities including ensuite shower, kettle, hairdryer, etc. in the room. There was a range of breakfast and evening meal choices, and all cooked to perfection. Margaret and John went the extra mile to look after me when I caught the flu, and treated me like a member of the family. I will definitely be back, and would highly recommend to others! The village itself is very picturesque and not far from Wiveliscombe with its pubs, cafes and a few boutique shops.

Room Tip: The room with ensuite was great to have your own space. There are also single/ smaller rooms which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveholidays101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiveliscombe
11.9 km away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.7 km away
Whitehart
Whitehart
#1 of 4 in Wiveliscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.2 km away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Exmoor Gate Lodges
Exmoor Gate Lodges
#2 of 4 in Waterrow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices

Been to High Orchard B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Orchard B&B

Property: High Orchard B&B
Address: High Orchard Maundown, Wiveliscombe TA4 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wiveliscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiveliscombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,008 - ₹ 6,141
Hotel Class:3 star — High Orchard B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your High Orchard B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing