We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely Stunning Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sallerhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sallerhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our first trip to Austria and i am so glad I made the right decision in staying at Sallerhof. I read all the review, which were all very positive and true indeed after experiencing it myself.
We were booked for 3 nights during the Easter Week.
Location - This hotel is situated in a quiet residential village called Grodig, which is about 35 mins from the Salzburg Main Train Station by bus number 25. We followed the directions given by the hotel and had no proplems locating it. It is in the countryside surrounded by mountains.
I wanted to stay somewhere out of the city to experience true Austrian living and this is the place to stay.
The rooms were immaculately clean with complete amenities and a balcony overlooking the famous Mt. Untersburg. The hotel has thought of every little detail where the towels are in different colours, so you can hand them both in the bathroom and not get them mixed up.
Breakfast was excellent with so many types of breads, cheese and hams and bacons,,,all freshly sliced and served...yummy.
Service was always top notch. We were greeted by Klauss, the owner himslef who showed us up to our room and explained everything in detail. He had all the brochures for the tours and booked us immediately for the tour the next morning.
Good value for money and if you pay cash you get a discount, how nice.
On Sunday morning, Easter Sunday I woke up and was so happy to see it snowing. We live in Malaysia so it was a really neat day for us. It was the most beautiful sight i have ever seen, all the tress and houses covered in snow.
We visited the Mt Untersburg which was just some 20 mins walk from here. A must see.
We wish to thank the family for a job well done and keep up the good work We will surely return someday with the kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    33
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
134
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was our first trip to Salzburg and at first we looked at hotels in central Salzburg. I'm so glad we stayed at Hotel Sallerhof instead. The hotel is in a quiet area and we had great views of the surrounding countryside from our spacious second floor room. We had a car, but opted to use public transportation to go into Salzburg. We found the trips back and forth very enjoyable. Breakfast was great and the staff go out of their way to assist with your needs and to make your stay enjoyable. We will certainly stay at Sallerhof on our next visit to Salzburg!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArkansasLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We returned to the Hotel Sallerhof after a delightful stay in 2009. We found the property to be even better than we remembered. Stayed four nights, took Bus 25 into Salzburg several times, walked to Untersbergbahn for the spectacular ride to the top, The family runs the hotel, they are extremely accommodating with room selection, aided us in planning our activities and even re-booting the router when the Internet connection was down! Groding is a delightful small town with lots of amenities close at hand and friendly people.

Breakfast is always delightful, fresh, and locally sourced. The lattes are a nice addition since our last stay.

A tip for travelers: if you're going to be going back and forth to Salzburg and surrounds, get a Salzburg Card, Admission to many attractions (e.g. Untersbergbahn, funicular to the fortress, Mozart birthplace museum) included and unlimited bus fare, which comes in very handy.

Given the opportunity, we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very similar and quiet but zimmer zwei und dreissig (room 32) is quite large and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfunaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sallerhof, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
We are especially honoured that you think we are even better than last time.
Especially for the breakfast we made an effort- we try to serve mostly local products and if possible biologically produced. We are glad you liked to breakfast and enjoyed your stay with us once again!
Hopefully you have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Sallerhof once again!

Nice greeting from
the family Schnöll-Reichl
and the Sallerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southcentral PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Sallerhof for a week in July to celebrate our 5-year anniversary. We spent our honeymoon at the Hotel Sallerhof back in 2006 and when we were making plans to return to Austria, there was no question where we were going to stay! Such a lovely hotel in the beautiful, peaceful little town of Grodig just outside of Salzburg. The location can't be beat - a good home base for spending time in Salzburg (via a 15-minute bus ride), visiting the Eagle's Nest, taking a road trip to the Grossglockner or nearby Hallstatt (both a must!), etc. We stayed in the Mozart-style suite; it was bright, clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view from the balcony. Klaus and his staff are super-nice and extremely helpful! And the breakfast is just awesome!!! I can't say enough good things about the Hotel Sallerhof! I miss it already and look forward to the day that we WILL return, perhaps for our 10-year anniversary! Thank-you for a another wonderful visit to your beautiful country!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rss_luvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

...the best place to be if you want to be off the beaten path. Salzburg is literally about a 10 minute drive, and the "Bird's Nest" is another 20 minutes to the south. In between you'll find a sensory overload of scenery and open roads. Traffic is minimal, quiet towns, clean streets, and just plain hometown feel.

The hotel (garni) Sallerhof was a gem to stay at. Although we had a front entrance view, with mountains just beyond the town, the hotel inside is as pristine as many of the lakes surrounding the Austria and German countryside. The restaurant was well appointed and delicious, as was breakfast. Rooms were extremely and impeccably clean. We had absolutely no complaints about the accommodation. The front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating, including preparing a short taxi ride to Salzburg for our planned bus tour of the city (Sound of Music tour and many other sights). Directions to other scenic areas were all answered and prepared without hesitation. Very gracious hosts. Parking is somewhat tight, but it was nice to have covered parking (first come, first served!).

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the short distance from Salzburg to Grodig. The brief drive and scenery make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melimar97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grodig
2.8 km away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
1.1 km away
Hotel Hubertushof
Hotel Hubertushof
#2 of 5 in Anif
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.8 km away
Momentum Hotel
Momentum Hotel
#3 of 5 in Anif
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Frauenschuh
Hotel Frauenschuh
#30 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Friesacher
Hotel Friesacher
#1 of 5 in Anif
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 km away
Gasthof Schorn
Gasthof Schorn
#1 of 3 in St. Leonhard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sallerhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sallerhof

Property: Hotel Sallerhof
Address: Hauptstrasse 9, Grodig 5082, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Grodig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,216 - ₹ 11,197
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sallerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern outskirts of the festival city Salzburg in Grödig the Hotel Sallerhof awaits you. Our family hotel is located in the nature at the foot of mount Untersberg, between Berchtesgaden, the lake Königsee and Salzburg. Ideal for enthusiast of culture and nature. Our hotel is especially popular with our regular guest for our individual atmosphere and our personal assistance. Visit original Sound of Music Scenery in Salzburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sallerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sallerhof Grodig, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing