We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80th birthday treat but such a let down”
Review of Tasters at Springs

Tasters at Springs
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Denbigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 78 - US$ 922
Description: Housed within the old Stable block at Llanrhaeadr Springs, the dining room boasts a stylish tea rooms and restaurant with seating for up to 50.Serving Breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea as well as a mid-week evening grill menu, Fine dining a 'la carte menu every Friday and Saturday and Traditional Sunday lunch. Our award winning head chef patron Kelvin Parry guarantees to deliver a meal that you will enjoy
Restaurant details
Description: Housed within the old Stable block at Llanrhaeadr Springs, the dining room boasts a stylish tea rooms and restaurant with seating for up to 50.Serving Breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea as well as a mid-week evening grill menu, Fine dining a 'la carte menu every Friday and Saturday and Traditional Sunday lunch. Our award winning head chef patron Kelvin Parry guarantees to deliver a meal that you will enjoy
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Booked an afternoon tea for four people five days in advance for one vegetarian , two vegans and one person that will eat basically anything. I had seen they were advertising vegan afternoon teas so thought this would make a good celebration for my husbands fathers 80th birthday.when i phoned to make the booking i requested soya milk and asked about vegan cakes and stated that we would be happy with vegan scones . We were told we would be seated in a nice booth and everything seemed fine.
On arrival we were shown to a table for six which was not a booth , so we enquired and a booth was cleared for us. when the afternoon tea arrived to say we were slightly disapointed is an understatement we were told there was no soya milk as their supplier had not turned up and then the amount of food was a joke , there were no vegan cakes at all , just two tiny pots of tesco raspberry fromage frais and some coconut biscuits , the fillings in the vegan sandwhiches were so unadventurous either plain tomato or plain cucumber not even a scraping of humous . A measley few falafels on a plate very stingy.
A cake stand would of been nice like the table next to us were given with their smoked salmon which my father in law never had as i stated he ate anything at time of booking.We had to chase the staff for hot drinks no one asked us at the table if everything was ok , very poor customer service.Not worth the money a shame because it is a nice setting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catherine_roberts64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at Tasters at Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi catherine

We’re very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your Afternoon Tea experience here yesterday, we apologise that the request of a booth wasn’t noted and that you had to wait for one to be cleared.
Regarding the vegan afternoon offering, we really appreciate your feedback and will endeavor to offer more vegan variety in the future, we do try and go the extra mile by catering for vegans and all of the other dietary requirements. A meeting has been arranged with our suppliers to put this in place and to also make sure delivery is always on time.
We would of course like to invite you back for another Afternoon Tea free of charge.
Kind regards Harry - owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

First visit, and initially impressed with the buildings and surroundings. Interior beautifully decorated, and the Stables, where we ate was a really attractive room
Staff really helpful and pleasant and the meal nicely paced. Beef stroganoff to die for, and my wife felt the same about the lasagne. The Bake Off Chef certainly knows her stuff, and we'll certainly be back. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at Tasters at Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your kind comments.

Llanrhaeadr springs team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Cannot rate this place highly enough. It’s a beautiful setting and the decor is light and airy with original features. The staff are very attentive and polite. The food is superb, with fresh tasty ingredients. The lunch menu is limited and portions are quite small, but it’s very reasonably priced. Wine was fantastic and again reasonably priced. The presentation of the food is superb. Nothing is too much trouble. An absolute gem!

Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, very friendly staff. Very enjoyable environment for lunch. Highly recommended.
Well stocked bar and great coffee.

Thank Cagsy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

With the help of Harry and staff we recently organised a Surprise 50th birthday meal for our mother.

From my initial enquiry to the special day, I found Harry and his staff to be extremely professional and helpful. They assisted us in sorting a menu for adults and children, supplied us with the menu for guest beforehand which ensured outstanding and efficient service on the night, and provided a beautifully decorated venue that was of the highest standard.

The food was fantastic and every dish of excellent quality.

Thank you to Harry and all the team for helping us organise this surprise celebration. I would highly recommend this establishment.

Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasters at Springs also viewed

Llandyrnog, Denbigh
 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to Tasters at Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing