We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cartref Hotel(Fishguard)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 165
US$ 148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Haze Hotel(St Davids)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel(Haverfordwest)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Haverfordwest)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mariners(Haverfordwest)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 126
US$ 122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slebech Park(Haverfordwest)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
262
135
48
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
135
48
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesself cateringsingle trackbedroom cottagethe main hotelnarrow lanespembrokeshire national parkget away from it allwedding venuebeautiful countrysidecompliments to the cheffour poster bedstayed for two nightspeace and quietwest walesevening mealtwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Gellifawr for Easter Sunday lunch having heard wonderful things about the food and the beautiful woodland setting, the scenery is breathtaking and Gellifawr is beautifully designed, very welcoming and relaxing. The Sunday lunch was 5* served by very friendly attentive staff. The whole experience was very relaxing and has made me want to go back and stay in the retreat. Would highly recommend

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathhealings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello Cath,

We appreciate your time writing this review - always makes us smile when we know we have left a good impression.

Hope we see you again some time.

Warm regards,
Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

My nieces wedding coincided with the worst weather experienced in the country for a number of years. As can be imagined everyone was on tenderhooks as things were serious enough that the whole wedding may have needed to be cancelled due to the risks of impassable roads and becoming stranded in this rural location. Many relatives were travelling from far afield to attend and after much deliberation 3 other family members and I decided to attempt the 230 mile trip. We managed to get to within 3 miles of the venue when we got stuck in a blizzard and then hit a snowdrift. However, by luck one of Gellifawrs managers happened across us when driving members of his team home and immediately stepped into action to manage our rescue, which included organising a tractor from a local farm. coordinating his team to assist pushing our car off the drift and then going out of his way (at least another hours drive) to lead us to the venue via a safer route. When we arrived at 10.15 at night the chef had stayed on to cook us a hot meal and we were warmly and safely welcomed by the team. We cannot thank the hotel and staff enough for their help and hospitality. We were the only guests to make it to the hotel that night due to the severe weather conditions so for the staff to stay on to look after us was much appreciated,

The next day the wedding went ahead at a different church due to limited access because of the snow and the reception was held at Gellifawr. The food and service were excellent set in this beautiful location; rural and idyllic with a fresh clean feel and warm ambiance. All of this is pulled together by a warm and professional staff team who went out of their way to look after all of us and make sure that my niece had the wedding she had planned for and deserved. I cannot praise the team highly enough and recommend this venue to anyone. We will certainly be booking to stay again when we return to wales to visit our family in the summer.

Room Tip: I have no comments except our room (rm 7) was lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello Jeannette,

Always great to have such lovely feedback - It was a great wedding and we were all so pleased it went ahead, if anything the snow added something special to the day in the end.

Thank you again for you kind words - hopefully we will see you again some time.

Warm regards,
Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Having stayed at this retreat on three occasions, two of which were New Years Eve Parties with people from Denmark now resident in London on our table. They had travelled to Pembroke because of the fine reputation of this establishment.
The last stay was November 2017 at a Dinner and Dance which we thoroughly enjoyed.
We have stayed in both the main Hotel and the beautiful Stone Cottages, each location is furnished to a high standard, with the food being second to none.
The staff lead by Manageress Julie Davies are always friendly and courteous providing a first class service.
We cannot wait for our next visit in 2018.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello AJ,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat - it is always our intention to try to meet and exceed expectations wherever possible and it is great to see you've enjoyed the service.

Hope to see you again soon at Gellifawr.

Warm regards,
Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We had travelled down the M4 missing the worst of a storm, only to get stuck in the snow on a snow drift lined single track lane, about 2 miles from our destination, Gellifawr. Luckily for us a pick up truck soon came up towards our car driven by Simon the manager of Gellifawr. Who went above and beyond by getting a farmer to help clear a route, help dig us out, escort us on another route, then arrange for hot food for our arrival to the hotel. Thank you Simon! Your staff were all great too.
We had travelled to attend our niece Shannon's wedding to Michael and enjoyed our stay even though it was short. It was a lovely venue for their special day.
We would like to visit Gellifawr again but maybe not when it's snowing, though it was picturesque.

Room Tip: Nice views from either side of the main building
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Tourist000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts on TripAdvisor - It was certainly an eventful weekend and we were so happy that Michael & Shannon's wedding still went ahead despite the snow.

If your ever in the area again hopefully you'll pop in and see us.

Warm regards,
SImon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a wedding mid January and had a wonderful time. The staff couldn't do enough for us and went above and beyond nothing was too much for them. My partner loved the choice of ales at the bar, we dined in the restaurant the day after the wedding And the food was beautiful. Our room was spotless and spacious. The grounds are beautiful and we managed a little walk with a break in the weather. I can't wait to return in the summertime to hopefully see a bit more of the area. We will defiantly stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank nicnaknoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello Nic,

Thanks for your kind words - Always great to see someone has enjoyed they're time with us and would like to visit again. We have since made improvements again to the outside of Gellifawr so hopefully if you visit again you'll get to enjoy our new facilities.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review.

Warm regards,
Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews