We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
405
245
65
34
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
245
65
34
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews menai straits breakfast room pool and sauna fantastic views lovely location north wales the penthouse self catering sea view cooked breakfast zip world feel very welcome evening meal full english warm welcome a lovely stay apartment
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

A group of 5 staying in the penthouse apartment. After our hike up snowdon we welcomed the easy check in with friendly staff and a nice cold beer. The lady on reception even put the sauna on for us especially (we were late checking in) for our aching muscles. Our apartment was clean, had great facilities and a beautiful view of the marina. We decided to take our own food and the kitchenette facilities were spot on. Microwave, halogen oven and plenty of tableware and cooking utensils. Next time we will take advantage of the restaurant as we will stay here again

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 250dominiquej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Highly recommend this hotel as the staff were all friendly, swimming pool was amazing, heated and very modern, unlike some hotels that have run down facilities this was exceptionally well kept.
Recommend for family groups as the apartments were idea to save a little and,self cater.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dasonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hotel was nice and in a beautiful area with great views of the harbour, staff were happy and helpful great at advising what to do and where to go. Room was spacious and en suite was good size with bath & electric shower however bath slow to run and couldn't always get temp of shower right but room also had a big tv with freeview, kettle with tea,coffee,milk & sugar and also iron & hair dryer. Bed was also big and comfy. Swimming pool was clean and warm with a few swimmings essentials (floats and beach balls). We had full English for breakfast and was very tasty, with access to tea & coffee as well as juices and usual breakfast items. Overall lovely hotel with great, happy staff, would stay again. Thanks Hotel Port Dinorwic :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

As I said earlier, comfortable stay. Hotel staff are very helpful and eager to help to accommodate our needs/ demand with regards to dinner etc. Reasonably priced despite last minute booking during a very busy holiday period. Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bvarup_834375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Sea View Apartment which is an apartment with a lounge and 3 bedrooms.

The Good Points!
The hotel itself has an amazing position overlooking the Menai Straits. It is just stunning.
The people who own/run the hotel are lovely and happy to help you out with anything. Full marks for hospitality.
The pool is brilliant for the kids and we used it a lot. Twice out of the three times we went swimming we were the only family/people in there. Our children had a lot of fun in there. The pool has a constant depth of 1m so even our 4 year old could happily swim and she said she could touch the floor with her tiptoes. This was nice as it was less of a worry. Towels were provided on entry to the pool which was really useful.
The hotel is within walking distance to nice pub. It is roughly a 7-10 minute walk. We had a drink there on our last night and really wished we'd eaten there as it looked really smart inside. About a 1 min walk from the pub is a little play park which is really handy. Both the play park and pub are right by the water's edge. It is beautiful down there. We sat out and had a drink and our children could happily play.
The Sea View apartment has 3 toilets which is useful for families.
There is a large TV in the living room and a table and 6 chairs. Freeview comes as standard so that's good for children.
You can ask for a Wi-Fi code for free. This is really helpful and we used this on our phones as the reception is a bit hit and miss.
The apartment is fairly spacious with 2 double bedrooms and a smaller room with 2 single beds.
Housekeeping come once a day and make the beds.

Suggestions for improvement
We stayed here so we could cook our own food and cut down on the cost of our holiday. Unfortunately the cooking facilities were very limited. No toaster! A hob with 4 rings, a microwave and a plastic sort of slow cooker thing. And that's it! So we couldn't even make a piece of toast. It wouldn't cost much to provide a toaster. There was a fridge so we had cereal for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch and we decided to eat out for tea which kind of went against the reason why we paid extra to have an apartment instead of a normal hotel room. If you are looking for an outstanding place to eat then try Dylan's in Anglesey. It's about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Book online. Amazing food! We also ate at the Anglesey Arms. Nowhere near as good and somewhere we wouldn't return to.
You have to pay separately for breakfast which we didn't do. When paying £378 for a two night stay it would be nice to have breakfast included, especially as the kitchen area is so sparse in terms of cooking facilities, and since you can't even make a piece of toast!
The apartment is ok but walls and floor are paper thin. We were in the first floor apartment and we could clearly hear the television from the apartment below us, and the extractor fan sound from the main bathroom, which for some unknown reason they left on a lot overnight. It kept us awake. We could clearly hear them talking too. The floors are a bit creaky, so we probably annoyed them just as much as they annoyed us!
As stated above, there are 3 toilets but sadly only 1 bath with shower. No other shower facilities. The apartment can cater for 6 people and so I'd imagine that would be time consuming if there are 6 people waiting for the 1 shower.
The restaurant for the hotel is only open from 6 pm til 9 pm which was too late for our young children. Plus if you arrive there during the day you cannot buy food. There are no local shops (that I know of) Tesco and Waitrose are a 5 min drive away.
The pool has only 1 shower which is poolside and only has a shower curtain. It was lucky that not many people wanted to use the pool. There were 3 changing areas which were small and only covered with curtains.
The hotel does need quite a lot of money spending on it, as it seems quite old and creaky. It was however clean and tidy. Better cooking facilities in an apartment are a must, especially something as basic as a toaster. Probably an oven is a must too, as the reason why people choose to stay in an apartment is to enable them to cut down the cost. Better sound proofing is absolutely vital. Full marks for the hospitality. The owners/staff could not have done more to make us feel welcome. We would return if these improvements were made.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank GorgeousAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews