We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camus House Lochside Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 182
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 413
US$ 383
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Leven Hotel(North Ballachulish)
US$ 265
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
US$ 437
US$ 351
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencoe House(Glencoe Village)
US$ 906
US$ 645
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
US$ 91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballachulish Hotel(Ballachulish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
117
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostsb bgreat suggestionsbeautiful housescrambled eggs and salmonstay there againdelicious breakfaststayed two nightsspectacular viewsenjoyed our staywarm welcomethe main roadisle of skyealistairlouisescotlandloch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My partner and I first stayed at Camus house last year, for just one night, while touring the Highlands. We were so impressed and enjoyed our stay so much that this year we decided to stay there for our Honeymoon. And once again, we came away having enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We cannot recommend it enough.
Ideally situated between Glencoe and Fort William in a beautiful loch side location the house is an elegant Victorian villa with spacious and comfortable rooms with stunning views. The food is fantastic and the rates are very reasonable - far cheaper in fact that many of the other hotels and B&Bs in the area that are no where as good. What's more, the owners Alistair and Louise are the perfect hosts. Their kind and friendly hospitality really made our stay and we were very sorry to leave at the end of our holiday.
Read the other reviews on this site and you'll see that they all say the same thing. Everyone gives Camus House 5 stars and it is well deserved.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagginsLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The location and house are stunning; it is easy to find. The owners, Alastair and Louise, couldn't be nicer, and they work their socks off for their guests. No one tries harder! Breakfasts are a treat. My only disappointment - a room with a not-so-nice view.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front, overlooking the loch
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Although we arrived at Camus house quite late in the evening, we were greeted outside by alistair, who offered to help us in with bags etc, not something we have come across often! We had our dad with us, who is partially disabled, and they couldnt do enough to help make his overnight stay comfortable. The hotel is clean, comfortable, in a wonderful location overlooking the loch. The breakfast is again lovely, and although we also set off earlier in the morning that breakfast is usually served, this wasnt a problem. Will stay there again next year on return visit to scotland.

Room Tip: Room with lochside view are fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozzydaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Camus House is ideally situated within reach of Glen Coe, Mallaig and the road to the Isles.

The house itself was lovely - spacious and welcoming with a gorgeous lobby! It overlooks Loch Linnhe and it was a treat to eat their beautifully cooked breakfasts overlooking the loch and watching the gannets diving for their breakfast! Red squirrels were doing acrobatics on their bird table and, apparently, the lady next door frequently feeds the pine martens!

Louise and Alistair were a lovely couple - warm, charming and couldn't do enough to make our stay feel special. They were a fount of local knowledge and lots of information with ideas for walks, places to visit , train timetables etc. Excellent hosts!

The road runs between the house and the loch but it wasn't busy or noisy and the view more than made up for it. Nearby is the Onich House hotel which serves lovely meals, both in the pub and the restaurant. It is right on the lochside and what a perfect way to end your day - having a drink on the edge of the loch watching the light & shadows over the nearby mountains (munros?), in a beautiful garden, with your B&B only a stroll away.

All in all this was the best B&B I have ever stayed in - anywhere! We're going to Scotland again this year but want to get to Skye this time. Otherwise I'd head straight for Camus House and do all the walks I never got time to do the first time!

Wholeheartedly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrickyWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We recently stayed for 3 nights break and would dearly have liked to have stayed longer , but unable to do so as they were fully booked , which is not surprising as we found out during our stay. Louise and Alistair were perfect hosts and deserve credit for their extreme hospitality and the breakfast's were more than we expected. We had beautiful views from our pink bedroom and it was a delight to wake up on a sunny morning to be greeted with a peaceful and picturesque setting. We could not fault Camus House at all and would dearly love to stay there again !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scribedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews