We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great peacefull location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Juniper Cottage

The cottages in the evening sunlight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottages in the evening sunlight
View of the cottages and surrounding farmland Bedroom with ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The cottages in the evening sunlight
View of the cottages and surrounding farmland
Bedroom with ensuite
Sitting room leading to kitchen
Modern, fully fitted kitchen
View from the window
Plenty of room to swing a cat, or your dog if you bring one!
Outside the cottages, lots of Scottish fresh air
Double bedroom with ensuite and zip link beds
Sitting room of the cottage
One of our lochs
One of our lochs, ask about fishing
one of our 3 lochs
Fyrish Monument - an easy drive and a decent walk with fabulous views
Traditional Highland games
salmon leaping at Shin Falls
Eilean Donan Castle - one of the most beautiful and photogenic castles in the world
Dolphins at Chanonry Point, Fortrose on the Black Isle
Bag pipes - you either love them or hate them!
Scotland is even more beautiful in the winter than summer!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Invergordon, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John C
1 review
“great peacefull location”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Great peaceful location the kids and both our dogs had a great time, loads of open ground for the dogs to explore and good wifi for the kids.

lovely and clean also with everything you need

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2018
Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and the dogs and children had plenty to keep them occupied. We would love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMOarbroa...
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great accommodation ”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stayed here for 4 nights with husband, son and dogs - great cottage very comfortable and in a lovely spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Hello Angie, thank you for your lovely review. Hope the 3 of you (and the dogs) enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are up in the Highlands
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angieb198...
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Juniper Cottage is a couple of miles off the main road and as along as there’s not snow and ice on the country lane ( as on our visit!) it’s not a problem and actually well worth the beautiful setting that the farmhouse is in. Juniper Cottage is one of four attached cottages all sharing ample car parking.
Our cottage slept up to six adults. It is spacious with two double en suite bedrooms and leather sofa beds in lounge. A down stairs large bathroom with a bath. The lounge is open plan into the dining area and into the well equipped kitchen, having a dishwasher, washing machine and fridge along with hob and oven. A freezer is located in a cupboard near the stairs, and a tumble dryer is available in an outside shed if needed. The cottage was clean and comfortable with a few Highland touches, a tartan carpet in the lounge and pictures. Tastefully but simply decorated.
A couple of minor points that need to be rectified asap: the laminate floor in the kitchen is gapping badly and needs relaying with new flooring or repairing as it could be a trip hazard. I am disabled and use a walking stick, I found the floor a problem. Similarly in the bedroom the rug was curled badly and my husband and myself tripped over it. He ended up rolling the rug and putting it out of our way so I didn’t fall. Our two adult children did find the duvets on the single beds too small and perhaps they are aimed more at children?
Other than these small concerns, we would definitely stay here again. In fact it was our second visit.
Lots of local places to visit. Our favourite near by is The Storehouse Of Foulis. Great homemade food and cakes! A must visit for lunch.
Alness and Invergordon are a must visit for a half day out each. Please please visit Dornoch! A beautiful village with its famous courthouse and jail and cathedral church. Dornoch beach is totally unspoilt and perfect for a picnic away from the crowds! Dingwall is larger and only a 5-10 mins drive, with a large Tesco if you are self catering. There is a Morrisons supermarket only a couple of miles away from the cottage too. The Ship Inn in Invergordon was a huge hit with our daughter who met an old friend for a meal. Beautiful food and drink at a reasonable cost. There is a fabulous Indian takeaway in Invergordon, their Naan bread is simply the best!!! The Highlands are stunning and juniper Cottage is a great East Coast holiday cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Hi Angela, thank you for your lovely review. I have taken on board your comments regarding the rug and the duvets and will get these replaced now there is a bit of a lull in the bookings. Likewise the laminate, we had a leak from the dishwasher just recently and laminate joints and laminate don't mix too well. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhairim20...
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Came here for a week to celebrate a birthday and this is a beautiful cottage really topped it off. It has absolutely everything you could need and the owners clearly have put a lot of time and effort into making it so homely. From the start of our stay to the end we found Juniper cottage well equipped, warm, welcoming and close, but not too close, to everything and anything you may need. Set in amongst small farms and a nature reserve, you feel very peaceful and far away from the hustle and bustle but in reality you’re only a few minutes off the A9!
Absolutely would stay again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Hello, thank you for your lovely review and we are really glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations at our cottage. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellen_hen...
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well-proportioned cottage - wish we lived slightly closer!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely cottage - had everything we needed and more. Choice of bathrooms is fantastic! Could sleep 6 without any problems at all.
Enjoyed an afternoon out through Tain - Lairg - Cromerty bridge area for lovely Highland views. Another afternoon in Black Isle area - Cromarty being a fitting contrast to previous tour, but equally pretty and quaint.
Only drawback was the travelling distance - that, of course, does not detract from the cottage but it did mean that first 2 days were spent recovering before our discovering began!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future and hopefully we will have a little better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing