We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Anniversary visit”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from a lovely return visit to Rampsbeck for our 40th wedding anniversary.
We must say a special thank you to Adrian,Monica,Sonya and Marion for making our stay so enjoyable. Also thank you to the kitchen brigade for the lovely food especially the sea bass with risotto and asparagus, really good.
Regards to you all and look forward to our next visit.
Linda and Jim

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Linda and Jim,
Many thanks for posting such kind comments on Trip Advisor.
As always it was our absolute pleasure to look after you and even more so because of your very special celebration.
The team at Rampsbeck are always pleased to see you both and are looking forward to your next visit,
Until then our very best wishes to you both,
Regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    91
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
566
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just returned from a short stay, in what I can only describe as "pure luxury".The hotel is charming, the staff, very friendly and professional.We booked a standard room with Dinner. The room,although small, was very appealing, with a lovely bathroom,tea and coffee making facilities, and a fruit bowl. The evening meal had good choices, and was fantastic ( obviously a wonderful chef ).Breakfast was great.We left the hotel,promising to return ASAP.Well done " The Ramsbeck Country Hotel"

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Kenneth 23,
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor, the team at Rampsbeck really do appreciate it.
We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us. With the great offers we have on at the moment please do get in touch with us and come back to visit sooner rather than later for a little more "Luxury on a plate " !!
Many thanks once again,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

I loved this place. It was a typically English country house hotel, with beautiful grounds and well appointed rooms, that were immaculate. However I did feel the youngest person there and I'm 51!! It was a bit old fashioned, but to be quite honest, I quite liked it. The service was excellent and they also looked after our dog well. It was a bit like going back in time . People dressed for dinner which few of us do these days, so it was lovely that people made the effort. Breakfast was terrific and catered for the needs of the dieters! Dinner was good, although a little over priced. The wine list needs to be improved substantially and more wine by the glass needs to be on offer in order to do good food and wine matching. I'd go back ....but would have to save up. It's not cheap!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Junojac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Junojac,
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that over all you enjoyed your time with us. As is the norm all of your comments will be discussed at our Managers meeting.
We have some really good offers on at the moment, Stay for two nights Dinner, Bed and Breakfast on certain dates in November and December and you receive the third night Complimentary and we also have some special room prices for January , Please do ring our Reception team who are more than happy to discuss any offers we have on- going.
Thank you once again for all of your kind words,
Best wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The best hotel, we have stayed at for a long time, first class cuisene beautiful exqusite surroundings & decor.
A nice touch that showed the trouble they have gone to was the serving of canapés in the bar before dinner, whilst you perused the delightful dinner menu!,, A definite must stay again!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Micheal T,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent time at Rampsbeck with others on Trip Advisor.
We are all delighted by your kind words and also with the 5 star rating you have awarded us!!!
We look forward to offering our hospitality to you once again on your next visit.
Best wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We found Rampsbeck by accident, what a find! Lovely warm welcome, beautiful room looking over Ullswater furnished to a very high degree with antiques everywhere.

Our meal last night was more of a feast! The food was exceptional, must have a great chef! The air of calm and the whole experience has been very relaxing.

We will definitely come here again and stay longer, anyone who looks elsewhere would be making a huge mistake!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshmandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Welshmandownunder,
Many thanks to you for sharing your experience of your time at Rampsbeck with others on Trip Advisor.
We are all delighted to read your kind comments and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit to us.
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
27.4 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
25.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
23.3 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
36.5 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Property: Another Place, The Lake
Address: Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,046 - ₹ 15,977
Hotel Class:4 star — Another Place, The Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing