We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falconry weekend - Coniston Cold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Falconry weekend - Coniston Cold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a brilliant weekend stay at the Coniston Hotel. From our first contact to make the booking to checking-out, the service was faultless - it was also friendly and courteous - an unbeatable combination. The room was comfortable and spotless, the food was great and the ambience of the whole hotel just perfect. We spent Sunday flying the falcons for my husband's birthday - such a fabulous way to experience Yorkshire at its' very best - our falconers were brilliant - knowledgeable and keen to make the whole experience the best it could be. The hotel staff also went out of their way to make the whole day run smoothly. The whole organisation deserves commendation and every success. We would definitely return and recommend the experience to our many friends who visit the Dales from Australia.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    304
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
316
914
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grange over Sands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Excellant facilities, staff, food and all round experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked this weekend as a surprise for my husbands birthday and when on arrival were both very impressed. Our room was ready on arrival even though we were a little early. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very efficient and very friendly. The standard of food was superb. We found it extremely relaxing and looking out of the window in the Hutsmans Lodge overlooking the Lake it was beautiful. For my husband bithday I booked to go Clay Pigeon Shooting, a first for us both, this was very enjoyable, again down to the staff who we found to be wonderful both in explaining how to shoot and also with a good sence of humor which he definately needed!!! We will certainly be back for another visit and will not hesitate to pass on our views on to friends and family and will look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue123631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely venue for short break, very dog friendly, beautiful surroundings with lake and walks in woodland. Attractions on the estate include Land Rover driving experience, clay pigeon shooting and falconry. Superb food , friendly staff and wonderful log fires.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beautiful lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the hotel on several occasions but, this time, we were really impressed by the new lounge area (the Huntsman's Lodge) with its dominant open fire. The room we had was not one of the new ones but was truly comfortable for our weekend break.
As ever dinner was to a high standard and the wines we ordered did not disappoint at the prices charged. Breakfast remains a highlight of any visit with a great selection served by a courteous staff.
The real strength of the hotel is its staff; always happy to help and polished in all they do.
The presence of a member of the owning Bannister family on site is interesting to observe - he is treated by the staff with respect but as a colleague. Clearly he leads from the front.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasoned_traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
17.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
11.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
14.8 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
40.0 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
7.8 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,181 - ₹ 16,688
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing