We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful week at Gables Retreat”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian F
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful week at Gables Retreat”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

All agreed (3 generations of family to keep happy!) that this was the most wonderful holiday house ever . Lovely atmosphere and surroundings and beautiful decor- but it was the many thoughtful touches that made it so special. The children discovered different toys every day, and loved the animals. Tennis court was made good use of by the competitive grown up children! Really appreciated the hot tub to relax in, thanks to the nice gentleman who kept it spic and span each day.
Family took turns to cook -a pleasure to have the use of such a well equipped kitchen.
Thanks Diane for your generosity,the hamper was brilliant and flowers beautiful.
Hope you had a good holiday yourself. We'd love to return especially if the weather is as good as this always!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely atmosphere
Liked least: Losing at tennis
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann c
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent family holiday home”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at The Gables and would highly recommend this beautiful holiday home. Plenty to do for everyone and the attention to detail from Diane is really impressive. Six adults and five children all under one roof and we still had plenty of room. Very peaceful area to stay but with lots of attractions nearby and a very beautiful part of the country. One of the best homes we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: waking up to beautiful views and sunshine every morning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica B
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The BEST we've stayed in!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have had a great week at The Gables Retreat with our three young children (aged 4 and under). We arrived at the beautiful house in amazing gardens and wonderful countryside beyond, and were made to feel very welcome by Diane and William. The house is superb in every way, from the tasteful decor and comfortable furnishings to the little touches like a basket of children's books in one child's bedroom and small soft toy in each of the others. The welcome basket was marvellous, with many delicious local goodies. There are lots of great farm shops locally and it has been a disappointment when the things provided in other rental properties are from a supermarket. It really feels like much thought, effort and, most importantly love has been put into making this a truly special holiday home. The gardens are fantastic, with the children's play area and the hot tub providing entertainment for all ages! Our children loved exploring the gardens, and having the horses and sheep so close was great. There is lots to do locally and a bit further afield, with much specifically for families and children. We would highly recommend The Gables Retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don S
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A liittle gem that is a haven of peace & tranquility & unashamed luxury”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This property is truly detached in a wonderful rural setting. There is an abundance of wildlife and nature to enjoy not least the sheep and horses which are close at hand. The house is furnished to the highest standards of comfort and the owners have paid meticulous attention to detail with fittings and fixtures and accessories e.g. toiletries and beautiful bathrobes. There are many interesting places to visit in the Market Rasen area and an abundance of good pubs/restaurants many being sampled by the thoughtful owners. We have been to many 'Premier Cottages' and in our opinion this is the best. It is a credit to the Owners who are both very pleasant, helpful and very nice people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location. Excellent Owners. A welcoming area of the country
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil1978
hinckley
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tranquil Peaceful & Fun”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

There is only one word to describe the Gables Retreat and that is WOW!
We stayed for the weekend 27th – 30th June 2014. We travelled in a party of eight all of us family six from Sheffield and two from Hinckley. We wanted a place we could all fit in to celebrate a 60th birthday an 18th birthday a 14th birthday as well as two anniversaries. I have to say we couldn’t have picked anywhere better!
On arrival we entered the property and have to say the first thing we noticed was the beautiful hamper left for us by Dianne (Lovely touch). The whole house is finished to a very high standard everything is beautiful and everything you need is right there.
The bedding is cotton and the beds where so comfortable I could have holidayed just in the bed.
The bathrooms are a pleasure to use and you leave feeling fresh clean and revitalised.
The grounds around the house are amazing the children had more than enough room to run and play safely they enjoyed meeting the sheep and trying their hands at tennis the most.
After the sun goes down there is nothing more relaxing than spending an hour or two in the hot tub such a delight.
I do understand that you can hire in caterers but we decided to cook ourselves and the kitchen is fully equipped with all you will ever need.
This place is so tranquil and you are away from everything a real break from reality.
I would recommend this place for family a get together or maybe even a hen do for lets say the more mature brides to be!
All in all not a bad word to say about Gables Retreat. The hosts are so welcoming and we all had such a lovely enjoyable weekend thank you and we hope to be back soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing