We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best retreat in the world.....ever”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicolar21
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best retreat in the world.....ever”
Reviewed 10 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was the second time in 3 months I have stayed at The Gables Retreat. I booked again as I loved it so much the first time. Every little detail has been considered by the owners and we especially enjoyed the home made chocolate cake in the welcome pack!

The beds are extremely comfortable and it feels like home throughout the house. We loved the log burner in one of the sitting rooms and the "entertainment" on offer (board games, books, Wii etc).

The location is very quiet but there are shops, takeaways etc only a few miles away. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace of the countryside.

Although I did not participate, some of our party were very impressed by the hot tub, complete with iPod dock. And the roll top bath upstairs went down very well too.

I have recommended this place to everyone I know and I look forward to booking again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extra touches like the welcome pack and the furnishings.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1963accob...
Formby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should be renamed Gables treat”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with friends and our littles ones all under 1 year at the beginning of January.

Gables retreat is a little gem in Lincolnshire. The house is ideally set up for families and the owners made every effort to accomodate our young ones. Nothing was too much trouble.

The house was immaculately presented and we were welcomed with a freshly baked cake.

I cannot rate this property highly enough, from the amenities offered (hot tubbing in the snow at night with the littles ones was a particular highlight) to the customer care given in an unobtrusive way by the owners all lent itself to a great holiday

If you are looking for a retreat in Lincolnshire then you dont need to look much further than the Gables

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful presentation of the house in a great location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'A perfect christmas!'”
Reviewed 28 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from The Gables retreat after a 5 night stay over Christmas and well, what can I say other than that we all had an amazing time!
Upon our arrival,our party of 10 ( 4 adults and 5 children, 1 dog !) were greeted with a lovely christmas hamper filled with lots of essentials such as bread, jam, eggs, butter etc as well as lots of festive goodies such as chocolate treats , a large christmas cake and even christmas crackers were provided.
The kitchen had been decorated with a gorgeous christmas tree and the owners had even left the 5 children in our party a wrapped christmas present each .... what a lovely touch !
The great thing though, is that literally everything had been thought of for our stay. The kitchen was brilliantly equipped with everything we could have needed for our christmas dinner to run smoothly .Books, dvd's, toys and games were provided for the adults and children alike , A christmas radio times left by the TV, even the iPod had nearly 6000 songs on it for us to enjoy!
The bedrooms were all of a great size, the beds very comfy and nice fluffy robes and slippers provided in each room were a nice treat.The house overall is beautifully decorated and too a high standard.
We all loved having the horses and sheep grazing in the back garden and the hot tub is a great bonus too.
The Gables Retreat is in an ideal setting for a perfect 'get away from it all' break and we will definitely be returning.
A big thank you to the owners for helping make our christmas 2012 a very special one !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrel B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival at the gables retreat, it was hard not to feel at home instantly. The ipod was playing and candles were lit, all making us feel instantly at home. As our stay was over Xmas, we had been left a Xmas hamper with many luxuries, and under the Xmas tree was a present for each of the children. These were such nice unexpected extra's.

In our party was four adults, five children and one dog. After looking around it was hard to choose a bedroom, they were all so luxurious. The children were instantly happy, and there was plenty of room for everybody with a bedroom left over! The property was brilliant, a children's t.v/computer game lounge and a formal lounge for the adults which worked really well. The kitchen dining area was also extremely spacious, with a table large enough to seat us all comfortably. We even found a high chair packed away in the cupboard, along with board games, pencils, colouring books, cards, dvd's and many more items.

The Location was brilliant, as dog owners, we love the countryside and this really was countryside, think our dog had her best holiday yet! The house is situated at the end of a no through road which when you walk to the end had two rivers to walk along. It was very wet during our stay however you could still see the natural beauty of the surrounding area. We also visited Donna Nook Seal Sanctuary while we were there which was around 40 minutes away but was well worth the trip. We saw lots of seals very close by, it is well worth a visit.

We popped to the nearest town of Market Rasen to stock up on the last few Xmas goodies at the Tesco's and it looked like a very nice town. We would have like to have explored further however being Xmas we opted to stay at home in front of the fire! However when we return, and I'm sure we will, we look forward to visiting a few more local places.

Overall the things I liked best was the house itself, it's gorgeous! Very big, very comfortable, very clean, and fully stocked with everything we needed. There was just no negatives. I think the attention to detail was fantastic. The added bonus also was the hot-tub, which was very nice on a cold winters evening!

The gables Retreat is somewhere we would love to return to, and I would definitely recommend to all my friends and family. A top notch place to stay, this would be very hard to beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing