We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget stay in a lovely village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Escrick B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good budget stay in a lovely village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Black Bull Inn is in a lovely little village and is a period property with lots of character. The pub serves good home cooked food, but it is quite expensive £10.00 for fish and chips, so this could be an issue if you are on a budget. However the room price for b&b is very reasonable at £50 for two people including a full English quality breakfast (served 7.30-9 so a bit early if you are on a relaxing break). Parking is available on the small car park, or on the quiet road outside. Breakfast would have been better running until a later time for those on a leisure break (10-10.30am). The bathroom was damp marked on the ceiling. Our room was above the benches on the front (room 5) so we had loud conversations and cigarette smoke smells drifting up through our window (it was a very hot night, so we had to open it). The room was in an apex roof/attic space so the windows were at hip height. The lady who greeted us was a bit frosty on first impressions.When we went down to breakfast we had to sit at a dirty table as there were no clear ones. There was only one young man serving and I think they needed two. Some areas (corridors, bathroom) would benefit from a lick of paint.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    42
    18
    11
    30
See reviews for
41
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We live close by and often come here for a drink with friends, this was the first and it will be the last time we will eat there! The service was very slow and half of the food was cold when it eventually arrived. The Black Bull was quiet at the time so it wasn't even a busy period for them. The quality of the food was average at best but we were so hungry by the time it arrived we would have eaten anything! The portions were tiny, not even enough for a child's portion and we're not talking fine dining food here, this is pub grub so less than a teaspoon of coleslaw and a measly portion of about 8 chips doesn't quite cut it. We ordered one of the "deli platters" which was also poor. It arrived on a normal dinner plate with just a few bits of antipasti items on. Not a platter and not worth it's hefty price of nearly
£10. We needless to say didn't stay for dessert.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolineJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Escrick hotels

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on the day of York races, Its an old creaky building and its like a warren inside, but its clean and the bathroom was modern (room 3), bed was very comfortable and if it wasnt for the Geordie party waking us at 5am I think we would of slept right through!

The food was out of this world, for both our evening meal and breakfast, we both had the Pork Belly and it was the best we had ever tasted, and seeing other meals coming out of the door tells me nobody was going home complaining of the food as the plates were all coming back not only empty but licked clean!!

The staff all appeared young and somewhat quiet but they done the job that was required of them I just felt they could of been a little more welcoming, for example, the young man who showed us to our room literally did just that! we arrived at the room and he opened the door and said " I will leave the key on your bed" and that was it, he was gone, I thought it would of been nice of him to ask if we wanted a table booking for dinner, or even the time that breakfast was served at. the room has tea/coffee and chocolate, biscuits and bottles of water available, and a flat screen TV with good picture and sound. The only issues I had with the room was when we first arrived there was a very faint smell of drains but I do have a sensitive nose and hubby could'nt smell it so it musnt of been that bad, the wardrobe door was hanging off and every time you walked across the room the wardrobe doors would bang together which was annoying!

The B&B is located in a beautiful quiet little village, and after our very filling meal we went for a stroll to walk it off, and not far from the B&B is a little area of greenery with a pond and some ducks with a few picnic benches. We would recommend this hotel and would stay here again, and although a little more expensive than your usual pub grub, the food was well worth paying that bit extra for!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Spent a great night at the Black Bull Inn, we stayed hear after going to York racers it is only a 15 minute drive to the course. The evening meal was outstanding along with the breakfast, room was very clean and the bed was comfy we had a great nights sleep the service was second to none. The Black Bull is in the village of Escrick which is very quite,would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy6473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The rooms are not that big but nicely done, great shower wityh pressure. Had one of the best fish and chips in as long time. Great value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Superchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escrick
0.5 km away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
6.8 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Premier Inn York South West Hotel
9.8 km away
The Windmill
The Windmill
#3 of 3 in Dunnington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
6.8 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#17 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn

Property: Black Bull Inn
Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Escrick
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,647 - ₹ 7,984
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Black Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Escrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing