We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Washford, Watchet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BCJC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well located, small, single story holiday let with little garden”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Walnut cottage was really nice. Site manager Gemma was fabulous - great host and always available. Hot tub was the real selling point to this cottage, well maintained and a very wise investment. Cottage was mostly clean and well equipped. However there are one or two things to note. The garden is not enclosed so dog owners be wary that the 'quick wee' at night requires a lead for roaming pups. The grey gravel surrounding the cottages and parking areas is very dusty and makes a bit of a mess inside. In terms of size, although this is a four person, two bedroom holiday cottage the beds in the second bedroom are bunks and they are small. Probably suitable for a family with little children. The bed in the main bedroom is a double divan with no head board and felt particularly small. It's also on wheels. So if you like to sit up and read in bed you will probably scoot across the room like we did! Completely understand selling a cottage on a website with nice photos but the little touches weren't evident. No cushions on the bed, just the 'no dogs on sofa' cushion, no throws, no little touches in the bathroom as per photos etc. As for cleanliness it was all pretty nice and clean but we did notice huge cobwebs on the skylights that had clearly been there for some time, the coffee table was sticky. Just little things really and nothing so significant it spoilt our holiday but maybe just not quite meeting expectation of a 'luxury' cottage. It is well located for things to do, most of which are at least partially dog friendly. Dunster Castle gardens was a favourite and the Torre cider farm. All in all a nice relaxing break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSlade059...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed in this charming little cottage whilst on a short family holiday to escape ongoing building work at home. The cottage is lovely. Very well equipped and has everything that you would realistically need for a short break away! Hot tub is brilliant and extremely well maintained. There is plenty to do in the local area and cottage is perfect for quiet nights in when the weather turns in! The site is extremely well maintained by manager Gemma, she provided us with a warm welcome and ensured that we had a pleasant stay whilst we were here with nothing being too much trouble. Excellent all round! Will return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautifully clean and well equipped cottage, we loved the wetroom with its underfloor heating and the recliner chairs in the lounge. We had a problem with the DVD player and this was immediately rectified when the owner was informed, he bought us a replacement. Outside there is a barbeque and a picnic table and the garden was plenty big enough for our son to enjoy running around in. The Hot tub was lovely although we were slightly disappointed when we were informed that we could not use it after 8pm on the Thursday night because it is drained and cleaned for the new occupants. It has always been part of our holiday to have a soak before bed time. The beds are very comfortable and we always slept well, the only gripe I had was that the mirror in the bedroom needed to be moved because it was too far away from the plug socket so made styling my hair difficult. On the whole though, i would highly recommend staying here. This is a lovely peaceful holiday cottage, the area is fabulous for families with kids, there is a lot to do, lots of family friendly attractions, nice pubs serving good food, real ales and beer gardens with play equipment and beautiful countryside. We had a lovely stay and we didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and location
Liked least: hot tub couldn't be used after 8pm Thurs night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne D
East Cowes, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm well furnished cottage and - the hot tub!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We enjoyed our stay in October here. The countryside is wonderful. The hot tub eased our old bones and inside was comfortable and warm.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing