We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok rooms, horrible food ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fairway, Barnsley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Visited here twice for food and on both occasions the food was poor, everything either microwaved or fried. Very expensive if not on the 2 for 1 deal. Had tuna that was barely edible, vegetables over cooked and beige. I would not recommend eating here!

The hotel rooms are fine, you get what you pay for! Comfy beds, lovely shower and a nice size. Was a bit noisy and as there was no phone in the room I couldn't call reception to complain at 3am! No hairdryer in the room either.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Clareebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

Check in was easy but they gave us no information about breakfast or anything! The room was average but the water in the bathroom was dangerously hot. The bed and pillows were soft and uncomfortable. The lighting was poor in relation to the mirrors making getting ready a bit difficult. Breakfast was missed due to not being told the hours so we ordered from the restaurant menu and the sausage sandwiches were poor - the meat was poor quality, the bread was dry (one slice was toasted and one wasn't), no butter and no choice of brown or white bread.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Been here a few times.. foods always been good . Service always good too. Food takes about the right amount of time to arrive and tastes good. Never had cause for complaint.. the 241 isn't the easiest to understand though

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank maccavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Shocking !!!!!!!
dirty carpets
Smelly terrible smell n entrance corridors and bar
Under staffed
Cold room
Shocking food
Terrible the tables in bar were dirty
We arrived at 5.30 to attend a friends invite to the miss West Yorkshire show
Having checked in I asked receptionist what time it was due to start
She told me 7 pm for 7.30 I replied saying I thought it was 6.30 her reply was yes so did someone else
Our friends arrived who then Informed us it was 6.30 start to which we had to each to get ready
The event was in a banquet building across the car park
Well all I can say is what a disaster
The show was fine but the food and service was truly diabolical
Mushroom soup to start which had been watered down to a point of having no taste
Boiled chicken boiled sprouts boiled carrots boiled cauliflower and a roast /fried potato
I'm sorry but I have never been served food like this and could not eat it
I waited for dessert which didn't arrive when I asked I was told you have tea or coffee for dessert !!!
At £50 per head that us discussing and I'm sure I'm not the only one to complain
Nf

Room Tip: My advice is to not go
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Stayed at The Fairway middle of October. . Our rooms were quite big very clean . Receptionists were very friendly . Did not eat in restaurant. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel . Will book again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank kat0star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
1.2 km away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
572 reviews
6.4 km away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
9.6 km away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
6.2 km away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway, Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway, Barnsley

Address: Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: ₹ 2,917 - ₹ 4,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway, Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly 39 bedroomed hotel, located within 1 mile of Junction 37 of the M1. Our friendly hotel also has a bar and restaurant and meeting/banqueting facilities. At The Fairway, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. We have meeting & banqueting facilities and can cater for up to 250 delegates or wedding guests all in 1 room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Fairway, Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Hotel Barnsley
New Country Inns - Barnsley And The Bluebell Inn
Barnsley Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing