We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
88
102
96
66
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
102
96
66
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub be visiting again lovely food full english breakfast double room plenty of parking bluebell wedding bargain dj function
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped here with 9 other cycling friends and family when doing the Trans Pennine Trail Cycle Route. Nice place, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms. We had dinner here and I would recommend avoiding the "medium rare" steak. It was more like "well done" and tough. Pretty much everything comes with BBQ sauce on it. Apart from that though it was fine, breakfast was spot on and others enjoyed their food.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BigMushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and some friends. First impressions weren't too bad, decent welcome at reception, adequate car park, basic but clean room. But where were all the guests ?

Then we went out for a walk ... nothing for miles except a residential area. All very nice, quiet, but nothing more than that.

Hotel food in the evening was actually pretty good and was very good value for money. Breakfast on the other hand was possibly one of the worst I have had in a hotel in the Uk. Buffet style, but the sort of buffet a 10 year old could create at home for two people on a budget of less than a fiver. Won't be going back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed here for 6 nights. Rooms were relatively spacious and beds quite comfy although all areas could do with an upgrade. Had only booked for the rooms(no breakfast) and was pleased about that as we had breakfast on the first morning which was really poor. Very poor choice of items for the continental one and very overcooked for those of our party who opted for the full English. After that we ate breakfast out.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a party that we were attending over in the function room. Check in at the hotel was quick and the receptionist was very friendly.
Our room was on the 1st floor and over looking the main road, there is no air con in the room but a small fan (that didn't do much) was provided. The rooms are basic but clean and the room had a shower and bath. The shower wasn't too good tho and reminded us of a shower in an old school! Very old. The beds are comfy but do move away from the bed head. Towels are provided in the bath room. There isn't very much space for toiletries unfortunately and the lighting is terrible!! Other than a few minor bits we enjoyed our stay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank The_realist95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Visited this evening for a family birthday which was booked in advance. We had 5 children with us we were advised that there would be a delay when we ordered. No one came to apologise for the wait which went on for well over an hour before we enquired and was told it was being plated up. After another 30 minutes the food started arriving, unfortunately 2 meals were missing and arrived 10 minutes later. The food was nothing special and the delay meant that it was too late to order desserts. The children especially were very disappointed. I would not recommendation this to anyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnitanPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairway D, General Manager at The Fairway, Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

We are very sorry to hear this and would like to apologise and reassure you that this is not our normal level of service.

Unfortunately we were left severely short staffed in the kitchen on the night of your visit and this was the reason for your delay on food which we accept was unacceptable.

Once again we are very sorry that your visit was not a good one and hope that if you do decide to visit us again in the future then you will have a much better one as is normal for the vast majority of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews