We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
229
213
106
42
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
229
213
106
42
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next door health club excellent facilities executive room sandwiches breakfast was excellent lovely hotel hotel guests wedding reception barnsley chop wedding party sized room reception staff would stay again duty manager excellent value for money comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We stayed at the hotel for a Christmas Party, the function room was great, the staff friendly and helpful and the starter and main course were good. Dessert was clearly bought in and not great, most of it went back to the kitchen. Our room was fine, no issues and was clean. The big let down was breakfast, the staff tried hard but they couldn’t cope with demand and plates were cold, the price of breakfast was taken off our bill on check out.
The experience overall was good, it’s a shame they can’t get breakfast right!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 418jeremyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Stayed here recently as attending an event and too far to travel home afterwards. The car park was heaving, even at 3pm but managed to find a space.
The room was not the cleanest I’ve stayed in - the carpet was stained but the bed was ok, not over comfortable but adequate for one night.
Have stayed in many IHG group hotels worldwide but will not rush to stay at this one again.
Breakfast was adequate providing you got there before the rush.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mald03ives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear mald03ives,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding the condition of the room you were given. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback has been forwarded to the management team for reference.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

I booked using the IHG website. The hotel has a big car park, although it was very busy. The lobby and reception are very big and there is a bar attached. The check-in was quick and easy. The room was a big room but not very warm, I had to leave the radiator on the whole time. I went to the bar for some food and had a very good steak & ale pie with veg and mash. The room was quiet at night with little noise from adjacent rooms. The breakfast area was big, there was a choice of hot and cold options.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Lovely hotel. Very welcoming reception. Easy check in. Following a sleepless night due to a very noisy motor every few minutes, staff were very apologetic, and upgraded our room to an executive room. Very comfortable and much appreciated. All the staff were very helpful, cheerfull and efficient. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This is a typical Holiday Inn - so it's for mid-range business travellers and does what it says on the tin. Our room was of a good size and clean and fairly basic - but I think that this was also reflected in the price so i think that it would be churlish to complain! The service was fine and efficient. as with most Holiday Inns it lacks character and ambience BUT as an overnight stop it was fine.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Hi AndieH,

Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate our accommodations. However, I was concerned that you found our property to be lacking in character and ambience. I know we still have a lot of room for improvement so if you have any other comments or suggestions, feel free to let us know.

Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that we would have another chance to accommodate you again in the future.

Regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews