We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
96
39
28
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
39
28
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low beams the pub pie pulled pork lovely atmosphere sunday lunchtime staying nearby family suite lovely lunch birthday meal a large car park rural location light lunch dog friendly pub main course fish and chips pudding
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and have never had a complaint. Accommodations are comfortable, the food is wonderful, and the staff are attentive and professional. Food is well prepared and well presented, the atmosphere is friendly and inviting. The inn is 900 years old and the proprietors have done an excellent job of updating while retaining the ambiance of the ancient building and its history.

Room Tip: There is a large room that is suitable for small families and we stay in this room every time because we enjoy the view and the room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank crystalgold48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review! I hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this Coach House / Hotel many times while visiting friends, and on each occasion have been warmly welcomed and looked after.

The rooms we have stayed in have all been comfortable and located in the oldest part of the building.

This was our first time staying with our dog, and the dog-friendly rooms are each of the same standard as the other rooms.

All of the staff, and local regulars were inviting and good company.

There is an ample car park across the road from the Hotel, but be mindful of occasional traffic.

There is also an enclosed Garden to lawn at the rear of the Hotel.

Although not eaten in the restaurant in the evening, it is always busy. Breakfast is traditional and you do not leave hungry.
Our dog was welcome, too.

I can't recommend this reasonably priced Hotel enough and encourage anyone to book if choosing to stay in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jota981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. It's really good to hear that you've enjoyed your stays with us and we hope there will be many more!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

As a family of four adults, we truly enjoyed this piece of history as a setting for our food and drinks. The Inn itself is really quite charming, and includes much knowledge of the Inn and it's history throughout the years which made for an interesting read while we waited for our meals. You will find many surprises inside, which I will not spoil for you. I'd especially recommend visiting during the winter months when there is a lovely cosy feel to the place. Our meals were enjoyable pub classics, cooked well although nothing particularly remarkable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Inn, and found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating to us.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank eps1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always much appreciated! I hope we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Recently stayed at the Four Horseshoes and was bowled over by this fascinating piece of history in mid Suffolk. It was amazing to find a well inside a pub - never thought I'd see that! Rooms very comfortable, reasonable rates, breakfast excellent and plentiful and staff couldn't have been more friendly. The low beams are a real part of the charm of the place. Clearly very popular for diners, especially the Sunday lunch carvery, although alas we didn't have time to sample any more than the delicious breakfast. The romantic table for 2 built into the old inglenook fireplace is very cute! Peaceful location, plentiful free parking and well kept beer garden out the back. Recommend you check it out.

Room Tip: Room 26 is at the back of the hotel looking out over the peaceful garden. Very quiet. Woke to the sound of nothing but nature and birdsong
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi Andrew,
Thank you for such a lovely review!! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please do come back soon and try some of our menu (especially the carvery)!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

A lovely friendly pub with a welcoming feeling. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the food and slow service. A very large menu to choose from and we both went for the burgers thinking they would be homemade. We were wrong. Cheap burgers and warm coleslaw which wasn't homemade either. Such a shame when the pub is so lovely.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Hi Aimi,

I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us. Our menu does clearly state what items are homemade and which are made for us by local businesses. Our burgers are sourced from our local butcher who handmake them for us (definately not cheap!), and our team of chef's do make the coleslaw in house, as stated on the menu.
We're currently working on an audio version of our menu to help make any descriptions which aren't all that obvious on paper far more clear. Hopefully this will help reduce the confusion that a clearly marked menu and well informed staff do create.
I hope you will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews