We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay for a local wedding”
Review of Four Horseshoes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2017

First thing we noticed was the pub was pretty and had a huge car park , with nice gardens out back. Low ceilings and very cosy with loads of seating and dining places. Good food . Nice bedrooms - comfortable beds and all amenities.

I do think we must all have showered at the same time as the water went hot and cold and all of our party had the same experience .

Room Tip: Double rooms very similar - rear had a dog barking all night , so go for front one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cragnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope you'll pop in and see us next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

A very nice pub that serves very good portions ,enough to warrant a doggy bag but why do they serve it on cold plates? it is the same every time we go there and I did send my food back once because of it but they still do it although to be fair so do a lot of other pub/restaurants . WHY??

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Ann,
Thank you for leaving us a review, it's lovely to hear that you enjoy your food enough to want to take it home if the portion is a little too large for you. I'm a little confused about your comments regarding cold plates, as all of our plates are stored in a hot cupboard, and come out a little too hot to handle most of the time!
I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

The Four Horseshoes is in a beautiful, rural location. We stayed as a family of four (two adults, two boys 11 and 9) in the family room. Great room, really quirky with lots of character. The boys had a sofa bed and we had a good sized double. The bathroom was lovely and had everything you need. It's a good size, however you might struggle in the shower if you're tall due to the ceiling height. We had a great meal when we arrived on Friday night and the breakfasts were fab both mornings.
Everyone was really friendly and very welcoming, we had a lovely weekend and would definitely recommend and book again.

Room Tip: Family room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Family-Hawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi Gabi
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us, it was lovely to meet you all! Please do come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We have been here a few times and the Carvery is one of the best. An excellent choice of meats and great trimmings.

Excellent range of puddings as well.

Recommend for any person who loves a Roast on a Sunday.

Make sure you book early!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank belly94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your carvery with us, please do come again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful place,
From the pretty pink outside from the views around it, the very large car park
To the beautiful interior.
The dark low Beams, the space in the restaurant is extensive.
Clean, warm can be romantic if in couples.
Lovely comfy Sofas if ya just wanna Chill.

The staff were very friendly, very well organised. We were in a big group and they coped very well.

Food was to die for, gorgeous steaks, onion rings, home made were lush.
All freshly cooked.

The deserts? Well how can I explain just all very naughty but very nice.

Would highly recommend this beautiful place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Angelicang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Hi
I'm glad to hear that your party enjoyed their visit to us, and that the efforts of both the kitchen and front of house team are appreciated. The team are always grateful to anyone who can spare the time to let us know they enjoyed their meal. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Horseshoes

Address: Wickham Road, Thornham Magna IP23 8HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thornham Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham Magna
Price Range: ₹ 5,055 - ₹ 8,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Horseshoes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Said to be Suffolk's oldest inn, The Four Horseshoes is a family run traditonal thatched inn, dating back to the 12th C.We have 7 en-suite B&B rooms, with evertything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our rooms are decorated on a yearly basis and we have held a 4 star Visit Britain rating every year since taking over in 2008!Our restaraunt and bar areas boast an extensive menu of traditional homecoooked food, using fresh and local produce. We also offer a range of daily specials and delicous desserts. At the bar you'll find a range of wines from around the world and a selection of award winning real ales.Our two function rooms can cater for a range of occasions - be it a business meeting with use of our projector and screen - or a party for 10 to 100 guests, we offer many different options.We hope you will find a warm welcome and a comfortable atmosphere at The Four Horseshoes, and below is a list of what else you may find...........~~~ Free WI-FI ~~~ A Whole Acre Of Car Park ~~~ Countryside Walks On The Doorstep ~~~ Large Enclosed Beer Garden ~~~ Iglenook Fireplaces ~~~ Large Sheltered Smoking Area Patio ~~~ Friendly & Helpful Staff ~~~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EaseMyTrip, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Four Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes Hotel Thornham Magna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing