We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Upper House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper House cottage
Automatic gates  East side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Upper House cottage
Automatic gates
East side
summer's day, roses by front door
Front door
Hallway
Upstairs to the bright living room
Sitting room view
Champagne on the balcony, view to the west
Comfortable seating
Charming details
Homely and welcoming
Attention to detail
galley kitchen
Dining area
Well-equipped for cooking...
...and cleaning up afterwards
Bright attractive bathroom
Shower
Bright double bedroom
Plenty of storage
Twin beds in the second bedroom
evening light
spectacular autumn sunset
A sheltered, private balcony
Walks on the doorstep
Off-lane parking
A truly rural setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Colerne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Neil S
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Found the house easily with Will's directions and sat nav. Plenty of parking, very clean and we found Will to be very accommodating and extremely helpful. The views from the house were beautiful and it took only 20 minutes by car to get to Bath. Thank you so much we will be back in spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Look and feel of the property
Liked least: Nothing all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your good review. We were very glad you enjoyed your stay & took advantage of our being so near to Bath, & yet deep in the countryside. We look forward to seeing you again in the spring/summer.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19MN64
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy, well-equipped cottage”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Warm welcome from owner. Cottage was perfect for a three night break over Xmas. Warm, cosy and comfortable. Beautiful tree provided and everything we needed to cook the dinner! Would definitely recommend, it's lovely!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
The windiest & wettest Christmas in Wiltshire, but we managed to make it warm & festive for our guests. I am so glad it was appreciated. Do come agin in the summer time. Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solitude in the countryside”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is decorated and built to a very high standard, every convenience has been catered for.
The location is very rural and the view to open fields from the raised decking was wonderfull.
The owners are very helpful and the whole experience was very good.

The only downside to it would be that the cottage is reached down some very narrow lanes.

Otherwise it was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
I was very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your brief stay in our tranquil cottage, and hope to see you again, next time you are in the Bath area.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion T
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended cottage!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This cottage was delightfully and tastefully furnished and decorated. It was a lovely peaceful location to return to after busy days in Bath and elsewhere.
Will is a perfect host and Peter, my husband, loved Will's marmalade!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you both for such a glowing review. We very much hope you will come again soon.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaj0409
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A very special property”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked this cottage quite late in the day and were concerned that it may be a bit out of the way for our visit for a family "do" in Bath. We need not have worried...what little inconvenience the location has is more than offset by the experience of staying at Upper House Cottage. The upside down nature of the rooms enables the balcony leading from the well appointed upstairs lounge to offer unrivaled views across open countryside and is an ideal place to relax at all times of the day. And then there is the attention to detail so apparent throughout the house from a week stocked kitchen to individual torches on the bedside tables. Couple this with genial, welcoming and helpful hosts and you have all the ingredients for a lovely stay. Would definitely consider a return visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The imaginative layout of the rooms to enable best advantage of lovely views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
We always like to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at our unusual cottage deep in the Wiltshire countryside, and yet only 5 miles from Bath, and 15 minutes from Junction 17 on the M4.
Please come again soon !
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing