We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
66
20
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
20
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonblack labone nightgood sizecooked breakfastfull englishthe pubcooked to perfectionstayed longerwell stocked barexcellent qualitygreat beerplenty of hot waterpersonal touchfresh fruitfriendly localsa great nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I am reviewing this from a restaurant perspective.We eat out quite a lot in our area and this pub is in our area so we are not tourists but locals so we can judge the Greyhound against a lot of other establishments in our area and I have to say after returning after a number of years we highly recommend it. We went for dinner Saturday night and had a fantastic evening, nice people and a great chef (well done Brian) the menu is what you want it to be, there is traditional and a bit different so all tastes will be catered for. Our server was lovely and nothing was any trouble. Good portions and well cooked food using quality ingredients, and the price...well price this up in your head then scrol down! 2 x glasses of house wine to start and 2 x bottles with the meal, starters of Red pepper and tomato soup and Stilton mushrooms, mains, Stilton chicken and roast belly pork with chilli jam, veggies, and desert was pecan pie and a chessboard. So what do you reckon?

£67. Give it a try. It’s brill!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you very much for for your great review, it always gives us all a lift when people let us know when it all goes well. We put a lot of effort into our food and from buying most of our ingredients from local suppliers to cooking fresh and we try to add some other menu choice's to keep it interesting, glad to hear you enjoyed it so much, mind you maybe I should review our price's mmmm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Very handy to walk to from where we were staying. Called in on first night for an evening meal and a few drinks. Very relaxed atmosphere, the food was delicious and the service was great. If we had been staying longer we would definitely have called in again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you, we do like our guests to feel relaxed and welcome. Hope you can make it back some time soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stayed for one night and have nothing but praise. We were given a great welcome by Ozzie, which our dog Bonnie appreciated, and by Mike. Our room was warm and comfortable with everything we would want. As vegetarians it was so good to have a choice of three dishes---most unusual--and our choice was really good. We were greeted to breakfast by Ozzie and again had a great choice. Why can't we make coffee at home like that? Will come back. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tyl260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words, it's the job of all the "staff" to make everyone welcome. Glad you liked your room and veggie options, I can't tell you the secret of our Coffee, so I'm afraid you'll have to come back to enjoy it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Found by chance in booking .com . Would highly recommend. Lovely welcome from staff and dog . Accommodation clean and comfy . Lovely to have a separate sitting area as do not like television in bedrooms .
Dinner had a great choice . Venison delicious and the sirloin my husband had was great .
Breakfast was a good selection of fruit cereal and then a choice of cooked full English , waffles etc .
As frequently up and down to Grimsby will be staying here again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison551959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review was very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We stayed one night B & B & Evening meal.
The room was more like a suite,bedroom,lounge area with the TV and bathroom.
All areas clean, and supplied with the usual tea/coffee making facilities.
Plenty of character,exposed beams in all the rooms.
Very comfortable bed,plenty of storage space.
Well stocked bar,Three ales and Yorkshire gin.
The staff were very friendly,and efficient.
Good choice of food for the evening.
Great Yorkshire breakfast,served to the table.
Car parking space outside the Inn

A great time,and good value.
Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HenryCrabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews