We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and are still staying here at present”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Reviewed 9 September 2011

we booked into this hotel now 3 weeks ago the staff we could not fault them each one of them were very friendly , breakfast was set out well. help yourself .room was clean and very tidy very good staff on board a credit to this family run hotel, we would stay again , bar meals and resturant meals very nice . alison and bob

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibob286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is an average hotel, at an average price, in an average place,
average shower, average breakfast.

But... friendly staff. So would I stay here again? Yes. If your looking for somewhere just to get your head down, it's fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazimu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Not much to add to the other comments other than you couldn't be quiet in your room, the floors creaked !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxkippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

First note of warning - do not stay here in cold weather. We stayed in December 2010 and the temperature outside was approx -10, it wasn't much warmer in the bedroom.
We booked an 'executive' room - never has the word been so incorrectly used.
The room had one small fan heater which was not even turned on so took ages to heat up. It sounded like a lound car engine, so turned it off during the night, but eventually had to put it back on as we could see our breath it was so cold.
One thin duvet, no extra blanket - fortunately we had travelled with one in the car so had to use this.
Cleanliness was highly dodgy, there were a couple of piles of sawdust in the room and also the desk top was dusty. The bathroom was ok, if you do not mind the previous occupant's hair being left behind.
Even when we went for breakfast in the morning, the dining area was not heated and was freezing cold. The breakfast also did not look very fresh.
The staff were ok, but when I complained of the unsatisfactory condition of the room on check out all the person said was ' oh sorry about that'.

I would NOT stay here again, I gave the independent a chance but in future will stick to the Travelodge

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logielicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Shown to our room by friendly staff (overworked) but oh dear! The smell was foul and they did move us....we had room service and had to scrape off the burn from our meal with tissues, and throw most of it away. The whole place, having a timber interior is a firetrap and the deep stairwell as you go down through the one door to the rooms at the end of the corridor is a downright death trap also, carrying suitcases in sideways, you cannot see the unguarded stairwell down to car park level,(no warning notice) the photo we have taken show quite clearly that it is an accident about to happen.

Breakfast-we had hoped that they might have cleaned off their grill but the bacon and tomotoes were just as charred...

In all, a total waste of money, and yes, having a bathroom carpet-wthout a bathmat-disgraceful..there were even silverfish darting round. We even had to roll up sweaters because the pillows were so hard. Tried to get a bathmat but the girl on reception was so overworked we had to queue then leave it. Sent an e-mail, it bounced back, left a letter-no reply!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
0.7 km away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
199 reviews
9.7 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
319 reviews
18.3 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 km away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
15.7 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
431 reviews
7.2 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge At Leeming Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge At Leeming Bar

Address: Motel Leeming Services 88 Bedale Road, Bedale DL8 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Price Range: ₹ 4,545 - ₹ 5,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge At Leeming Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated in its own extensive grounds, adjacent to the A1 Great North Road, one mile from Bedale. The 39 bedroom Lodge offers free WiFi and is perfectly situated for a North/South stop over or to discover the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors. The special executive rooms are brand new and have 32 inch flat screen TVs as well as air conditioning.All bedrooms are ensuite and feature all modern comforts such as Flat Screen TV, Freeview, trouser press, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The Executive rooms have air conditioning and 32 inch flat screen tvs. Some of these rooms are situated on the ground floor and have wheelchair access.The Old Market Square Restaurant & Cafe Bar enjoy an award winning reputation, renowned for traditional English cuisine complimented by friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. The Virtual reality world of a Market Town in the Restaurant has been created by a local artist. Doors, Windows & Shop Fronts all tell a story that reflects the history of the owners over the last 50 years. Access via reception is through a level passage with no steps to negotiate, easy for anyone with limited mobility or users of wheelchairs.Two dedicated meeting rooms are available and popular as the hotel is in an ideal location just off the A1M for business people wanting to meet up in a location halfway between Leeds and the North East (or London & Scotland). The biggest meeting room can take up to 150 delegates theatre style.Local attractions include the Yorkshire Dales, a national park with beautiful scenery. The Historic City of York is just a short drive away as are Ripon and Richmond. There is also a Tourist Information Centre based at the Lodge which provides information on local and national things to see and do. The Wensleydale Railway passes through some of the most beautiful scenery in the Yorkshire Dales, running for 17 miles from Leeming Bar to Redmire on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Trains run throughout the year (daily during the Summer; at weekends and during school holiday periods during the rest of the year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodge At Leeming Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Leeming Bar Hotel Bedale
Hotel At Leeming Bar
At Leeming Bar Bedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing