We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Booked via booking.com at short notice.
Lovely location and value . Food for evening meal & breakfast very good. Will return

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for your positive review.

In the present climate everyone is looking for value for money so I am delighted that you were satisfied with your deal. I know this time you booked through a third party but remember that it is always worth checking out our website for the latest deals and offers which you can only book direct.

We look for ward to welcoming you back soon.
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for The Worsley Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 543 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a New Year 3 night package in Dec 2011 with friends. On the whole we had a lovely time, with good food and lovely accomodation but were very disappointed with the actual New Years Eve event. Instead of eating in the restaurant as we were told when we booked, we were told we had to eat in the Cricketers bar area as the restaurant was full. This was not what we would have chosen, there was no atmosphere, it was like eating in a pub, not the special event we usually are part of at New Year. We were found somewhere to sit later on in the restaurant so that we could enjoy the disco and realised that the reason the restaurant was full was because people who had just come for the New Year meal had been given places rather than residents who were actually booked for the New Year package! Not the way to treat your guests and we would certainly not return again as no-one was the slightest bit interested that we were obviously upset at the arrangements. We should have been told when we booked, not last minute at all, what the arrangements were and then would have looked elsewhere.

Thank Tigger830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for posting your review.

I am sorry you were so disappointed with your table on New Years Eve, when everything else seemed ideal for you. Its four months ago now but I do remember you moving through to the dining room for the dancing.

We would not deliberately set out to mislead our guests, so there was obviously crossed wires about the dining arrangements. 75% of the guests for the dinner dance, residents and non residents were with us the previous year and 50% the year before that as well, so we do try to allocate tables in order of booking. Once again may I apologise for your disappointment, but thank you for highlighting the parts that we did get right.

I hope that on a future occasion you do return, and if it is for New Year I will ensure that the dinner arrangements are made correctly.

Regards

Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We recently enjoyed a two night stay at the Worsley Arms and had a wonderful time. All the staff were lovely and service excellent. We were very warmly greeted on arrival and this continued throughout our stay. Both the breakfast and evening meal were excellent. A good location with lots to see and do. Would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaKeith550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

I am delighted that you enjoyed you break with us.

Thank you for the kind words about the welcome and courtesy that you received from the team during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a couple of days staying at this lovely hotel.

The location was great being close to may nice places to visit, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent.

The room was nice and quiet and the bed was really comfortable!

This was a hotel where I felt completely comfortable and I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

What a wonderful place. All the staff are friendly, service was excellent and the food amazing. They just couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is what you expect for a 3* but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. On the whole a fabulous weekend. Thank you The Worsley Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.
The team work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and made welcome, so your feedback is important. On the cooking side too they strive to offer a wide range of dishes to satisfy our guests moods which can vary from day to day depending on their activities so they also try to be flexible.

Thank you also for making the point that we are a three star hotel,( a point often overlooked by some reviewers) we do not have a pool or a spar but are a traditionally run country hotel charging three star prices, but if in he opinion of our guests we are offering a five star service I am happy to live with that!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham soon.
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
12.3 km away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
12.8 km away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
529 reviews
10.0 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
560 reviews
9.9 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
758 reviews
10.1 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range: ₹ 7,587 - ₹ 12,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing