We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Himmelstigen to Trolltunga Day Tour - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
What an incredible day!

Yesterday I had the pleasure and honour of visiting Trolltunga via Himmelstigen and it was truly a... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2016
Toby B
,
Newbury, United Kingdom
StairWay to Heaven

Our experience with TrolltungActive is something we will never forget in our life: simply amazing... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2016
giordanom569
,
Rome, Italy
via mobile
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
36
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Our experience with TrolltungActive is something we will never forget in our life: simply amazing! It is hard indeed and you have to be in a good shape to do it, but then once you climb your last step, you feel great especially if it's the first time you do something like that like we did. Our guide Filippa has been amzing: she gave us all we need to be safe inspiring courage to the entire group. Thanks Filippa, thanks TrolltungActive for this great experience.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank giordanom569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

My husband and I did this tour yesterday and it was a fantastic day out. We had wanted to see Trolltunga, but were not looking forward to the 22 km round trip hike, as we had just done three days of hiking in a row. This provided a wonderful alternative. It took just as long as the hike (11 hrs round trip) but it was so varied and interesting and without the crowds!

Our guide was Petter and we had a father and son from England with us as well. So it was a lovely small group and the dynamics were perfect.

It starts out with a 7 km bike trail alongside the fjord (or lake?) that you see pictured in the Trolltunga photos. The bike ride was on a well maintained mountain bike trail, but very wide so it was easy to bike.
The next phase was a hike up through a forest to an absolutely. stunning location by a waterfall for lunch.
Then, we had another hour of hiking through a boulder field with a lot of rock hopping. Finally we arrived at the base of the cliffs below Trolltunga. There we started the via ferrata. Basically you have a harness and you clip into either ropes, cables or the metal ladder rungs. In many cases the cliff you are scaling is completely vertical. The via ferrata was a wonderful way for a non-climber to achieve that sense of exhilaration from scaling a sheer cliff face!
When we got to the top we had to hike a mere kilometre to get to Trolltunga. There were a lot of people on the trail, so I am so glad we did this tour instead.
After the photos at Trolltunga (and Petter repelled down to get a different angle) we did the whole trek in reverse. Going down the via ferrata was a lot more thrilling and scary.

I would definitely recommend this trip. If you do it, bring light gloves because some of the ropes can get muddy and you will also prevent friction rubs when going down using the ropes.

So far, this has been my best experience in Norway!

Date of experience: August 2016
6  Thank SarahEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

The trip took us about 10 hours in total.
Perfect mix of bike, hike and climb.
Proffesional staff and good equipment.
I hope to come back and do it again!!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Patrik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This route is not easy, but it is worth every step. Our guide (Daniel) led a group of 8. He was very safety-conscious and got all of us up and down without any problems. He had us take frequent food and water breaks and educated us about the flora and geology of the area. The bike ride, the hike up the ravine and the climb up the ladders were breathtaking (literally and figuratively), and Trolltunga itself made it all worthwhile. The younger members of our group even cooled off on the way down in a swimming hole under a waterfall... and I mean REALLY cooled off. Start-to-finish it was over 11 hours, but we would all do it again if we had the chance.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank ronnypudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous area of Norway and we are happy we attempted this route to Trolltunga. Our guide was super friendly and accommodating about the varying athletic ability levels in our group. We started with a 10k biking trip; be ready to bike a lot uphill over rocky terrain. I was not ready for this since I live in the city and fear riding a bike. Then there was a very steep ascent up rocks to the via Ferrata. This was doable on the way up but tricky coming down after the rain started. Definitely make sure you are in shape to do this as well. I am in decent physical condition but not nearly as much as the older Norwegian men in our group who were hopping up the boulders at lightning speed.

We climbed a bit of the Via Ferrata but then had to go back down. We are happy the guide made the decision since we heard boulders tumbling off the mountain nearby. The company reimbursed us 50% since the weather failed us. They also gave the option to reschedule for the next day free of cost. My advice would be to spend many days in this area of Norway and plan your trip around the weather if you really want to see Trolltunga since it typically rains a lot in the mountains.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews