We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room terrible, rooftop terrace lovely”
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“room terrible, rooftop terrace lovely”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

A lovely setting on the waterfront, parking on the opposite side of the road free but full up after 7pm, I used to park up by 6pm for the night then just taxi to wherever for 10 euros. Room was small and dingy, aircon didnt work very well in 40c heat, the balcony was at the bottom of a chimney no view just surrounded by four walls and the upper rooms would throw out rubbish which would all accumalate on the floor. The reception team were all friendly as were the housekeepers who did keep the room and bathroom clean, the breakfast staff were surly, uncaring and if you arrived after 9am most food had run out, tables were dirty and you had to clear yourself, couldnt find glasses for juice etc etc, just disorganised chaos with no one managing. The rooftop terrace with a small plunge pool, recliners, bar open to 1am and tables and chairs was a delight to sit in at any time of day with lovely views of the marina and across to Valetta, you can also get food here and they will wrap up a sandwich to take away if you want this. I thoroughly enjoyed my week in Malta, drove around the whole island and visited all the sights. Really friendly people and not expensive. Would I stay in this hotel again? not unless I got a room with a view and a balcony but the terrace is a big reason to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with working aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Sales and Marketing Department at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Landlord,
Many thanks for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you found our reception staff helpful and Housekeeping Department efficient.
Should you intend to visit us in the future kindly email us beforehand so that we can allocate your room as per your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    170
    159
    120
    96
See reviews for
68
280
72
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you are a young traveller and looking for a Contiki tour type of hotel, then this hotel is for you.
This hotel is very run down and known to the locals as a terrible hotel to stay in. The website is really sending an incorrect message.
The safe did not lock, the fridge had nothing in it and the air conditioning did not work either. The WIFI was unreliable and when it did start to work, it was only available on the ground floor and level 7.
After a terrible night’s sleep from a hard bed, yelling 20 year old English tourists and lack of air conditioning, I decided that even after backpacking in Morocco, this was by far the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HCM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKennedyNova, Manager at Hotel Kennedy Nova, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
We thank you for your comments in relation to our Hotel as we take all comments seriously as they help us maintain our standards and also ameliorate them where needed however we would like to comment as follows:-
Our Hotel is indeed very frequented by locals and therefore we cannot confirm your comments in relation to this. The website has indeed been recently developed and the images indeed reflect what was is actually available at the Hotel including the outstanding views that one may find. The safe lock requires a lock and the literature found in the Guest rooms as well as at our Front office details the procedure as to how to acquire the lock for it. The Air-conditioning does indeed work however Malta has experienced terrible heat waves this year. The WIFI is indeed advertised that it is available in our lobby and our 7th Floor. We have chosen a good strength for our WIFI however makes it also depends on the device being used for connection. With regards to the mattress, there is always mixed feedback about this as this depends on the liking of the guests. Our Housekeeping Department may indeed change the mattress to a softer / harder one upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

A few days before I was in this hotel. Its in very nice place named gizira.The location of the Hotel is 5***** Its near to Valetta and saint julian.
Just a few steps awy from captain morgan cruises.Near the bus station. The receptionist were very helpful but the people of he restaurant was very bad.
They were lazy and they dont solve any problem.
The room we stayed in was very well equipped, double bed, comfortable furnishings with kitchen but no any wiev. The room was clean but the air condition was giving the heart(dead) . The breakfast was poor .
On the 7th floor ther is a small picine and a nice terrace bar. When you take a drink here you can see the wonderfull wiev of Malta.
While you're in Malta buy yourself a one day bus pass each day for 2.60 (or 12 Euro if you're going to be there 4 - 7 days). You can go anywhere on the island and it's fantastic value for money.
For going gozo or blue laggoon reserve ticket from captain morgan cruises. They do their work very well.
In Gozo rent a taxi for 40 or 50 euros and see the island First go to victorias center and spend one hour then you must go to Marsalform for swim and then if you want a wonderfull sea food go to Marlene D restaurant pizzeria.Very cheap and super food.
Then go to azzure window and take photos of the window its really amazing.
Shortly Malta is very nice and you will relax there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erolbenezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had a lovely time at this hotel. I usually go to hotels ready to criticize and complain about stuff, but i honestly didn´t need to at this hotel. The staff were friendly, always recognized us the second we walked through the door, and handed us the key right away without us even needing to state the number. The fact that they recognized us was a very up side in friendliness and competence of the staff. Pool area was nice, however if its a little windy they don´t open the umbrellas, we got pretty sunburnt because of that. The bar upstairs gets busy at times, and only one bartender is there. We were there during the Euro Cup and it was constantly busy. Breakfast ++++++ awesome. Have cereal, bacon, sausage, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, crossaints, bread, ham, jam. everything basically. The only real downside for me was the bed, it was a little too hard for my comfort, like sleeping on a table. My partner loved it, but it wasn´t my kind of thing. So if you like a soft bed, beware!

The room was clean upon arrival and kept clean by housekeeping throughout our stay. Great location, just a few steps from a bus stop, and right at the sea front. Lots of restaurants and bars along the street too. Surprisingly quiet if you have an inside room (not a sea view). There was lots of carcading after matches, but we didn´t hear a thing from our room.

For the price, it is more than adequate to stay at this hotel. I will be staying there again and will recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had an inside room, without sea view, and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johocachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Only stayed 1 night so cannot put in a very detailed review. On the whole it was good. Had to check out early, and they did not offer a breakfast bag (I didnt ask) but some hotels prepare a goody bag for visitors having to check out earlier than breakfast. There was a cockroach in the room. Since it was so hot, this is not uncommon, but still is a nuisance. I would give the hotel a go again but not if I want a luxury stay. The room was big and comfy but no privacy. Had to close the curtains so that other visitors with a facing balcony do not see everything!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.1 km away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.0 km away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 km away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
1.1 km away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
1.0 km away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Property: Hotel Kennedy Nova
Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,780 - ₹ 11,175
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing