We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennedy Nova- very agreeable”
Review of Hotel Kennedy Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kennedy Nova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I recently spent a very agreeable couple of days there. The hotel is in a great position overlooking the bay with beautiful views(particularly from the roof garden) and excellent bus services and boat links to all parts of the island. The hotel is very clean and well presented, I was met by friendly and helpful staff. Quite a few guests are longer stayers in the winter though there is some turnover and they are a pleasant and friendly crowd.. The large screen TV is great for watching the sports events in particular and there is plenty of banter on these occasions. Internet is available to guests and many use their own with the hotel's wifi facilities.
The breakfast and evening meals are buffet style so there is plenty of choice to suit all. Evening walks along the front were an enjoyable feature, the town is clean, safge and yob free. I shall certainly return as there is so much to see on an island so steeped in history.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have the best views but also some traffic noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Julia186372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kennedy Nova
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is the first time we've had an extended stay holiday. The hotel was classed as 4*. I would say it was more 3*. The staff were very friendly and were a credit to the hotel. We had a problem with the first room we were allocated, but we were offered, and accepted, another room, which was dark, but cosy. The room was cleaned daily, bedding and towels changed regularly. However, the mattress was lumpy, and the springs made a racket when you turned over. The pillows were cheap, pieces of foam, which were really uncomfortable. It would have been beneficial to have had better quality ones, with better support. (this was not just in our room, we spoke to several guests who had the same complaint, ) The meals were quite palatable. There was always something we could choose. However, my main grievance was that some of the food was cold. It really needed to be hotter. I wasn't sure I was keen on guests walking through the dining room at mealtimes, to get the lift to their rooms. The Kennedy Nova was well situated, being near bus stops and shopping areas. Beware though, of the touts selling timeshare. We watched them stopping people in the middle of the roads to try to get them interested. We were offered scratchcards, saying we'd won a bottle of wine (for wine, read vinegar!) then a card stating we'd won a luxury holiday. Believe me this is a ploy. They just want you into the hotel, where the big boys turn on the heavy sell. Then there were the sightseeing tour sellers, Hop on-hop off buses. I know these people are just trying to make a living, but they are stopping you every 20 yards or so. The 'entertainment' was dire. The same songs sung by different acts. If you like Engelbert Humperdink, Frank Sinatra, Neil Diamond etc., you're laughing (I wasn't) Beware too of the traffic. Vehicles travel really fast on the main road outside the hotel. All in all though, we found little to really complain about, and would consider going back.

Room Tip: We weren't really troubled by noise from other guests etc. You could try asking for a seaview ro...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The package we were on included an upgrade to a sea-view room with views across the harbour, sunrises ,some luxury yachts and Valletta cathedral dome . This was the best part of the hotel and if you could ignore traffic noise then it was worth it . The ground floor reception and restaurant has been recently renovated but the hotel needs to move on to the guest rooms. Ours was clean ,smallish but the shower door needed some " tlc " to move it each time. Some guests complained that their room was to cold but ours was OK.
Breakfasts were consistently up to standard but we could only describe each dinner as disappointing .Unimaginative and not exactly tasty. The location was convenient with an Arriva and other excursion stops just minutes away . Thus was relevant because for 12.00 euros we could travel around the island non-stop for a week - the drivers were always helpful ( top tip ,get a ticket at the airport when you arrive ,ask for the Arriva desk ). So to sum up, a sea view is essential here . As usual the Maltese people were great .

Room Tip: Half - board came with a sea - view upgrade .
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Britbrat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel needs an URGENT refurbishment programme , although it displays the MALTESE 4 STAR rating ( not comparable with the uk rating of same standard ) i have to report its tatty , tired ,old fashioned and in the uk would class as 2 star at best . It has however a great location and if you book a seaview room its bearable - just ! No bath in room 601( seaview room ) only a small shower cubicle with a fixed shower head , small double wardrobe , very few hangers - take your own . Clumps of paint peeling off from the outside balcony , food - previous days leftovers appears in a different guise in the starters the following evening !. Not good .
Now the good bits - staff nice , cleaners do a good job , beds comfy . Seems to have a loyal older clientele whom enjoy sitting in the foyer reading and discussing the food menu , however beware if you sit in the limited spaces without invitation !!. lol

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MR. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our stay at the Kennedy Nova Hotel was fine - probably because, like previous reviewers we only used it as a place to sleep. The location is ideal for exploring Malta.

Unfortunately we were in a room that was due for renovation so there were various parts that were very "tired" such as the bathroom. I agree with the reviewer who said it would be worth paying a bit extra for a sea view room. I spoke to an older lady who had been a guest there for three weeks and had another two weeks to go, she was very much looking forward to going home but I think that was more to do with the fact that she could not get out and explore the island as she could not walk very well.

I would go back to the Kennedy but only once the "tired" rooms have been renovated.

Room Tip: Buy a 7 day bus ticket when you arrive at the airport, this saves on transfers (12 euros for a 7 day...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HampshireMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Il Gzira
0.0 km away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,233 reviews
0.1 km away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,121 reviews
1.1 km away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
979 reviews
1.1 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kennedy Nova? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kennedy Nova

Address: 116, The Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range: ₹ 3,086 - ₹ 9,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kennedy Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect base in Malta then you have found it. The Kennedy Nova is a four-star, seafront hotel just a stone's throw away from the crystal blue Mediterranean waters.Situated right in the heart of Malta's busy shopping and seaside district Sliema, Hotel Kennedy Nova offers both comfort and convenience for visitors to the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kennedy Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Nova Il Gzira
Hotel Kennedy Nova Malta/Il Gzira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing