We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just left a beachside room which was very dated and cave-like it was so dark. We were in front of a gorgeous beach, but had a few very tiny windows to look out, and those were covered with curtains that couldn't be pulled back - what a waste! I was disappointed not to be in an upgraded room, we booked about 5 mths ago, they certainly look better. What we had was way overpriced. The check-in was very freindly but incredibly inefficent, we waited around for ages, while the clerk walked back and forward to the desk - we were sitting in the lounge & did get a drink, but after travelling, waiting for security, customs etc, I really don't want to be waiting to check -in, I want to get to my room asap! Room service was slow - we asked for ice one night and it just never arrived, the next night it took 40 mins for an ice bucket & 2 glasses and then we were charged for the ice - I have NEVER been charged for ice in a hotel before. Having said that the lobby staff & tour guide desk were very helpful. This hotel is in a great location, only hope after the upgrade it is improved, but the main pool is empty and there are tin fences everywhere - so maybe you should wait before you visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in an upgraded room, the beachside look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback and do accept our sincere apologies if your recent stay experience fell short of expectations.

We take a serious view on service consistency and had taken necessary corrective action, to prevent recurrence in future. Please be rest assured that such isolated incidents are not a reflection of the Resort’s standards.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates who have delighted and delivered your expectations.

We sincerely hope you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back with a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,883
    1,383
    435
    181
    130
See reviews for
1,297
1,630
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eumundi, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel in May for 5 nights. We had a sensational time, from the moment we walked into the reception room, with a big walm friendly welcome, to being upgraded as hotel was pretty quiet and the overall experience was brilliant. I thought the location of this hotel was great, at the end of a beautiful beach only a 5-10 walk to the nearest town, which was plentiful in cafes, restaurants, fish spas and the like. The hotel rooms were large and clean with an authentic theme. The grounds of the hotel kept beautifully with fantastic swimming pools. Much to the satisfaction my two small children a great slide into each of them, but more than enough room for everybody to enjoy the pool areas. Lots of loungers and peace and quiet. The hotel is going through renovations but the noise is minimal, they have closed down whole wings at a time so it does not impact guests. The breakfast was exceptional, offering everything imagionable for both Western and Malay tastes. During our stay it was our son's 6th birthday and the hotel could not have done enough to make this fun for him. They provided a beautiful cake, the staff signed a card and set up an area to give this to him with singing aswell. A great memory. I read other coments on here, yes the rooms are slightly dated, this is being sorted, but its not grubby or in anyway affects your stay, they are large, great balcony's, private, cleaned immaculately daily and very comfortable. The only query to management would be the resort sports activities area does need a complete overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahHarris38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you very much for your valued feedback and it makes us extremely happy and needless to say, most proud to receive compliments from satisfied customer as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations

Your suggestion on enhancing some areas of our facilities had been duly noted.

We shall look forward to welcome you back with our signature service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for 3 days 2 nights at the Garden Terrace. Checking in was quick and hassle free. The room was big with one king size bed and one single bed. Perfect for the three of us. The balcony was facing a small playground and we could also see the lovely sea. The private beach seemed endless. We went to both pools but enjoyed the one with the slide more. Since our room was on the other side of the pool, we were given a ride on the buggy when we wanted to go back to our room. Saved us from the long walk under the hot sun! We also checked out the Kiki Animal Farm and tree house. Location of the resort was also good cause it was just walking distance to go to shops and restaurants. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would love to stay here again if we go to Langkawi. Just hope the next time we come, the tree house is fixed!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WANhazira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Many thanks for your appreciative notes and we are delighted on your positive stay experience with us. Your feedback is very important as we strive to consistently meet or exceed our guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them.

We are considering giving the tree house a makeover and I am sure you will notice the difference on your next visit.

We shall look forward to many more return visits from you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had a short stay here and we came back with great memories. Langkawi is a favourite destination and the Meritus resort environs is very relaxing. We had a beach front wooden chalet that lived up to its billing and price tag. The sea beckons you and the private beach is right outside the cottage.
They treat you like royalty ! The sumptuous breakfast spread is fit for a king. Word of caution -better to go early to enjoy the variety. The staff uniformly from the front desk down to the bellboy exude warmth, hospitality and professionalism.
The other nice aspect is its location - bang in the middle of Pantai Cenang with its choice of eateries and shops. Highly recommended; we would go again.

Room Tip: Beach front, else pool side chalets recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank futloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Many sincere thanks for your gracious compliments and will gladly share them with all our associates.

It is always gratifying to learn that we had delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you back with our signature service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here for a week for a friend's wedding. We took a poolview room and it was quite expensive given the age and condition of the room itself. This is a great resort but the rooms really need a makeover, old fittings, bathrooms and balconies all look as though they need a change. We ate most of the time in the hotel, the food was OK but the breakfast was predictable and boring, the buffet could do with more variety. That being said, the location of the hotel is perfect for walking out and renting a scooter or a car, or eating and drinking at the one of the many bars and restaurants within easy distance.
There's two large pools in the resort, both with swim up bars which is handy. The prices within the hotel are reasonable and the service is very good. Considering the hotel was at capacity when we stayed, the staff did a great job accommodating all our requests.

I really like this resort, it would be great to see it with a makeover, and it would be even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victoriabitter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Many sincere thanks for your valued feedback which is very important in ensuring we consistently meet our guests’ expectations.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to learn that they have delivered your expectations.

The new room enhancements currently underway, as part of an extensive renovation programme, when fully completed, will greatly enhance our guests’ experience and comfort with new and updated products.

We welcome the opportunity to serve you again with accommodation in our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
9.7 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.7 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
15.3 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,343 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,366 reviews
14.8 km away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,244 - ₹ 20,799
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing