We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be amazing once renovation completed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will be amazing once renovation completed”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had a lovely stay. Nothing too negative to say. Rooms a little tired, but with renovations on going this hotel will be perfect once finished.
Great location. Feels isolated enough to feel relaxed in day, but walking distance to lots of local bars/restaurants - food in hotel lovely too.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicci_b84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Many sincere thanks for your kind and gracious compliments on your recent stay experience. It is such valued comments that inspires and motivate our associates, to continue giving their best towards attaining service excellence. We shall look forward to your next visit with accommodation in our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,861
    1,370
    431
    179
    130
See reviews for
1,276
1,615
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June during a Malaysia/Thailand hop. We were alocated a lakeview room, the room was very dark with oakwood panelling, 10 year old TV and basically nothing like the pictures we had seen. We were so dissapointed and asked for our room to be changed which the manager was very helpfull with. We ended up getting a room on the otherside of the lake on the ground floor which was a small improvement but still not great.

I'm a research fanatic and spent so much time going through the reviews before we booked this hotel. Usually my research pays off but this time I was very dissapointed and I cant honestly understand why this hotel has so many glowing reviews.

Pro's:

Friendly staff & very good general manager
always found free sunbeds
On the beach - the sea looks nothing like the turquise blue pictures btw!

Con's:

Old and in need of refurbishment which I was told would be finished by July. Some poeple have commented about having good tips about the rooms - my guess is they were given one of the refurbished rooms - we did ask for one of these but he said they werent done yet (they were probably taken at the time)

Lots of gaps under the doors, windows and even holes by the curtains. We had 2 geckos and a cockroach in our room and had to wait for half an hour for housekeeping to come and get them out. I wouldnt expect this from a 4 star hotel!!

breakfast buffet - usually you would go to the desk and the staff seat you on an available table, in this place you are just told to go in and find an empty table. Then when you go to get your food someone else is sitting at your table!! total chaos first thing in the morning! again I wouldnt expect this from a 4 star hotel.

All in all I was very dissapointed with Langkawi as a whole. We were supposidly in the best location; this was a strip with some restaurants and a couple of shops. While walking on the road we came across a massive lizard! We didnt see any bars, I think the area is popular with muslim families. We found only 1 shop on the strip and the underwater world the only place you could buy alcohol.

My advice is go to Thailand- Phi Phi, Phuket or Samui which are far nicer and hotels of similar cost are of a much higher standard. The pictures represent the turquise sea and there is a wide choice of food/bars/shops for tourists to choose from.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seem to be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N16K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your valued comments as it is only through such feedback that we are able to continuously improve our product and service offerings.

We do sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience with the breakfast and housekeeping service. We take a serious view on service consistency and have implemented re-training to ensure such experience does not recur in future.

Rest assured, we will continue with our efforts towards providing a resort environment that our esteemed guest such as yourself will truly enjoy.

We welcome the opportunity to serve you again with accommodation in our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed with our 18 mth old toddler for five nights and our friends who live in Malaysia stayed for two. They have visited Langkawi a few times and rated this resort as the best value for money! The resort is very family friendly and easy to get around. The rooms were clean and spacious with king bed and port a cot as we requested. Would defiantly recommend the ocean view room as the breeze we had through the day and watching the sun go down made it perfect for sitting on the balcony. Staff were amazing!!! From the beautiful Fazlina taking care of us in the lobby to the friendly buggy driver who was chatty & always asked how we were to the restaurant staff to the house keeping staff... Could not fault any of them!!! Location was perfect for us with a pram and very easy stroll to the shops and restaurants. LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 1504 Ocean view corner suite. Central location. Beautiful sunset. Not two story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mattwalker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Many sincere thanks for your gracious compliments and it is always gratifying to learn that we have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience

Your gracious compliments on Fazlina and all our associates have been communicated to them for being outstanding Ambassadors of the Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our signature service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed for three nights in June 12 and found the hotel patchy in parts

Good points:
- the rooms are spacious
- the external look of the property is nice
- the pools were fairly empty
- not bad value compared with others in the area
- the spa was great

Needs more work:
- the rooms inside need refurbing which everyone knows and has commented on
- some of the restaurant options could also do with a spruce up like the pool bar
- the beach was quite dirty when we stayed and there were lots of rubbish washed up in the mornings which the hotel staff were cleaning up but it put us off letting our small children play in the water, I would have preferred a better level of cleanliness for a beach resort. If you are a late riser it may be ok.
- the breakfast buffet was OK but not fab and for someone who needs coffee in the morning, having bigger cups or swifter refills would have made the mornings a little easier.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViBoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your valued comments as it is only through such feedback that we are able to continuously improve our product and service offerings. We do sincerely apologize if your recent experience with us fell short of expectations.

You will be pleased to know that the exciting new enhancements currently underway, as part of an extensive renovation programme, also includes the rooms and the pool bar. When fully completed, it will greatly enhance our guests’ experience and comfort with new and updated products.

We welcome the opportunity to serve you again with accommodation in our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Convenient location with taxi stand right outside the hotel. Just get anyone at the reception to call for the taxi and one is delivered immediately. The resort is big with a village feel and in the humid weather, the walk can be a sticky and taxing one. However, I love the big hammocks at the beach to chill and at least the beach is clean. I have to say the service was a bit of a let down for me though. The stay was in conjunction with a comp event and so a beach bbq party was organised. Prob due to the darkness, I was served with half raw lamb. Only 2 buggies available so sometimes it might take a while to wait. Also I feel that the drivers can sometimes be driving a little recklessly (off-kerb and fast). Not to say all was bad because the housekeeper did pro-actively contact another party to change the light bulb without prompting. Just that the overall experience could have been better. I would have rated it 3 stars but the hammock and quaint and lovely feel of the room pushed it to a 4.

Room Tip: The lake is brown and looks filthy so I suggest to avoid room overlooking the lake. Pool and beach i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pui_Saan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience. Your comments have been noted for improvement in our service delivery and to ensure we consistently meet our guests’ expectations. Please be assured that such isolated incidents are not a reflection of the Resort’s standards. We hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to welcoming you back with a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
9.6 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.7 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
20.9 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,337 reviews
14.8 km away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,141 - ₹ 23,367
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing