We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravela Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I and my husband had gone there to celebrate my birthday! Its very far from the airport so it took us almost an hour and half to reach there. We were promised to give a garden view room and when we entered the room it didn't have the garden view. Then we insisted to get that kind of room. The staff there denied saying that they don't have a room availability with garden view. They showed us two different room but both of them were bad. Then they took us to there new wing where they have renovated room with better facilities but they were asking more for those rooms. We were feeling very bad on our decision of staying there.

Anyway finally they gave us a room which had sea view but not renovated. So it have very average facilities and interiors were also fairly average. Meals were included in our package but food was pathetic!

All in all it was a bad stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    610
    226
    98
    90
See reviews for
837
536
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This resort is at beautiful location on Varca beach. Though resort has occupied very big area and there are many rooms but the quality of room is not which you can expect from 5 star category resort. Rooms have dim lights and which make you feel very clumsy. Even situated on beach no rooms have sea view. Food and services are average. Staff response is fine but far less than it should have when we talk about 5 star resorts.Swimming pool & pool side bar is very good. One best part of resort is its garden & sunset point. Children will have blast as there is lot of space for them to play. Overall its nice resort but definitely not of 5 star category.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit_C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vadodara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

everybody avoid it, Stayed their in april this year,calls itself five star but hey my bedroom is more luxurious.

very damp rooms A/C horrible, mattresses horrible and boy oh boy the staff can give our muncipality office staff a run for their money.

food was avoidable, you know i needded some anti allergic for my kid who had caught cold due to the very damp nature of their room and here is the kicker nothing available in this "huge" five star hotel. they didnt even offer to arrange something even!! I HAD TO SPEM 1500 RS ON THE HOTEL TAXI TO GET 15 RS DCOLD SYRUP

Whats more they use water from sewage plant water their gardens so every morning and evening the whole area is smelling like sewer . After getting this explaination how can i let my boy play in their garden

Room Tip: avoid all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tapanortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kozhencherry,kerala
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

stayed in march 2012 for 3days and 4 nights with my family on the superior package provided by the hotel which included 2way transfers, all buffet meals and half day city tour. we had to wait for 45mins before they picked us up. but once we were at the resort they welcomed us well. the room provided was just about ok, they look old although they have all the facilities as in a regualr 5 star resort. the food was excellent with variety of food on all the three days. the pool facilities were also excellent. the casino however was a big letdown. overall a nice place to stay n relax but they could improve the decor of their rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyvarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We (3 couples with 3 kids all below two years) visited Caravela beach resort in Aug 2012 (off season for Goa) & got a good rate to stay in their property INR 22K for 3 night 4 days in the deluxe room, inclusive of all meals (buffet), airport transfers & half day city tour. One has to be very particular about choosing the room, for us in spite of choosing an expensive category of room the view was very limited & restrictive, please ensure that you choose a room with pool view or sea/ golf course view, garden facing rooms are a strict no no, the rooms otherwise were descent. We requested them to change our rooms but they told us that the resort is full & they can’t change our rooms. Their buffet spread is nice & especially the breakfast buffet is lavish. I am a non vegetarian & enjoyed the sea food & other dishes, though the vegetarians in our group found the food to be average. The beach is beautiful & very clean & one can enjoy the peace & serenity unlike in other goan beaches. The resort however lacks big time on activities, the net of the TT table was in shambles, tennis court had small pools & was very slippery (I know it was rainy season & it was raining every couple of hours but I expect better service in a 5 star resort). Lots of their facilities (like beach side bar/ grill house) are closed owing to the “off season” however I found the resort to be 90% occupied. We did use their massage & spa facilities & found them to be good. The swimming pool is nice & they have a kids pool as well which was safe enough for all the kids (all between 1-2 years). To sum it up it’s a nice resort with a lovely beach, greenery, peace & serenity, however if your idea of goa is crowd, noise, clubs, this is not your place & also in spite of things being between good to excellent it doesn’t gives you a five star feeling but definitely of a good four star.

Room Tip: One has to be very particular about choosing the room, for us in spite of choosing an expensive cate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,546 reviews
4.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
28.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,034 reviews
33.5 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
6.0 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravela Beach Resort

Property: Caravela Beach Resort
Address: | Varca Beach, Salcete, Varca 403721, India (Formerly Ramada Caravela Beach Resort)
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,940 - ₹ 24,677
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravela Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa’s first international beach resorts, The Caravela Beach Resort is located in South Goa on the serene, pristine white sands of Varca Beach overlooking the beautiful Arabian Sea. This luxurious 5-star deluxe resort sprawls across 24 acres of lush green landscape and offers 199 rooms - each with its own balcony overlooking either the ocean or manicured gardens and the swimming pool. The Suites and Villas are airy and lavish, and radiate a contemporary, elegant decor. The Presidential Villa is an exercise in extravagance, splendor and grandeur. It features a stunning space with a grand living room, two bedrooms and a private balcony overlooking the ocean, while the master bedroom features an outdoor rain shower and Jacuzzi. One can discern a strong presence of the old Goan architecture with Portuguese influences in the large open Atrium lobby, with its high arches and beams. The wide range of indoor, outdoor and beachfront restaurants and bars entice the guests with their distinctive culinary delicacies and exotic cocktails. The hotel has one of Goa’s largest free-form swimming pools, direct access to the soft white sand beach, its own 9 hole Par 3 golf course, an Ayurveda spa, a scenic jogging track and ocean front beach lawns, all of which make The Caravela Beach Resort a perfect destination for families and couples, and those seeking relaxation amidst the perfect Goan surroundings. With Goa’s ever-increasing popularity as a fun destination, conference and wedding venue, the resort promises to create some unique and memorable experiences. The poolside facing the inviting lush green lawns overlooking the scenic white sand beach and the elegant pillar-less banquet rooms offer an unmatched choice of locations. Besides, the flawless service and delectable cuisine at The Caravela Beach creates those perfect magical moments for a dream destination in Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing