We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caravela Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had a great time at Ramada Goa. Its a beautiful spread out property with almost every facility in the hotel. We went there with friends and did not require to step out of the hotel at all in the Five days that we stayed in the hotel. You name it and it is there: Super clean white-sand beach, Discotheque, Great food, comfortable stay, Hospitable team members, Lovely ambience, Beautiful Spa, Great swimming pool,.... We had a gala time playing tennis... It was fun strolling around at night in there beautifully landscaped gardens which boasted of Cashew trees, hammocks, etc.

Will love to go back to Ramada, every time, I am in GOA...

Room Tip: There newly renovated wing is superb especially the suite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwatiSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeCostaPereira, Front Office Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Ms. Sinha,
We thank you for sharing your great experience you had at the resort on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to have provided you & your friends with all facilities a resort could offer and a guest would desire. Your appreciation motivates us to achieve greater heights.

We are delighted to know that you would want to come back to the Ramada Caravela Beach Resort each time you visit Goa. It makes us feel very proud and assure you that each time you visit us we will make it more memorable!

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,917)
There are newer reviews for Caravela Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,536 - 1,540 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our second visit to the Ramada Caravela Beach Resort.
Very quiet this time as near end of Season; thought it would be busy around Easter.
Superb long stretch of beach - did not have to get up early to bag a sunbed on the beach before the rude Russians nabbed them all......sea a bit rough but to be expected as it is the Arabian Sea
Fantastic service especially at breakfast time - the staff are so attentive
Not worth opting for any more than Bed & Breakfast as the food is so cheap. Just try the restaurants outside the hotel in the evenings (The Viva was really good and so friendly) the others were closed unfortunately.
The beach shacks for lunch are a must - superb tasty food and Kingfisher at £1.00 for a large bottle
The Hotel ran theme nights down by the Sunset Bar adjacent to the beach when we stayed in Feb 2007, but again due to so few guests staying these were not on offer in April.

Ideal place for a real chill-out holiday. We had a free upgrade to a Superior Room - fantastic

Our cleaner surprised us each day with amazing towel sculptures:

A crocodile, dog, two different types of bird, a lizard

All the members of Staff are so polite and courteous and ensure that you have the best possible time at the Ramada

They don't fail

Exchange rate at the hotel is better than at the Airport (be warned about the Airport - hang on to your case and be prepared for long queues through immigration and even snaking outside the airport building)

The rep, Karen was fantastic. Really enthusiastic, informative and helpful

We will be back.....

Room Tip: Superior rooms overlook the pool and are in a great position Pure luxury
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GT1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeCostaPereira, Front Office Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that we were able to provide you with a Fantastic Holiday!

We are glad that we were able to upgrade your room on arrival and surprise you each day with the towel art. Thank you for highlighting the polite, courteous and the attentive nature of our associates who are always willing to go the extra mile & provide the best services to keep all our guests happy.

We appreciate your recommendations in terms of the room and the exchange rates for the benefit of the tripadvisor community.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

No words to describe how beautiful this place is. Best in hospitality, service, breakfast,lunch,dinner. You name it, you will get it. If I get another chance ,I will choose this!

http://www.caravelabeachresort.com/index.aspx

Room Tip: I got deluxe and it was worth it.!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeCostaPereira, Front Office Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It gives us immense pleasure and a great deal of satisfaction to know that we were able to provide you with the best experience of your life and we hope you give us many more opportunities in future to serve you & add to this experience.

Thank you for appreciating the hospitality, the food and the overall services.

We hope you have the opportunity to come back to the Ramada Caravela Beach Resort very soon and the entire team would be waiting to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Whoever wrote the review titled "A 5 Star resort with 2 star service" was bang on. We booked this hotel for a short 3 day visit to south Goa. We had provided our airline information to the hotel to arrange a pick up at the airport. We received no response, and when we arrived at the airport, we found a representative from the hotel, who wasn't able to locate our name on the list. She said she would call the hotel and find out, but instead quickly exited the situation and ran the other way. We then arranged for our own taxi, and went on our way. Along the way to the hotel we saw an empty BUS heading to the Ramada. This was a reflection of the level of service we received through out the trip. Below is a summary of our thoughts on the trip:

Facilities - this hotel has all of the facilities of a 5 star hotel and was generally quite clean and the grounds were well kept. The beach was very nice, and well maintained. While we went during the down season, we found that there were not enough beach chairs to accommodate a majority of the guests - so it may be difficult to find a chair if you go in peak season.

Room - We were upgraded to a better room, however the room appeared to be similar to the room we had booked, so it was unclear as to what the "upgrade" entailed.

Food - TERRIBLE! The food was priced at North American prices and was overall was really bad in terms of quality and quantity. It cost us roughly 3,500 INR each meal for 4 people...and that to for food that was not appetizing. The only food we would recommend is the chicken tikka. Moreover, given that this hotel is in South Goa, there are no alternatives for food near by.

Service - The worst. At the end of our stay we expressed our discontent to the manager and instead of listening to us, he began to dispute our comments. Also at checkout we found that some internet charges were placed on our account. These charges were not ours and instead he began tried to explain to us how the internet works, which was a tad insulting.

Transportation- The hotel did not help us secure transportation back to the airport. Instead they told us our only option was to spend 1,500 INR to get to the airport. The only concession was that they gave us a bigger car (Innova). You should note that the stated rate going from the airport to the hotel was 735 INR, while we were able to negotiate to 500 INR instead.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel. You could spend a lot less and get much more at another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiney_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeCostaPereira, Front Office Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We thank you for appreciating our facilities and regret the fact that we could not back it up with the same level of services & fallen short of your expectations.

Room – Our endeavor from the beginning was to delight you therefore we offered both your rooms two level upgrade to Deluxe rooms. Since the hotel was not completely sold out & we had the higher category rooms available; we offered it to you. The Deluxe rooms are renovated & updated rooms in comparison with the Standard & the Superior rooms and one could check the photographs and the description on our website.

Food – Our food & alcohol pricing is done after doing a survey of the other hotels in the same category. Our prices are either at Par or below the other hotels.

Service – The WIFI charges are posted as and when a guest logs in. In order to login to the WIFI; the reception has to generate a code which can happen only after the guests check-ins and the code can be used only with that particular room. And when the guests logs in, the charges get posted automatically to the room depending on the package they have selected. The disputed amount was removed but the idea was to understand why it happened in order to make sure the same thing does not happen in future with any other guest. We apologize if we have offended you in doing so.

Transportation – We received your email on the 3rd May @ 23:45 hrs; at this time our reservation office is closed and they responded to your email stating that your package did not include the transfers and seeking your permission to send the car with the price mentioned on it. We did not get a response from your end. The prices at the prepaid counter at the airport for the taxi to the hotel are Rs.850/- for AC cab and Rs.750/- Non AC cab. These cars are not in the best condition and if one just steps out of the airport and look for a decent taxi, it would cost you Rs.1200/-. Once again the taxi rates have been arrived at, after a competitive analysis of other hotels. The rates vary in the night as night charges are applicable and hence you found the arte to be on the higher side.

We regret that you left the hotel dissatisfied and we would request you to give us another opportunity to serve you & redeem ourselves. You will see that we indeed care that every guest leaves our resort with pleasant memories; only to be back with us!

Please feel free to contact me directly for any future assistance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here during Feb 2011, we were for our honeymoon...
Its a very beautiful property, beach, pools, rooms everything is really good...
The only problem we faced was cooling in our room due to which we had to change the room thrice but finally Joe got that problem solved for us..
The Buffet is fantastic & specially the candle light dinner near the pool.
The staff is really kind & helpful & do an excellent job every day...
The beach is really clean & not like other local beaches in Goa which are really dirty..
Planning to re-visit in July end....

Room Tip: Go for a pool facing room!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivyaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeCostaPereira, Front Office Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience on the Tripadvisor.

We thank you for choosing our resort to celebrate the most important occasion in your life – Honeymoon!

We are delighted to receive such comments about our associates and the overall product.

We regret the difficulty caused to you due to a technical fault in the AC but we are glad we were able to find a solution that suited you and sincerely appreciate your understanding towards the situation.

We look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us in July’12.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
4.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,559 reviews
27.0 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,292 reviews
33.5 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
3.9 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravela Beach Resort

Address: | Varca Beach, Salcete, Varca 403721, India (Formerly Ramada Caravela Beach Resort)
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varca
Price Range: ₹ 6,043 - ₹ 25,585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravela Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa’s first international beach resorts, The Caravela Beach Resort is located in South Goa on the serene, pristine white sands of Varca Beach overlooking the beautiful Arabian Sea. This luxurious 5-star deluxe resort sprawls across 24 acres of lush green landscape and offers 199 rooms - each with its own balcony overlooking either the ocean or manicured gardens and the swimming pool. The Suites and Villas are airy and lavish, and radiate a contemporary, elegant decor. The Presidential Villa is an exercise in extravagance, splendor and grandeur. It features a stunning space with a grand living room, two bedrooms and a private balcony overlooking the ocean, while the master bedroom features an outdoor rain shower and Jacuzzi. One can discern a strong presence of the old Goan architecture with Portuguese influences in the large open Atrium lobby, with its high arches and beams. The wide range of indoor, outdoor and beachfront restaurants and bars entice the guests with their distinctive culinary delicacies and exotic cocktails. The hotel has one of Goa’s largest free-form swimming pools, direct access to the soft white sand beach, its own 9 hole Par 3 golf course, an Ayurveda spa, a scenic jogging track and ocean front beach lawns, all of which make The Caravela Beach Resort a perfect destination for families and couples, and those seeking relaxation amidst the perfect Goan surroundings. With Goa’s ever-increasing popularity as a fun destination, conference and wedding venue, the resort promises to create some unique and memorable experiences. The poolside facing the inviting lush green lawns overlooking the scenic white sand beach and the elegant pillar-less banquet rooms offer an unmatched choice of locations. Besides, the flawless service and delectable cuisine at The Caravela Beach creates those perfect magical moments for a dream destination in Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing