We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Martino in Freddana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mariangel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have had a wonderful holiday in this comfortable and beautiful house. The views are magnificent and the garden illuminations are superb. We have frequently felt that we were on a film location - and this is before a glass of wine! Lovely food from Donatella and Sonia, very friendly and welcoming. We have enjoyed the barbecue and the outside living, a perfect holiday experience.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas L
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and friends enjoyed a very pleasant stay at La Pianella Farm Villa and it was beyond our expectations. The newly renovated Villa was immaculate with a well-stocked kitchen and beautiful views looking out from every window. The salt water pool was very refreshing and was surrounded by olive trees that were lit in the evening. Deserving of special attention however is the cook Donatella Pizzi. She is definitely an asset to the Villa. She is available upon request and will email menus if you would like to choose your meals before your visit. We had hired her to cook the night we arrived and the night before we left but her cooking was so delicious that we hired her for two more nights and would have hired her every night if we had not made prior committments. She is very cheerful and endearing and her daughter Sonia decorated the tables with flowers before every meal whether we ate al fresco by the pool or in the dining room. One evening she made seven different pizzas for us and they all were very tasty. Campari and wine and dessert accompanies dinner. I encourage anyone renting the Villa to experience at least one of Donatella's culinary delights. It was a wonderful week in Tuscany.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carm18426
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week with my husband and friends at La .Pianella Villa. Beautifully restored and immaculately clean. Pictures don't do it justice. Every amenity is thought of - fully stocked kitchen, WIFI, and TV. There are beautiful views from every window.

The salt water pool is surrounded by olive trees which are lit at dusk. Very unique. It is very peaceful and ideallic. The owner lives nearby and was in residence when we were threre. She kindly checked on us from time to time in case we needed anything.

Day trips to Lucca, wineries, Cinque Terre, and beaches are possible and we took advantage of all of them. You must either have a car or hire a driver.
.
The only caveat is the road leading to the Villa which is steep and winding.. We had a 9 person manual vehical which was a precipitious drive especially on the assent. If there are 7 or 8 people in your group I would suggest two smaller cars with automatic transmission if possible.

La Pianella is a lovely Villa however and exceeded my expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Villa and the beauty of the area.
Liked least: The road leading up to the Villa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation and took advantage of many of the attractions in the area, there really is so much to offer. Thank you for your review, I am sure it will be useful for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No20
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have recently returned from a fabulous week at La Pianella farmhouse. Our initial trepidation at the narrow steep road to the house was quickly replaced by amazement at the house, grounds and views. The farmhouse had everything and more that we needed and catered excellently for our party of 4 couples, especially as each room had lovely views and a private bathroom. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished to a high quality and it has a lovely salt water pool. There is a very well stocked supermarket in the village which was very handy. It was lovely to meet the owners and their friends whilst we were there and they helped make our stay a memorable one. Mary Ann showed us around the larger villa which is also very well furnished and is ideal for a large gathering. Valeria, Enzo and Donatella, the property managers were very welcoming and made us feel comfortable and at home and were available if we needed anything. The property is ideal for visiting Lucca and the coast which are a short car journey away. It was easy to take the train from Lucca to Pisa and Florence and to venture further afield into the heart of Tuscany by car. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay as it ticked all the boxes and more. We would have no hesitation in recommending the villa to anyone. It is a truly wonderful place- thanks! Alison, Steve, Judith, Simon, Kerry, Steven, Karen and John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing