We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape To The Country”
Review of Ghost Hill Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ghost Hill Road
Ranked #1 of 3 Bilpin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2016

My wife and I have just returned from an enjoyable two night mid-week escape at the Ghost Hill Road Retreat in Bilpin.

There are 3 different self-contained cabins to choose from. We stayed in The 'New Moon' Cottage, which, due to its location, is probably the most private and secluded.

If 'bird song' is the only sound you want to hear, then this is definitely the place for you!

Eventhough we were only there for two nights, we had a totally relaxing and de-stressing experience, due to the peace and tranquility.

A nice touch provided by thoughtful hosts Marisa and Greg, is the supply of full breakfast provisions, including bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, bread, milk, butter, juice and other staples. (included in the price)

There is a full kitchen containing all necessary crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils.
A coffee machine is provided, together with some coffee pods. There was also an assortment of teas.

The 'New Moon Cottage' has a charming, rustic exterior but contains all the modern conveniences inside.

There is a great log fire with plenty of dry wood, kindling, paper, fire starters and matches.

Our clean and tidy cabin included a romantic and relaxing two person spa bath, air conditioning, a very comfortable bed with electric blankets, dining table and chairs and a generous sized comfortable lounge suite.

There is a good size flat screen TV with Blu-ray player and sound system.
There are even some movies and CDs provided.

There are two bar fridges, one containing your breakfast provisions. We used the other empty one for some beer, wine and bottle water.

There's even a gas bbq on the front timber deck, a timber table and chair setting for four and two deck chairs.

There are lovely private bush views to be had from all windows, where we enjoyed watching a variety of bird life.

The property is set on 20 acres and includes a sign-posted bush trail walk, which is like being in Jurassic Park. (Only without the Dinosaurs!)

In conclusion, The 'New Moon Cottage' is a very cosy, comfortable and relaxing cabin, one which we certainly didn't want to leave.

Thank you Marisa and Greg for an enjoyable stay at your property.

Regards John and Debbie.

Room Tip: The 'New Moon Cottage' is probably more secluded and private than the other two available ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2016

Loved this cabin style accommodation for our weekend away on my first Mother's Day with our little babe.
The owners are super friendly, warm and welcoming.
We loved the little touches like the open fire (stocked with wood for us to enjoy both nights) the locally made cumquat dessert wine and the breakfast food in the fridge to cook up!
It was private, warm and cosy and we loved the location.
Thank you for a beautiful weekend, it was a great way to spend my first mother's day and we definitely wish we had booked for three nights instead of two!
We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CozSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We have just returned from a weekend at this idyllic mountain retreat. I love staying on this side of the mountains which is less touristy and built up, but every bit as beautiful, surrounded by peaceful bush and wonderful bird life. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the relatively new owners, Marissa and Greg, have thought of everything you might need for a comfortable stay. On arrival, we were greeted with biscuits and cheese and cider and a generous breakfast hamper, and the kitchen and pantry were thoughtfully stocked so we could stay put and just unwind. It was impossible not to relax with a lovely big spa bath looking out over the bush,comfy lounge chairs to sit on the verandah and read, and in the cool of the evening a romantic fire with a good supply of firewood. We'll definitely be back and maybe next time I'll try out the massage on offer!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank juliegZ265KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

A hop skip and a jump (1.5hours) from the craziness of Sydney is this peaceful mountain oasis.
Fresh air, beaut smiles and some furry 4 legged creatures make your acquaintance when you arrive at Ghost Hill Road.

Brenda is an accommodating host, nothing is ever too much bother. It's nice to go away and not to have to think of anything.
And that's definitely part of its charm, the little details like cheese platters, wine, fresh produce all awaiting your arrival. All you really have to do is turn up and wind down.

Winding down is easier than you think. A toasty warm combustion fire with an endless supply of wood to burn and snuggle up in front of. A spa bath for two perhaps? Bubbles and candles supplied. It's all been thought of.

Alternatively, a massage would be in order as well? Brenda has that taken care of and is on offer in the main residence, peaceful, present and ambient.

Three cottages spread over the beautiful countryside are picturesque and plentiful. From bathrobes, comforts for relaxing, DVDs, magazines leave it up to you as to how much or how little goes on.

There are fantastic local attractions to enjoy including the Blue Mountains Botanic Gardens at Mount Tomah, indulging in a little tipple at the Apple Bar in Bilpin or taking home a fresh made apple pie from the local producers; you will, (like we did) really benefit from a few days away from suburbia and getting back to basics.

Bliss.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmel2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Fantastic experience with lovely personal service.
From get get go communication was excellent, friendly and personal.
The cabin was beautiful and fully stocked to make the stay a pleasant one.
Breakfast, dinner, condiments.
Cheese platter with fruit on arrival, music playing lights on.
Videos to watch on a flat screen TV.
Fireplace was cosy and there is also air-conditioning.
We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ghost Hill Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghost Hill Road

Address: 73 Ghost Hill Rd, Bilpin, New South Wales 2758, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bilpin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bilpin
Price Range: ₹ 13,986 - ₹ 16,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the magic of the Blue Mountains, just a 90 minute drive from Sydney to Bilpin, is the stunning 20 acre property, Ghost Hill Road. It is the perfect holiday escape to luxury mountain cottages for: a romantic getaway, a secluded B&B to simply chill or explore world famous surrounds. Fun getaway with friends amid rolling landscapes, eucalypt forest and stunning vistas are luxurious self-contained cottages, all designed for contemporary, tranquil comfort. Log fires, double spa baths, king or twin suites, luxury linen, and robes. Fully equipped kitchen. Breakfast provisions with bacon, free-range eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes. BBQ dinner hampers are an optional extra on request. Accommodation at Ghost Hill Road is elegant, romantic and simply conducive to relaxing in style TV, DVD, CD's, IPod connection. Scenic walks through 20 acres of natural bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ghost Hill Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing