We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
49
63
32
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
63
32
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall hotel smari the bus business park great hotel tgi fridays room was clean pizza hut minute walk business district hotel nights pleasant stay porridge rented a car northern lights tour exploring iceland quiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Had a great time everything was well kept very clean. The concierge and receptionist were the most helpful and at hand to organise events and trips or give travel advice, in a very nice suburban nice area with amenities such as the largest shopping mall a stone throw away great breakfast and beautiful wide aspect windows. In a nutshell had an amazing time here.

Room Tip: If leaving early ask for a breakfast bag to go
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Reception at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Amin,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I stayed for five nights at Hotel Smari, and I found it an excellent place. OK, it's not a luxury hotel and the setting isn't scenic, but they get the basics right - clean, comfortable, good breakfast and excellent, friendly service from all the staff. After I'd checked out and was waiting for my airport transfer, they brought me free coffee and pastries. If you're just looking for B&B and a good base to explore Reykjavik and the surrounding area, you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Front desk at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Nicholas,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The hotel is only okay. Near a pretty busy highway. Do not buy the beer from the desk! It was $10 a beer which the desk attendant said was Iceland's fault, but if you can get to a grocery store, beer is cheaper than the US-about $1/beer.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Reception at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Bersy,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

As you may have found out when searching for a place to stay in Reyjkavik, most accommodations in the city center have shared bathrooms for guests and breakfast is optional. So if you're the type who prefers to have your own bathroom and breakfast included, then the Smari is for you. There's just one catch: it's about 20-30 mins. by bus from the city center, not counting the waiting time. On the other hand, it's a 5-minute walk to the Smariland mall.

The hotel itself is clean, comfortable, with a delightful staff who helped and advised me with my requests and questions. The room I got had just the right size, good bed and pillows, TV, complimentary coffee maker, liquid bath soap but there was no mini-bar, no in-room safe or other toiletries. The shower puts out naturally heated water (it's Iceland after all), the breakfast buffet was average and repetitive and the complimentary wifi is reasonably fast.

When you book local tours online, be aware that Smari is often not in the list of hotels that tour buses collect/drop off guests. So as not to worry about catching the tour somewhere else, consider Gray Line (it's a reputable company anyway).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Front desk at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Bobpal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do value comments such as yours as we always seek ways to improve our rooms and service. We have already taken steps to improve our guests experiences and we are looking forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Great hotel, but a little on the outskirts. Love the breakfast everyday. A cab will cost around $25-30 each way into downtown. I took the bus and it was $ 8.00 roundtrip and takes 20 min. Great staff, they sell the bus tickets at reception. Also, most of my tours picked me up as well.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Front desk at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Kai L,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Oi Yan
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews