We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
431
303
109
38
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
303
109
38
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel free wifi cup of coffee pool area the kitchen spa locals conference hangers waiter pity
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed in January and was due for spine intervention at a close clinic.
Due to very bad weather ferry was cancelled and all flights were full.
I was not given refund on rooms because I only cancelled the day before - as if it was out of choice!
Even if they were entitled to do so it is completely unprofessional and will certainly not recommend because of attitude....

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank tbc456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenza C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Villa Itria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Sir,

We cannot answer to a comment like you did because we don't have any data to verify and certify that you have been one of our customer.
By the way all resevations booked through websites, OTA, with not refundable or restrective rates have per policy 100% cancellation fees.
By the way if you provides your fullname, date of reservation, we will able to trace your booking and find out all concern.
We looking forward to hear from you soon, we remain at your disposal for any further questions.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a very disappointing stay at the hotel in April 2018. I would advise anyone to avoid this hotel as customer service is virtually non-existent. If I could award 'no stars' I would have done as customer service should surely be at the heart of anyone's holiday experience.

On arrival we found the outdoor pool was closed. This was not conveyed in advertising. When we queried this at reception we received no empathy, just an abrupt reply that it was not the season. We asked about the indoor pool and were told that we must pay 10 euro per person per hour for this! This is not made clear on the hotel website, but with a huge degree of arrogance the staff insisted this was the case.

The hotel is not four star in terms of service. The advertised tours desk did not have information during our stay - a leaflet was thrust at us but no additional information was available. In our room we did not have an information folder as you would expect. No information on local attractions, travel etc

The hotel boasted two restaurants in promotional material. It actually had one. The food was nice but it was expensive. The wine cost more than twice any other glass of wine we had all week!

Breakfast was unorganised with key items and cups frequently unavailable. Requests to staff would be ignored. It's a shame as the breakfast was nice when it was there, but not topping up orange juice and pointing at the pineapple isn't much help if you an allergy to it!

Walls to our room were paper thin, to the extent you could hear a coin drop in the room above. There was no comfortable seating in the room, particularly as the sun loungers so prevalent on the website were non existent in reality. The room therefore looked nice, but was impractical. Maintenance took place most days outside meaning we were subject led to the smell of paint and noise of slabs being laid.

Our visit and its challenges could be summed up quickly in two ways.

Firstly we left early and paid to stay in another hotel by the final night as we felt uncomfortable. Staff had stopped speaking to us or smiling, just because we dated to question why things were not included that should have been.

Secondly on leaving, the particularly rise and arrogant receptionist told us we were leaving early as if we were stupid, rather than asking why we chose to do this!

I would also warn the location is challenging for anything other than visiting Etna unless you have a car or are on an organised trip. Buses are very sporadic and don't operate on Sunday's and holidays. Very little was open on the town making it difficult to eat.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank daveg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenza C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Villa Itria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Sirs,

We do appreciate all comments and review recived from our guests.
Negative and positive notes/comments with help us to improve guest satisfactions.
Unfortunately your travel agent did not inform you about the official and contracted swimming pool seasonal open time, and this was ones of your concern, morover you complain abouts two meals includes in your packages because no ones informed you abouts the use of its,
for this reason we tried to apologize while giving you special discount on extras meals.
We have been monitored on daily basis the staff at reception and outlets and no ones act with unprofessional behavior.
We do apologize again if you did not feel confortable during your journey in sicily and for this reason we are really disappointed.
We will continue to follow guest comments, to improve every day the service and hospitality.
Looking forwards to see you again, we remain at your disposal for any further questions.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We had to exchange our oddly inconvenient 2-level room for a one-level one, which was spacious and nice. However, loud construction outside our windows carried on till after dark. The hotel itself seems entirely organized for large groups, which come and go by bus. Among the choices near the airport, worth considering if charm isn't the object. There is a spa with nice massages, facials, etc.

Room Tip: ask for a room on one level!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

The rooms were spacious and even the bathroom was nice.
The swimming pool is very expensive and not included in the price. 13€ per person.
The restaurant is very nice.
The meals are good but the breakfast was basic as there were other people in the main restaurant were the breakfast is more complete.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bernardomolins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Booked for a relaxing break to use outdoor pool and spa through Travel Zoo as well as plans to see Mount Etna.
Outdoor pool empty/ closed - will not be open we were told for another two months.
Indoor pool/spa - €10 Euro hour charge - not what it says on their own website. We weren't even allowed to look - guest privacy! Which was laughable given our room opened out onto the pool roof and I could see and hear Italian families and their kids - Presume they do not pay €10 Euros an hour each.
No where to sit out comfortably in the 'gardens', lots of painting and repair work going on made it noisy to stay on site and rest even in the room, both advertised restaurants full of private bookings and parties most nights.
Small restaraunt we were sat in nice and food excellent but expensive -€17 for two glasses of wine.
Via Grande 'few km from Catania - mm 12 so hour on bus from Catania or €40 taxi. Almost nothing there - difficult to find anywhere to eat almost everything closed or only serving limited menu whatever time we went out to eat.
Caters well for tour groups and local events - lucky for us group from Sage and rep complained about breakfast - hardly anything left one day before 9am, cold egg and bacon. Improved slightly but certainly not 4* service or offer. Unless you speak fluent Italian and plan to hire a car and use this as a base out of the city - book somewhere else. Most staff don't speak English and some were just plain rude.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kjw2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenza C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Itria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Good morning,
we regret that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Regarding your review we would like to inform you that in all our hotel info and all web sites of booking portal, are well indicated the opening time or limitation for the use of the outdoor pool and the spa facilities and services.

The outdoor swimming pool in open on season, from 21 june to 21 september, while the entrance to the wellness area and SPA is not included in all room rates.

If you may check our web site, you may find special packages with the use of SPA or wellness services and treatments.

We do not categorize customers by nationality and for all hotel guest prices are:
- Indoor pool entrance: € 10,00 (1 hour)
- Entry to the wellness path: € 20,00 (2 hours)
While for the walkin guest that use our SPA service without room prices are:
- Indoor pool entrance: € 12,00 (1 hour)
- Entry to the wellness path: € 30,00 (2 hours)

Any how we do apologize for the inconvenient and we would like to see you again to let feel a different experience.

Looking forward to see you soon, we remain at your kind disposal.

Grand Hotel Villa Itria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews