We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent View, food to your order, good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Udechee Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Udechee Huts
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent View, food to your order, good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The stay at Udechee huts was great when we visited in April-2011. We took 2 cottages on ground and first floor. The rooms were good, big bathroom though I found few lizards in bathroom but that is OK for India - acceptable. The bed was clean and the private garden on ground floor was excellent. You can order room service so we had a good session with drinks and lots fo starter from kitchen. We also took a trek to temple which was around 8km each way. The hotel is run by a old couple and are very helpfull.

Room Tip: Between all oter hotels I saw at Nadi (5 km from Mcloedgunj) this is probably the best choice. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    76
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We went in 2011 year end looking for a relaxed stay in Dharamshala, and Udechee Huts was the best choice we could have done. The view from the room is simply incredible, room service is very good and staff is very polite too. Infact, the overall prices are reasonable. The place is very peaceful, however it is a little far from active town. The place is very neat and well maintained. Would definitley recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, not much difference between semi deluxe or Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dushyant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

If you are looking for a nice, clean and memorable stay in McLeod Ganj/Dharamsala, then this is the place for you. We stayed for a couple of nights and had an overall good experience. The staff is very friendly and the place is nicely maintained. It has an amazing common sitting place with excellent view, personally my favorite viewpoint. The food is reasonably priced and had a homely cooking touch. Do keep in mind that this place is several kms uphill from McLeodganj city center! But I guess if you want something near the hustle bustle of the city this is anyways not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lipi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The setting of Udechee Huts is absolutely amazing, never had a better view directly from my bed! A green, peaceful valley below, the imposing mountains of the Dhauladhar Range rising up in front ... loved every morning ... in particular when the sun was warm enough to have breakfast on the terrasse.

Staff is courteous and helpful, and the owners are very kind and friendly.

There is room for improvement, however, as unfortunately the beds are indeed very uncomfortable, and the quality of food served at the restaurant is a bit unstable (some days really delicious, others only average). There is Internet, but only via the hotels slightly worn computer and only on demand. Also, it would be nice to be informed in advance that one actually has to pay for Internet access.

With better beds, more consistent food quality and free Wifi, this place could really be top. We plan to be back and hope for improvement!

Note: this is a quiet place away from the bustling McLeog Ganj, so factor in a daily 30 min walk or a 10 min auto tuktuk ride to get there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amouage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Udechee huts will always be a special place to us since we went there for our honeymoon! This was way back in April 2007, but the place has left such a great impression that I had to review it even if it has been a while since our holiday there. We wanted a nice and quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of McLeod Ganj. We could not have found a better place. Initially we were shown into a super deluxe room just above the reception, but when we told them that we had booked a cottage for the duration of the stay, the error was corrected immediately. The cottages are beautiful, each one built to make the most of the views of the spectacular Dhauladhar range. The peace, quiet and solitude of this place leaves you relaxed and destressed. We spent many days just soaking in the views and rural feel of this wonderful place. The food served here was homely and we always looked forward to our breakfast on the terrace. Wonderful coffee with hot Aloo Parathas in the cool climes was a treat! Mr. Abhai Singh and his wife were very helpful indeed. They would tell us which places to visit, even planning long walking routes for us to make the most of our visit. They also booked taxi's for us which took us sightseeing. The pick up and drop off service was really handy since we were coming from Mumbai. We were picked up and dropped off to Pathankot airport perfectly in time.
The rooms are basic but comfortably furnished. The toilets and bathrooms were clean and functional. This is not the place to stay in if you are expecting 5 star accomodation. The service too was great and all our needs were catered to.
If you want to get away from the maddening crowds of the city and want to really unwind, then this is the place to stay in. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose to stay in the cottages to enjoy the amazing views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globeandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
2.2 km away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.6 km away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
7.5 km away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 69 in Dharamsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#9 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.4 km away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.3 km away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#17 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udechee Huts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udechee Huts

Property: Udechee Huts
Address: | Village. Naddi PO Dal Lake, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176216, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,313 - ₹ 5,075
Hotel Class:2 star — Udechee Huts 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Udechee Huts is nested on a hillock facing the Dhaualadhar snow glacier. There are numerous interesting picnic spots, trekking routes and delightful walks. It is approximately 5 km from the township of Mcleodganj and about 15 km from Dharamshala town. Horse riding trips can be arranged. Approximate height 7000 ft. trekking to the lakes, ranges and passes in Dhaualadhar and western Himalayas up to Manali, Leh, Chamba and Bharmour is an added attraction to the tourists who live the nature in proximity. Special arrangements for trekkers to Triund, Llaqua and Inderhara Passes and some of the beautiful lakes therein. Cottages: You live in independent cottage built in traditional hill style. The cottages consist of a double bedroom with attached western style bathroom and a veranda. The rooms are wall to wall carpeted, cosy and clean, room service, intercom service, hot and cold water, doctor on call. Cuisine :- Serves Indian, Chinese & Continental Food. 24 hr room service Hot and cold water EPABX WITH STD and ISD Travel Desk A well-furnished restaurant with an excellent view Doctor on call Parking facilities Children's playground Sightseeing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Udechee Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udechee Huts Hotel Mcleod Ganj
Udechee Huts Dharamsala
Udechee Huts Hotel Dharamsala
Udechee Huts McLeod Ganj, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing