We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice view, average hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here for one night in Mid April 2012, the hotel is around half a mile down on Jogiwara Road, from Main square. The hotel lobby was clean and so was the room on the ground floor where we stayed. The view of the snow mountains was great from the room and the roof top and that's the USP of this hotel. Cafe Arabica has been out of existence for long it seems.

The hotel had so many positive reviews and pics so I was hoping it to be buzzing with people and energy, but it looked very stranded. We saw the room one day in advance and paid 200 rs advance and decided to check in the next day.

The manager (who pretended to be the owner) was a dark kashmiri Indian with curly hair and really funny accent. He could barely speak english but tried to mimic all the countries' accents :)

I tried hard to keep myself from giggling while in front of him. But he was a nice chap, helpful in giving directions and advice.

Rooms were clean with clean toilets and running hot water. Linen was changed regularly so that's nice.

The only problem was with the guys smoking Pot as mentioned in one of the earlier reviews. Although its pretty much every where in McL, but seeing the pics of the hotel and its own website, almost convinced me I will find a lot of dopers here. But the one's I could find smoking a joint were the Manager and his helper, puffing the magic dragon, right below the NO SMOKING sign :)

No tea coffee that i could see. Water filter wasn't working either. Manager suggested to get it filled from any busy restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing the road as the bikes and cars will keep honking and disturb your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vinay846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel manager is very hospitable and helpful. My stay was very comfortable. They have all amenities very close by, just ask. The location is great, very central. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DS2012again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

really good size airy, light rooms most with balcony's and with private bathroom. Clean and good value with really lovely staff. Good location as its just five minutes walk from the main square but out of the crazy noisy traffic. It also has an empty roof top terrace which really nice to sit in peace in the sunshine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmakulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The rooms were extremely dusty. Woke up every mornng stuffed. In the evenings the place was really boring as the owners and their friends smokes copious amount of pot in the commune area.
So, if you don't want to smell of pot pot, there was no where to go besides your room.
Boring and dusty

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Salmoriaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My stay at Hotel Akash was so delightful that I extended my time in McLeod Ganj by an extra month!

I felt completely taken care of by the manager Moona, which was a relief because I spent my first month doing a very rigorous yoga teacher training course at Universal Yoga nearby. Moona takes a genuine interest in his guests, which is something I have not experienced to the same extent elsewhere in my travels of the subcontinent. He always made sure I had chai to drink when I was studying and encouraged me use the rooftop of the hotel to practice my yoga. In fact, the friendly and caring staff cultivate a real sense of community and you really do feel like you are part of the family. As a solo traveller I couldn't have felt more welcomed :)

My room was clean, bright, spacious and comfortable, with sublime views of the Himalayas. The common area is cosy and inviting and a lovely place to chat with other travelers. Oh, and a little tip....McLeod Ganj is a very noisy little town, especially in the evenings with jam sessions and barking dogs. Akash is situated just far enough away from centre of town so that your sleep won't be disturbed by the racket ;)

Room Tip: • You can refill your water bottle with filtered water for 5 rupees per litre. Not every guest house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
2.9 km away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
263 reviews
0 km away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
715 reviews
3.4 km away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
188 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#4 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
231 reviews
0.4 km away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#6 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest

Address: Jogiwara Rd, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Hotel Akash )
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: ₹ 1,547 - ₹ 6,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy People, a cozy place and ahomelike atmosphere!All you need for a perfect andmemorable stay, you will find it here,at our little place with a big heart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra and Hotels.com so you can book your OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest McLeod Ganj, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing