We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$ 27
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$ 24
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$ 24
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$ 24
TripadvisorUS$ 24
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
87
98
29
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
98
29
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

Lovely hotel very near the main square with views at the rear down the valley and up to mountains. Worth requesting. Ate here for breakfasts and one evening and food is excellent. Room clean although sheet was a bit threadbare but the staff are incredibly kind and smiling. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Moira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

We had booked Green Hotel after looking at a host of other properties. And we were not disappointed. I called in early in the day and spoke to Diki ( the lady who owns& runs the show here), informing her that we would check in late. I also informed her that I was travelling with my Mom.We reached in at 9 pm and were pleasantly surprised to see Diki welcome.Very thoughtfully she had allocated us ground floor rooms, so thatmy Mom didnot have to climb stairs.
The rooms were as they were described with great views.
We decided to have breakfast at the cafe at Hotel Green the next day. They serve a very good Farmers Breakfast & Tomato Omelette. And wonderful Darjeeling Tea. The prices are reasonable. Breakfast for a family of 4 will cost in th e range Rs 600- 750
We asked for doormats- which was promptly give.There is no room service. There is a water refill station at the entrance of the cafe, so fill your water bottles before retiring for the night.The cafe is teeming with foreigners and has a nice seating arrangement inside and outside as well. We preferred the outside- the weather was pleasant
We were happy that we chose to stay here. Recommended for family/backpackers/solo as well

Date of stay: April 2019
3  Thank Gautam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2019

and it wasnt somewhere we easily fell in love with, but we did warm to the hotel. We were travelling in India only for three weeks and didnt have a working phone so relied on online booking and emails to book ahead. Being the low season everywhere had been pretty empty so we werent concerned that we didnt hear back from the Green Hotel when we completed an online booking form as well as sending them an email the day before we arrived. When we did arrive they had no reservation for us and were uncommital as to whether they had seen our email or online form. The two women who manage the hotel turned out to be completely lovely, with nothing too much trouble - but they did come across a bit brusque when we pitched up. One room left, downstairs, large and pretty clean it looked over a scrap of grass inbetween what is the original hotel and one of the newer bits (basically we were below the cafe). The shower control came off in my hand - missing the pin that keeps it in place (probably still does?), and it was abit musty (no window in the bathroom), but it was a bed and after a long bus journey we were grateful. We were shown an alternative room that looked over the valley but it was in an older part of the hotel and not as nice - also the 'view' was severly compromised by the acres of concrete roofs and water tanks you have to look over first - and pesky monkeys. Construction is long since out of control in the town and though it must have been a pretty place at one time, you have to dig deep to find the charm in McLeodganj these days. Also sometimes it takes a while to settle in.
Anyway, next day a room came free on the second floor slightly to the left of the cafe and we moved having negotiated very hard on the price. Clearly an upgrade - exceptionally comfortable bed, lovely white sheets - very clean, lovely bathroom, (everywhere we went this time had individual hot water geysers so that was never a problem) and a balcony that still looked over the roofscape of other hotels but was high enough to give a longer view over the valley - chairs to sit out and enjoy it. Still had pesky monkeys but otherwise excellent.
We ate breakfast in the hotel twice and dinner once and each time the food was really excellent - and well priced. The cafe and the outside balcony (no longer with a view as another bit of the hotel has been built up in front of it) are both very convivial to sit in. (We did struggle elsewhere to get quality Tibetan food which was what we were especially looking for). The two women managers were always very helpful, ringing ahead to our next hotel for instance and ordering us a taxi to the bus stand down in Dharamsala the morning we left. (Best line every heard from a taxi driver as an excuse for a scandolous price - 'its morning' ???).
Highly recommend staying at this hotel. Review a range of rooms, check the shower control, assess how busy it is in terms of what price you pay (no different from any other approach to a hotel). The location is excellent as well.
PS - good wifi too, both in the bedrooms and the cafe (different passwords).

Room tip: Dont go with the one they have booked for you (if you book in advance), check out a few.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2019

I stayed in a top floor room with wonderful views down the valley and of the sun rising over the mountains. The staff were friendly, hard working and eager to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and functional and the heater was essential in February.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hedfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff at the counter and in the restaurant.beautiful sitting on comfy sofas and trendy interior ambient.excellent cuisine.highly recommended to visit this place.variety of international tasty dishes.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank kamakasturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews