We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time to bogmalo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bogmallo Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bogmalo
Reviewed 10 February 2007

Was at this resort about 4 years ago ,and after seing the reviews on this site i am so pleased the hotel ,and the lovely beach shacks ,have remained the same excellent standard ,so we will be there jan 2008 ,and cheers for recommending the deluxe rooms ,these were just all being refurbished the last time i was there. you must do the Delhi Dharbar Indian restaraunt in panjim ,fantastic ,and so cheap. Much prefer the beach shacks of an evening to eat out ,couldnt believe the poor guy stood over the tandoor at Johns place on the beach all night cooking beautiful fresh prawns ,lobsters ,fish etc,and 5 mins from the hotel,not far of an evening after a few very welcome G&Ts. Maybe see you next year . Ray & Steve

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank zakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 854 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2007

I have just returned from Goa on Sunday 4th Feb 2007, having stayed all inclusive at the Bogmallo Beach Hotel in South Goa with my wife & friends. I have been very impressed by it all. The accomodation was very good, staff always on hand, food was of a good standard and the hotel was direct onto the beach. The weather was excellent 30c to 34c during our stay, we hired the same taxi for our duration as we were impressed by the driver, as the standard in India is something unreal. The trips organised by the tour Co were very good and the guides were very easy to listen to during the respective trips.
We do intend to return at a later date for another visit as there was plenty to see & do. There are some eating places outside the resort, the Sea Quisine Restaurant (a Tai style food) and Joey's Restaurant both were very good quality food. Also the Saturday night market at Ingus is really worth a visit. The shopping at Panajim is also worth a visit (lots of good quality bargains brand names)Excellent shopping if you get a driver like we had (he transported all the shopping to the car whilst we carried on shopping)

14  Thank Auldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2007

We've just come back from 2 weeks at the Bogmalo Beach Resort, over Christmas/New Year 06/07 - booked online via First Choice after reading the reviews on trip advisor and all the reviews were really accurate. We had a fabulous time and did not want to come home, will definitely return some day soon.

Bogmalo is a smaller resort - unless you want a very lively atmosphere with lots of bars, it's a great place to relax and use as a base to see Goa. The beach is lovely, very clean and well managed by all the locals, it's a good size so you can have a few wanders up & down to work off all the lovely food and watch the kits flying around above you and the hermit crabs scrabbling around.
The hotel is not 5 star, more like a 3 star plus but having said that, it is really nice - really clean, staff are great, everything worked all bar the power cuts which only lasted for a minute or two. We had a Deluxe room on the 5th floor and from what other people said, this is worth the upgrade as other rooms are more basic and lower floors would have the amazing view restricted by the palms.
Having a TV with lots of channels was great as we were able to keep up with the Ashes and if you like cricket, you'll live Indian tv as there's some sort of cricket on all the time, plus cricket chat shows, cricket sitcoms etc, highly amusing.
You get towels for the pool/beach which was good but they don't cover the whole of the pad on the lounger so a few people had brought small towels with them to cover the whole pad - seemed a bit on the organised front until the first time you lean back against the BLACK pad and singe your skin ! So if we went again I would take a towel as the pads get incredibly hot !

Breakfast is ok, the omelettes are great, somewhat of a limited choice but has fruit, yoghurt, toast, pastries, eggs etc so all the things you want. One great thing about holidaying in Goa is that you get a great cup of tea instead of that dreadful Liptons stuff they seem to serve everywhere else outside the UK!

We did Half Board which was a total waste of money - the hotel restaurant does not have any atmosphere and the buffet is pretty much the same every night so I would not recommend Half Board or All Inclusive as the local restaurants are very good and extremely cheap - we really liked Joets where the food and the service is great, Johns Seagull is good but the service is a bit hit & miss, same for Full Moon. Coconut Grove in the hotel is worth it - more expensive than the village but not much and the quality of the food is great.
All the food is incredibly cheap, it's only wine that's "expensive" e.g. £2+ per glass or £10+ per bottle.
Tipping - we were recommended to tip a couple of hundred at the start and end of the holiday so we left some rupees for the maid and tipped all the pool waiters as they were great. If we ate out we left 50-100 rupees or possibly more to get rid of smaller notes - at 85 rupees to the pound, it's no money to us so on occasion we left big tips if the food was worth it.

As we went over Christmas and New Year, there were Gala Dinners which were really good, vast array of wonderful food, with "entertainment" - I agree with everyone else's comments regarding the hotel entertainment - make sure you bring a good sense of humour as it is pretty awful but as we were on holiday, we just found it funny rather than getting irritated by it.

The hotel is really close to the airport, so little transfer time, which was great after such a long flight (flight was great, First Choice's new places are comfortable and well equipped, makes Monarch look like Aeroflot) - don't be put off though as there aren't many flights in/out of the airport so there's no noise disturbance.

We did a few trips - got a driver for a day to go up to North Goa - not as nice as Bogmalo and looked like it was being Anglicised a bit too much - places offering All Day Full English Breakfast and everything with chips and a smattering of "Irish" pubs - not our scene and was not as clean and laid back as Bogmalo - probably a better area to go if you want a lot of nightlife as there were a lot of bars. We took a wander along the beach and did get a reasonable amount of hassle (people selling stuff or trying to get us into their bar) - you get very little of that in Bogmalo - it was also during the peak period just after Christmas so was a lot busier than normal.
We did a cruise up the river (Bettys Criuse), which was fantastic, went out to sea first, saw loads of dolphins, then up the river, loads of birds and local village life, had a superb lunch then back down the river - a really chilled day.
Went to the Doosangha falls (not spelled correctly but they're the only falls), well worth a visit as a beautiful spot, you get a taxi to the nearest village then a 45 minute trip in a 4WD, then a 15 minute walk (mildly strenuous) to the waterfalls - do wear trainers or similar as it's over rocks and is a little slippery so not appropriate if you can't walk too far. Lots of monkeys and enormous fish under the falls.
We visited one of the spice plantations on the way back which was ok, quite interesting to see how different spices grow and the different things they're used for.

As there is a high proportion of Christians in Goa due to the historic influence of the Portuguese, Christmas is a major holiday period for them, so there was more local activity than at other times of the year, which we liked as it was good to see some of the local life and people - New Year was amazing and obviously an enormous party night for the locals - thousands and thousands on the beach letting off fireworks everywhere, having picnis etc, really great to watch from the hotel.

When we went, the weather was great - very hot in the middle of the day but cooler in the evening and very few mozzies, hardly got bitten at all which made a pleasant change and I normally get bitten to death - had a couple of tummy troubles, but nothing major and nohing that lasted more than a few hours. Wished we took more indigestion tablets as I think the malaria tablets we took caused acid tummies.

Jewellery is vastly cheaper here - we didn't go to the markets as couldn't face the herds of people but they are apparently very good, especially for silver jewellery. We bought quite a few things in the Kashmir Palace in the village, Abdul is a lovely chap and will give you a reasonable price, he made me a pendant from a lump of malachite which I think was about 30% of what I would've paid for it over here. He will also repair and redesign so if you've got an old ring or something that you don't wear, bring it with you and he will make something new - a few people had brought heirlooms etc to be redesigned into something that they would wear or fitted them.
We were also told Manoli the tailor is excellent and will copy things for you or make things from a pattern.
Bought a couple of things from the beach vendors, do haggle and pay about 30% of what they start at - some of it is ok but a lot of it is cheap tat !

We loved Goa and the people are very friendly - we met quite a few people who've been going back year after year and everyone we met was having a great time. If you want a relaxed holiday with the choice of good trips this is the place to go - regardless of age - if you want to have lively nightlife, you may find Bogmalo is a bit quiet but it was perfect for us as we just wanted to chill out for a couple of weeks and see some local culture.
I'd really recommend First Choice as well, our rep was extremely helpful and the decent flight makes such a difference.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank MandCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

we stayed at bogmallo beach hotel over xmas, what a fantastic hotel, and well deserved the 4 stars, the staff are so friendly and helpfull, you have clean sheets and towels each day, and they turn down the bed clothes in the evening, a local paper is delivered to your door every morning, what more could you want, the location is perfect, leads onto a smashing clean beach (apart from the cows) no hastle from sellers, they serve very good food in the hotel, but we found the local restuarants better value, john seagulls being the best, then joets, both on the beach, cloudys corner is very good for seafood, that one is along the main street, take a left, and you will come to it, we got to know most of the locals in the village, they like nothing better than for you to sit with them and have a natter, and we bought off all the ladies who have small shops, we made a point of not buying any where else, we got to know these ladies too, leelas is half way round the beach road, she shares her shop with two others, then there is little sintias, near joets, dell boys shop on the beach, in the square, there is emmas shop, she will get you any thing, just ask, say hi from sue and mick, raj has a jewelers next door and sells some fine things, say hi here too, watch out for pigs when walking round, great, if you take a taxi, ask for andrew, he is a very safe driver, and a charming man, all in all a great holiday, cant wait to go back in december.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank dalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2006

Niramaya is owned and managed by the Bogmallo Beach Hotel, which is located about 200 yards away.

It comprises about 16 'palm huts', an ayurvedic centre and an open air restaurant. The palm huts are not typical ramshackle affairs, but are built to a high standard and air conditioned. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, with good quality bedding. There was a fridge for your own use (not stocked). There was a shaded terrace with chairs and table.

The grounds were very well maintained, with a team of friendly ladies at work nearly all the time. There were various sunbeds and hammocks dotted about, so you could lounge in the grounds as well as the beach. The beach was just across the road from Niramaya. The only downside of staying in the grounds and looking at the sea was the ugly barbed wire fence which needs replacing with something a bit nicer.

Downsides were no safe and a lack of proper clothes storage - just a single hanging rail open to the room.

Breakfast can be taken in the onsite restaurant or at the main Bogmallo Beach Hotel. The breakfast choice was wider at the main hotel.

You could also use the other facilities of the main hotel, such as the swimming pool or restaurants.

For us, this was a good place to stay in the middle of a self-orgainised tour down the west coast of india. We had stayed in some substandard places and it was lovely to arrive somewhere really clean and welcoming, with good staff. However, I am not sure that I would have wanted to stay two weeks in these rooms, due to lack of space to put anything away.

Bogmallo Beach itself is a relatively small and quiet stretch of beach - always lots going on to watch, but never crowded with people sat on the beach. It still has an active fishing fleet. Although it is only about 10 minutes from the airport we did not find the plane noise intrusive. The beach was less clean than we would have liked, and sadly the local businesses do not seem to understand that it is in their own interests to keep it clean.

We found the local restaurants generally good - both Joet's and Sea Cuisine offered good service and great food.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TimeToTravelAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bogmalo
24.6 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
20.5 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
9.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 122 in Calangute
370 reviews
9.9 km away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
657 reviews
17.2 km away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#6 of 69 in Candolim
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogmallo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogmallo Beach Resort

Address: Bogmalo 403 806, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Bogmalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bogmalo
Price Range: ₹ 5,871 - ₹ 17,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bogmallo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bogmallo Beach Resort, one of the very first luxury 5 star resorts in Goa, is nestled on the secluded white sands of Bogmalo beach (Goa - INDIA) and is located just 10 minutes from the airport. The resort boasts of 126 rooms well appointed sea facing rooms and 15 luxury sea facing cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Yatra, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Bogmallo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogmallo Beach Hotel Bogmalo
Hotel Bogmallo Beach
Bogmalo Beach Resort Goa
Bogmallo Beach Resort Goa/Bogmalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing