We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bungalows(Santa Catalina)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cabanas Rolo(Santa Catalina)
Hotel Santa Catalina(Santa Catalina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Sol y Mar(Santa Catalina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Iguanito(Santa Catalina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mama Ines Hotel(Santa Catalina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Maya(Santa Catalina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabanas Time Out(Santa Catalina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
116
31
11
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
31
11
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga classesin townbreakfast and lunchsemi outdoor showerhot waterfruit and yogurtbathroom downstairsvisiting santaplace to staygreat placelaid backa great stayopen airstayed here for nightsthe air conditioningpoint breakvilla
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. It was exactly what I was hoping for... Quiet, quaint, organic. The only issue we had was with the comfort. It rains a lot there and we really liked sitting on the porch listening to the sounds and unwinding. But neither the bed nor the wooden chairs were comfortable at all. We couldn't sit in one spot for very long. There's no real "bars" to go to and everything shuts down early do it was a little hard to totally relax. The owners were very friendly and willing to help with anything. We drive our car over to Hibiscus Garden one afternoon and that was magical. We also went on a diving excursion with Steam Diving which was well worth the cost.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank cactusgirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thanks Cactus Girl for four stars! We'll have to see what we can do to make those chairs more comfortable. Now that the rain has stopped, everyone is hanging in the hammocks once again which is the perfect place for some R & R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Thanks for a great stay in Santa Catalina!

Feeling home is definitely easy with Michelle and Mike.
Great place to start activities like snorkeling, surfing or just hanging out in the hammock and read a good book.

Breakfast is definitely top-notch!;-)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great time in santa catalina at the lovely small hotel buena vida. The small houses are nicely decorated with mosaic in all colors. The room of the birdhouse is suitable for a family of 4. The room had a patio downstairs and a balcony with fridge upstairs . The staff in very helpfull with information and even gave us a lift when we missed the bus (highly appriciated). You can join yoga classes . We strongly recommand this small creative hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank trudys867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shogs1, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Trudy,
It was a pleasure having you and your family here, such nice people! I heard Mike had to chase the bus down for you! Too funny!
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and our suggestions.
-Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Eight of us, four adults and four kids, stayed at La Buena Vida for two nights in July and fell in love with it. We rented the Casa Del Mar which is a big open-plan bungalow with two double beds, a futon, and a bunk bed. The whole place is custom built by owners Mike and Michelle and the mosaic bathrooms and outdoor shower (whale shark and mermaid!) were out-of-this-world awesome! The full kitchen allows us to cook when we wanted, and the blender allowed for some wonderful impromptu fresh fruit smoothies (with Abuelo rum for the adults!). Whatever we lacked, Mike quickly provided to us from the restaurant which is attached to the back patio area (ice, some plastic reusable storage containers, additional cooking utensils, etc.). You couldn't ask for two more excellent hosts - both Mike and Michelle bend over backwards for their guests. Mike arranged a snorkel trip for us with a local guide that was better priced than anything we could find on our own. Michelle teaches yoga in the Birds Eye Yoga Studio each day, only a few meters up the hill behind the apartment and an exquisite location!

The restaurant serves up wonderful fruit drinks and meals (the fish tacos were awesome), and both Mike and Michelle have great suggestions for eating and drinking around town. You can't lose with this great duo!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodcreeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shogs1, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thanks so much for this Woodcreeper! Happy guests like you make it easy to host. We were glad to have you, your friends and beautiful daughters! Send more great people our way and maybe we will see you again someday!! Saludos a todos!!!
-M y M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed one night at La Buena Vida. We loved their attitude towards the community and environment. We wished that we had stayed there longer. Their restaurant has great healthy vegetarian options and they have an amazing yoga deck.

Don't get fooled by the pictures on their website. This place is much nicer than it looks from the pictures (at least our cabana). The outdoor shower in the Butterfly villa where we stayed is amazing!

Room Tip: Butterfly villa was great!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shogs1, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thank you Christian! We will have to do something about those photos on the website to showcase more art and our special attention to details here. Your review is much appreciated!
-Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews