We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”
Review of La Buena Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Catalina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Buena Vida
Ranked #2 of 11 Santa Catalina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2016

The hotel is centrally located so you can walk anywhere in town, even to the beach. We were able to get breakfast from their restaurant before heading out for snorkeling for the day.

The owners, Michelle and Mike, are very friendly and helpful. They are the artists that built this little slice of heaven. Each room is a different theme and carefully decorated. Outside shower is peaceful and private yet efficient and unique.

No TVs but there is WIFI. No Pool but the shower is Awesome. Great food right out the door for Breakfast and Lunch. Order to go also. Great gift shop full of local artists wares and other items you may need.

Michelle offers yoga and massages. She demonstrated the Yoga in Spanish and English so we all understood and maybe learned a little!!

Thanks Michelle and Mike

Room Tip: We loved the Mariposa (butterfly) room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shogs1, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

You are welcome Lisa.... anytime :). Thanks so much for the great review. Could be the first mention of my "Spanglish" yoga classes. Take care and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2016

Such a great place. The owners take such pride in everything about this place. The villa we stayed in was perfect. Hammocks on the front porch, comfy beds, ac, small little fridge on our balcony and no TV...perfect to unwind. The breakfast was fantastic, complete with fresh juices and smoothies. We also ordered a few of the home made granola bars for the road - delcious! Walk to he beach or convenient store. Will hopeuflly return soon!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwannabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shogs1, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Thanks so much! Our hope is that our guests will truly disconnect, enjoy the natural surroundings and exotic flavors the hotel and restaurant has to offer. Sounds like you did just that. Hope to see you again in the future!
-Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We absolutely loved our stay in the Ocean View Cottage. It is perched up on the hill just above town with a fantastic view of the pacific ocean and the famous surf break. We watched many wonderful sunsets from the deck of the cottage. The house is very private and had everything we needed to cook meals and relax. Michelle and Mike are great hosts! I recommend this house to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gabriellekennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shogs1, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Thank You!!! Yes, this is our newest rental off-site and apart from La Buena Vida. It's privacy and spectacular views don't disappoint.
-Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

Just finished 3 days there. Mike and Michelle are super friendly and helpful. I stayed in the Butterfly Villa and loved it. Comfy bed with AC. Clean. Shower is outdoor but private for the room - I liked it. Breakfast was good. It's about a 10-15 min walk to some of the best restaurants -- there are a few that are much closer. I didn't mind the walk as it is completely safe and pleasant.
Only 5 min walk to the dive shops.
I would definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank Jayson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shogs1, Owner at La Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Thanks Jayson!
We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again!
-Miguel y Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Gorgeous boutique B&B. Best in town. Selfmade, creative, cute and cosy place to stay. Nice details like the outdoor showers. Good food too. Supernice! Recommended to anybody. Clean and comfortable, friendly service.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank MIRJAMSAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.9 km away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
478 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
203 reviews
0.2 km away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
1 km away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 24 in Santa Catalina
145 reviews
0.4 km away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#3 of 11 in Santa Catalina
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Buena Vida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buena Vida

Address: Main Street | 600 Meters From the Beach, Santa Catalina 60745, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range: ₹ 3,213 - ₹ 7,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
INNOVATIVE - ARTISTIC- COMFORTABLE - WELLNESS -DISCONNECT - RELAX - RESET. La Buena Vida is located in the heart of Santa Catalina, Panama. Conveniently located near all super markets, restaurants, dive shops, and just a short walk from beaches and surf breaks. All our private villas have hot water, A/C and a mini frige. Book our "Casa del Mar" or house at Las Casitas for a full kitchen. Our artistic garden cafe serves healthy breakfast and lunch from 6:30 a.m. - 2 p.m. We offer regular yoga classes to the public in our beautiful tree-top yoga studio. As well as custom massage treatments. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing