We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Functional but nothing great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarovar Portico Badrinath

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badrinath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sarovar Portico Badrinath
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Badrinath
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Functional but nothing great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

This hotel is probably the best accomondation you can find in Badrinath, but considering the fact that it belongs to a reputed chain, I found it very basic. Some of the good features were that the rooms are very clean with running hot water (a luxury in that part of India) and good views of the city. The food was strictly okay. The service too was not as efficient as it should have been. For example, the central heating was not turned on despite the temperatures being sub zero and constant reminders, our laundry was returned to us after several reminders and the elavators were not functional.

  • Liked — Location and proximity to temple
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhaviC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    42
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
56
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

From the GM to the bell-boys: great service all the way. This is an all-male hotel, with no female staff, but the men are all courteous and friendly, ever eager to make the guest feel at home. The daily worship by a proper priest adds to the ambience. Within walking distance of the Badrinath temple, the location is excellent. Rooms are well-done and the bathrooms are clean & functional. Central heating was not on as we were there during the end of the season, but the rooms were kept warm with heaters. Definitely will be going back.

  • Liked — service & location
  • Disliked — can't remember
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank catNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

This hotel is now called "Sarovar Portico, Badrinath" http://www.sarovarhotels.com/ The hotel is burried in snow till the first floor during winter months when the town is closed to outsiders. Gets very cold at night even in summer months and there is central heating for few hours, so that you can sleep well. Breakfast is good. Dont expect too much otherwise you might be dissapointed. There's a TV too. Running Hot Water etc.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank samdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

Under new ownership when I got there -- it's now a Sarovar hotel. Nice place -- clean, comfortable, with a hot shower -- but they don’t supply a top sheet unless you ask for it and they may not change the comforter cover -- signs that their standard of hygiene isn't the same as mine. The first night I was in a room with no heat (the nights were cold) and with little separation from the neighbor's room. For the rest of my stay I changed to a much quieter room with heat. The food was good. They had the only internet access in town but it was an expensive 120 Rs/hour ($3) for 24k dial up. I tried it twice -- for about 8 minutes each time, of course without paying since they told me it was never that slow -- but 24k wasn't likely to get much better and it never did get me my email. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the downtown area and the bridge leading to the temple. It's quiet except that it's on the main road into town and it gets noisy in the morning when the caravans begin their exit. A surprisingly good quality hotel for a town that's accessible fewer than 6 months each year.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badrinath
58.7 km away
Hotel The Kedar Dev's
Hotel The Kedar Dev's
#4 of 5 in Badrinath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 km away
Shivalik Valley Resorts
Shivalik Valley Resorts
#1 of 5 in Rudra Prayag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
24.0 km away
Clifftop Club
Clifftop Club
#3 of 4 in Auli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Himalayan Abode Home Stay
Himalayan Abode Home Stay
#1 of 14 in Joshimath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 km away
The Royal Village - Auli Resort
21.6 km away
The Tattva
The Tattva
#3 of 14 in Joshimath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarovar Portico Badrinath? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarovar Portico Badrinath

Property: Sarovar Portico Badrinath
Address: Plot No 834, Badrinath 246422, India (Formerly Park Inn)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Badrinath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Badrinath
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,337 - ₹ 23,813
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarovar Portico Badrinath 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Sarovar Portico Hotel Badrinath
Sarovar Portico Badrinath Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing