We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveller rating
877
583
106
36
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
877
583
106
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel breakfast buffet train station deluxe room room service hotel is located nice room pleasant stay nest restaurant japanese restaurant keukenhof gardens last night pizza reception staff high quality modern design easy access
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

I had one night stay in this hotel for a business trip and this hotel has an amazing restaurant with great and delicious sushi. The room was really comfortable and huge. Nothing was missing and the stuff were super friendly. I recommend.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank Laurence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

A very dark hotel....I know this is sometimes thought of as being modern design and ambience both of which I like but on this occasion it was not to our liking a5 all. No privacy in the bathroom or toilet even with the lights turned off and a rather bizarre set up with the bathroom basin in the actual room being more like a kitchen sink/ bar...not sure what that’s all about

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hhodgs154613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSassenheim, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Hotel Sassenheim-Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Mrs. Hilary,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your honest opinion.

We are sorry that the interior and layout of our Deluxe room did not appeal to you. Should you consider visiting our hotel in the future, we advise you to choose one of our Comfort rooms. I think our Comfort rooms fit better with your preferences. The Comfort rooms have a closed bathroom and will be renovated in early 2019.

Thanks again for your feedback and for your stay in our hotel!

Kind Regards, Mariëlle van Rijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel has the best breakfast ever.
Location is excellent close to the train station. Very friendly & helpful staff especially Jonathan from the Nest restaurant.
Clean and classy interior design.
Thank you for making our vacation special!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank LIMOR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We stayed in 3 different rooms throughout our stay including the V.I.P suite for our anniversary. Surprisingly our favourite room was room 411 which was the deluxe suite. We have not stayed in the classic suite which is the standard room but the price difference between this and the deluxe was not a lot so we thought we would go one better. The price is very good to stay at this hotel. The deluxe room was spotlessly clean, very spacious, had a pleasant view of the pond. It was one of the best hotel rooms for the best price, we have ever stayed in. Beds are very comfortable.

The hotel itself is so beautiful, the design is amazing. Everywhere you walk it makes you feel relaxed with candles lit and wonderful smells. The hotel and its staff make anyone feel welcome, families, couples, business people it's a happy and luxurious place to be.

The Location is great you can walk to the train station easily and the area is safe. We had a car which was even better as its close to the motorway where you can go to any area of Holland or even back to Belgium so easily! Its about 40 minutes to Amsterdam.

Sassenheim is a small town, quite traditional but has a few shops. We had the most amazing meal EVER at an italian restaurant called Da Noi and we recommend you to go here if you stay at this hotel, or they offer takeaway. Its romantic, welcoming and the food is just perfection. Just like Italy.

We will be back to this hotel. Thank you for a great stay

Room Tip: Deluxe suite room 411
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelBeyondLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Superb stay at Valk Sassenheim, restaurant is really very good, the breakfast is superb and the overall service is excellent. aside the quantity of parking is really good and the location (15 Minutes to the airport, 1à minutes to the beach and 25 minutes to downtown Amsterdam) are great; the bed quality was also superb (looked like a "memory matress")

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anthonv219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews