We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better hotel!”
Review of Albergo La Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo La Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deiva Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great, great, great place to stay! We were not sure about it going into this trip, but it turned out perfectly.

At first, I was searching for hotels in Vernazza, Riomaggiore, and Monterosso, but everything was booked for our planned trip to Cinque Terre. So I somehow came across Albergo La Marina and checked out the reviews. We were incredibly satisfied with our choice.

The location was perfect for us. I was kind of disappointed at first because we had to take the train into Cinque Terre each time, and it wasn't the most convenient. The closest town (Monterosso) was 20 minutes away and the furthest town (Riomaggiore) was 40 minutes. But after seeing how many tourists were in all the Cinque Terre towns, we were so happy we chose our hotel. It's located in Deiva Marina and is five minutes from the train station. Easy walk, no hills and stairs like the other towns. Deiva Marina is a small little town right on the beach and it seemed like all the tourists that were staying there were Italians, so we never felt like we were in a tourist trap.

The room itself was average in size but the quality was just fine. Actually, better than fine. The decor was nice and modern, bathroom was spacious, everything was great. No complaints!

The service, I think, was perhaps the best part. We dealt mostly with Elena(?) and Marco. I didn't trust Marco at first because he was too nice and I thought it was sketchy. Turns out they're both just incredibly nice and helpful. Beyond helpful. They gave great advice and you can even buy your train tickets through them at the desk. Seriously, I can't emphasize how excellent the service was. Not just those two, but Marco's mother and father, and a couple of others on the staff as well. Marco's mom makes a pretty damn good cappuccino also!

We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. The only reason to not stay here is if you really must stay in Cinque Terre, but keep in mind you'll be in a swamp of tourists. Albergo La Marina is a great escape from the tourist craze of Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2 just at the top of the stairs. Only view is of the store across the street. No nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidkosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

This hotel is ideally located for those who wish to have a base for visiting the Cinque Terre, Portofino, or for spending a few days on a Riviera beach. It has upgraded its facilities in recent years and offers very comfortable accomodations at a reasonable price. Unlike other hotels in the area, its AC runs all the way through the night for comfortable sleeping. You can opt for a room with breakfast, half pension or full pension. The breakfast spead is very nice and filling and offers the best croissants in Deiva. It's only 30 meters from the beach, and on a good afternoon around 7pm you may find the waters as crystalline and turquoise as the Caribbean. The hotel has been owned and operated by the same family for 3 generations and everyone is very welcoming and helpful, if you're new to the area.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our stay at Albergo la Marina was not what we expected it to be.
The very hard beds made it not comfortable to stay here for more than 2 days.
We stayed for 9 days and we had trouble sleeping and pain in our backs.
Still if you are not in the 5terre for a long stay: I would recommend it because it is a good hotel besides the beds.

So if you don't have trouble with hard beds don't worry book this hotel location/service is great.

Room Tip: Top floor so you have no noice above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tancoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

It was a shame that it rained most of the time we were in the cinque terre. We did enjoy our stay at Albergo La Marina, the family apartment we stayed in was great. We looked forward to the breakfasts each morning, thanks Ann!!! We had great kitchen facilities but we couldn't use them as the Supermarket did not open in the 4 days we were there!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon261615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Have just spent four days in this lovely family owned hotel which is ideally located to explore Cinque Terre with the railway station being only 250 metres away. The staff while having limited English go out of their way to be helpful and were absolutely charming during our stay. We found the dinners at the hotel restaurant to be outstanding and recommend that you choose any of the local specialities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kroe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deiva Marina
0.1 km away
Hotel Clelia
Hotel Clelia
#1 of 4 in Deiva Marina
376 reviews
0.2 km away
La Lampara
La Lampara
#4 of 4 in Deiva Marina
135 reviews
0.1 km away
Residence Kriss
Residence Kriss
#3 of 4 in Deiva Marina
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#4 of 12 in Moneglia
243 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#1 of 1 in Framura
141 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#8 of 12 in Moneglia
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo La Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo La Marina

Address: Corso Italia 5 | Deiva Marina, 19013 Deiva Marina, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Deiva Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deiva Marina
Price Range: ₹ 6,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo La Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its particularly comfortable position, only 300 Metres from the railway station and few steps from the beach makes the hotel the ideal place for a relaxing and interesting holiday. Cinque Terre and Portofino are easy to reach by train and, during summer season, by boat, thanks to the small pier located only 200 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo La Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing