We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic in every way.”

Review of Chalet Chamois

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chamois Lounge Chamois Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Chamois Lounge
Chamois Bedroom 1
Chamois Front Door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Les Coches, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah H
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way.”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I couldn't recommend this chalet enough. Super location, super staff, super food. We hope to return many times!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thanks for your review, Hannah. Your group was a delight to look after and a perfect way to end our season. Hope to see you another year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan_R_00...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“At least 5 stars!”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Les Coches was much nicer than bits of the Paradiski area I’d been to before: easy to get to by train, close to the cable car to Les Arcs so you can get there ahead of any morning rush (and come back later), and a nice village rather than an ugly ski resort.

Chalet Chamois was comfortable and kept in really good condition. The rooms aren’t large but they’re perfectly adequate (especially after we’d moved the furniture around a bit in the smallest twin) and all en-suite. The lounge is cosy with the log fire every day, the dining room light in the mornings and with plenty of space for everyone round the table (not like some chalets), and the hot tub outside had a truly amazing view.

Ski-in / ski-out wasn’t quite on the cards because the snow was pretty thin on the ground when we were there, but even so it was only a 20 metre walk to a (slightly treacherous) piste or the in-house driver was very happy to drive people to/from the village’s main lift.

The hosts were fantastic all week and really made the holiday. The food was excellent with almost every meal a highlight (and the best banoffee pie I’ve ever eaten!), even while catering for several different dietary requirements, and with afternoon cakes, occasional canapes, three courses and cheese we were completely spoiled.

Nothing was too much trouble. The hosts catered for special requests for breakfast, provided a packed lunch for the train home, arranged lift passes, transfers, ski equipment, massages (!) and seemingly anything else we wanted – topping it all off with a last-minute dash to bring a forgotten passport to Bourg-St-Maurice in time for the train.

Thank you Duncan, Toorna, Andy and Phil – I can’t recommend you enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for writing a review of your time with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the chalet, the team and the food. We're also really pleased we were able to get your passport to you in time for the train! Hope to see you another year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky11
London, U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy chalet with stunning views of Mt. Blanc from the outdoor hot tub”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fantastic week in this chalet, with friendly, relaxed hosting by Phil and superb catering from Andy. Would love to visit again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for leaving a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful views from the hot tub and were looked after well by your chalet team. We look forward to seeing you again another year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely location. made very welcome!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We recently had a fabulous ski trip in Les Coches. Luckily for us we were blessed with glorious sunshine, after recent snow, so initially we had perfect conditions. We were collected from the station by Matt, who was on hand to transport us each day to and from Les Coches if we didn't want to brave the ski in and ski out option across the meadow from the piste. This is a really nice service. He was also playing in a local band on Wednesday evening in Les Coches, which was great fun. The Chalet is very pretty and cosy. The rooms are quite small and the shower rooms petit, there was more room in the bathrooms for those who had them. The beds are equally compact, especially for my 6 foot partner, who hates twin bed with single duvets and the gutless square pillows! That is Europe for you, so we accept this limiting factor as part of the package. Otherwise everything we needed was available. The food was plentiful and delicious and the wine was also very nice. Duncan and Toorna were very attentive and popped in to make sure everything was ok. The ski hire company that others were using appeared to be using poor quality skis, so the local ski shop in Les Coches would be a better bet. Pat and I would really recommend Duncan and Toorna's catered chalets to anyone who enjoys this kind of holiday. It is good value for money and a wonderful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham152...
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Chalet, superb location, fantastic food”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Don't go to this chalet, I don't want you blocking us out!
Seriously though at first glance it looks a little remote but it's excellent.
If you want extensive apres-ski and parties it's maybe not the place for you. However, Les Coches has a few bars and restaurants a short walk away (mind you it's up-hill back to the chalet)
Location
If you've come to ski/board, it's brilliant because:-
- It's literally yards from a piste that takes you down to the main lift of Les Coches (true ski-in, ski-out)
- It central to the massive Paradiski area so easy to go to Les Arcs or La Plagne
- Very close to the Vanoisse Express
- Lot's of good blues and reds through trees without leaving the immediate area
- A few lovely bar/restaurants "just up the slope" for a refreshing beer on the way home
- The hot tub overlooks the piste. One night we watched the light procession from the hot tub.
- Not served by the major transfer buses but the chalet will pick you up from Aime for a very reasonable fee to cover fuel

The Chalet
Comfortable rooms set on 3 levels. Bathrooms were clean and spacious and we were supplied with towels and dressing gowns - ideal for hot-tub!
The lowest floor has the boot room (with boot warmer) and exit to the hot tub and piste.
The dining area is very sociable and all guests agreed never to use the same chair twice which was a great way to get to know each other. Although it depends on who the guests are but the social atmosphere and chalet service brought us together and we met up on the slope a few times and ate out together on "feed yourself Wednesday"
The food and wine - superb, varied and plentiful. Best I've had in a chalet and certainly benefits from a professional chef

Would I go here again - oh yes, definitely. However, we have many more places in the Alps to explore so not returning straightaway. This is not a reflection on Toorna, Duncan and their team - it's just the way we do our ski trips.

Would DEFINITELY recommend this chalet.

Any criticisms?
- The stairs could be a challenge for anyone with mobility constraints
- Could be a little remote for people who want the Apres-Ski of a large resort but we go for the mountains and snow so perfect for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thanks so much, Graham, for your lovely comments. We're really pleased that you liked the chalet and enjoyed your holiday. I know the team really enjoyed looking after you and had a great week with you! When you do return to the Paradiski, do let us know - it would be great to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing