We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,671)
Filter reviews
2,671 results
Traveller rating
1,938
571
106
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,938
571
106
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango pool panoramic room beach bag sala bar chom talay restaurant happy hour horizon deluxe pool bar hill side shuttle bus shuttle service flip flops thai restaurant mobility issues tuk tuk main restaurant karon town
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 2,671 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This stay involved a number of challenges as well as surprisingly generous services and kind staff.
First the challenges ...we were unable to obtain early check in on day one which resulted in painful sunburn on a grey wet morning whilst being made to wait several hours for our room key...no air conditioned rooms in reception meant we took sanctuary by the pool. Whilst the estate is impressive, the lack of communal indoor spaces with air conditioning was disappointing for a five star hotel.

We were directed to the breakfast buffet so we could pay extra for the breakfast which it turned out was actually included in our booking...but the lack of drinkable coffee meant we remained v tired that day.

We were impressed that other hotels had communal air conditioned Cafe areas and the addition of such an area in reception would improve first impressions for those arriving at 8am.

Luckily our stay improved as soon as we were directed to the room. But there are no Nespresso machines or ice making facilities in rooms. A little more modest luxury would take the hotel to the next level.

The weather also improved and we enjoyed 8 dry days in a row of glorious sunshine in August.

The landscape is impressive. The pools are amazing and there are pool bars. But there are no pool side massages or ice creams available. Drinks are expensive unless you buy during happy hours. Spa services are in a far away corner and expensive compared to those available elsewhere in the area.

The best parts of the hotel are the staff who were thoughtful and helpful. The shuttle bus service is great but it would be good to have an evening service to Kata.

Finally if you are disabled then think again about choosing this hotel. You need to be quite fit and able to handle 10 stairwells a day and confident walking up and down hills.

We really did enjoy our stay but there is room for improvement.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank For_Hun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Khun hunter d,

Thank you for your constructive comments shared. Sorry for an inconvenience caused and we have taken note for area mentioned and to find an improvement. Nice to read you enjoyed the stay apart from minor points raised.

Once again, thank you for your patience and look forward to serve you again if come back to Phuket on your next holidays.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This is such a lovely ,well kept and peaceful place to stay. We had an upper room in the newer 5 zone near the lovely coconut pool . Breakfast was superb with something for everyone, freshly made omellets to order and pancakes , waffles and Thai soups all cooked a la minute alongside curry, stir fries, sushi , salad bar , fruit bar, smoothies, four freshly squeezed fruit juices pastries and more. Tuktuk take you to and from rooms on request , robes and flip flops in your room with beach bag and umbrellas. Lovely smiling staff and luscious well looked after tropical gardens. Compliments to the management on this well run resort.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Khun geraint1,

Thank you for your very positive comments shared. Happy to read you have had a wonderful time and hotel is met with your expectation.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fanolus hotel with amazing views! The reception staff are very friendly and helpful same with the concierge, they had excellent memories always following up on recommendations they'd given.

Must say room service was quite disappointing. Our order was incorrect and we only received half the order yet the person taking the order rang us to give out.

The pool and restaurant are fanolus! The bar is cozy ideal for a quiet night.

Fabulous plan for a couple or honeymooners .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bestybuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Khun Bestybuy,

Thank you for your nice holidays feed back shared. Please accept our sincere apology for an inconvenience caused during the stay. I will make sure with our team especially room service is aware of all customers order. Happy to read apart from this criticism you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your patience and do hope to get a chance to serve you again if come back to Phuket in the future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My husband and I just had a wonderful time staying at the Mandarava. We booked at the very last minute (2 days before arriving!!!!). We got a terrific poolside room and all the room amenties were great. The room was clean and comfortable (pillows a little hard but not that much of a bother). Breakfast was great with a really good selection of western and thai options. We dined at the restaurant a couple of times for lunch and it was great.

The pool bar was a little disappointing, not wanting to sound like a lush, the drinks were very light on alcohol, but I guess that's a good thing in some respects!

We did the BBQ seafood banquet on our final night and to be honest, it wasn't all that great ($40AUD a head), cheap by Australian standards, but the selection of seafood was pretty light on.

In terms of location, its up on a hill away from the town and beach, but really an easy 15 minute walk if not too hot. We used the complimentary shuttle when we could get the timing right, especially for the walk home after a few hours at the beach. The resort itself is set over a number of terraces and very steep in parts. There are a 90+ steps to climb from reception to the main restaurant and pool area, probably not a suitable spot for the elderly or less able. We were really lucky to time, shuttle lifts from the entrance to our room on a number of occasions which was wonderful (Thanks to all the lovely conceirges that did that, Jai in particular was always happy to take us up!).

In terms of views, the resort is tucked up amongst the trees on the hill, the ocean is only really visible from the main restaurant and a few rooms, but the surrounds are charming and very quiet, so I did not miss having an ocean view at all.

One point if booking ask for a horizon room and be sure that it is further up the hill away from the maintenance area, and Cheeva Spa as the Maintenance area is understandably noisy and unattractive and the Spa is located on a muddy pond (not visible from the spa, but from nearby rooms)

We enjoyed the Cheeva Spa at the resort and I think the treatments were excellent value (really good specials on) and perhaps one of the best massages I've ever had (given by Apple).

The staff at the resort were wonderful and always happy to assist with bookings and queries, and in true Thai style always with a smile.

All in all, if I was to return to Karon, I would stay at the Mandarava again.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buddykins08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Khun Buddykins08,

Thank you for your positive comments shared. Happy to read you enjoyed the stay and will definitely return if come back to Phuket , Karon beach.

Please feel free to contact us to support you with your next holidays plan when ready.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I spent 7 days at Mandarava Resort and Spa in August/2017.. I loved the place. I wish I could have some extra days to stay there. My room was very spacious and the bed extremely comfortable with air conditioner and ceiling fan. Balcony with a set of chairs and tea table. Modern bathroom with a bath and separate shower room. I tried to enjoy all the resources: 5 swimming pools, Cheeva Spa, two restaurants. I haven't been to the gym and game room. I loved the fact that the resort is in the hills. That was a good exercise to my legs, but also there was a friendly transfer to and from the beach till the door of each resident room. My room had balcony with ocean views, but if you prefer you can stay at the back with beautiful gardens and trees. I highly recommend.

Room tip: Quiet rooms at the back and sea views from the front rooms. There are some rooms with door to the swimming pool.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnaC4635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Khun Ana C,

Thank you for your great holidays feedback shared. Happy to read you have had an enjoyable time and will support to recommend hotel to others.

Look forward to serve you again if come back to Phuket, Karon beach, in the future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews