We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“In love!”

Review of Chateau de Bussas

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Saint-Jean-du-Gard, Gard, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Michael B
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In love!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely fell in love with Bussas; it exceeded all our expectations. The chateau and its location are simply glorious. The house and gardens are beautifully cared for, though not over-groomed, so brimming with character. Our apartment was delightful, with a lovely private spot to sit out and eat. The pool is beautifully located with a view out over the field to the woods. And you can set of for fantastic walks from the doorstep – this is marvellous walking country! The nearest town, St-Jean-du-Gard, with its market is charming, and there are also lots of fun things for kids in the area – tree-climbing, canoeing, a steam train, caves to visit – much more than we could fit in. And last but by no means, the magic ingredient: our hosts. A big thank you to Liliane the caretaker and especially Meg and her family for making us feel so very welcome!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhm-artwo...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Second visit to this wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I visited Bussas for the first time last year and returned last week staying in Le Grand Balcon, we had a fabulously relaxing week painting around the area. The domaine is lovingly looked after by Liliane & Bernard the caretakers the property is a slice of heaven, don't go if you want nightclubs and noise you will only find peace and quiet here. Bussas was full when we were there but you would not know others were staying there.
I will be returning again next year with a group of clients on a painting retreat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLis...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Utopia”
Reviewed 17 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We came to Bussas after a week with friends in a much more expensive luxury gite complex near Carcassonne and I was a tiny bit worried that the second week would not compare favourably to the first. After six hours in the car with two small children and a final hour of twisting winding roads, followed by a rather hair-raising drive through the estate itself, including a narrow, unrailed concrete bridge, I was immediately overwhelmed by the beauty and magical atmosphere of the house and its grounds. The pictures on the website, I immediately realised, had not done the place justice. All thoughts of the expensive gite complex we'd left behind, quickly fled my mind.

Bussas, as well as being welcoming, magical and tranquil, also worked extremely well on a practical level for housing the five families that made up our group. I'm not sure I'd want to come here solo and riisk sharing the hosue and pool with strangers, but that's more my personality than a reflection on the house! It was great having our own bit of space, our own front doors, and then all coming together to share meals and spend time by the pool.

We took leisurely impromptu walks through the breath-taking grounds, ate homepcooked meals on the terrace, overlooking the wooded valley, and our children were free to roam wherever they wished. It was a brief experience of another kind of life and I'm already yearning to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fivewrite
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing au chateau”
Reviewed 21 July 2008 for a stay in July 2008
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a week in the most peaceful beautiful setting on earth. We rented a cottage at the Chateau de Bussas in the Cevennes area of France. The owners are British but don't live there all the time, but they bought the 12th century chateau 18 years ago and refurbished it themselves. Now they rent out four apartments and one cottage, and have a French couple on site who look after guests and the property. It is set in 200 acres of grounds and is in a valley surrounded by mountains all covered in pine forests. A river runs right by the property which is warm enough to swim in during July. In the early evening sunshine you can sit out and listen to the crickets and the bees buzzing around the lavender and roses and feel as if you are miles from civilisation. But you are not. A short 10 minute drive takes you to local St Jean du Gard, a typical small French town, with a weekly market and excellent restaurants. There's a swimming pool on the terrace and cooking facilities in each apartment. If you're very active you can spend all week walking, river walking or even boating, but if you just want peace and quiet you can have that too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Liked best: It was comfortable and spacious and modern in an old setting
Liked least: Nothing
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Mich...
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Rooms
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing