We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowely authentic place in SdB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posada de Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Palacio
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lowely authentic place in SdB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Location in old part of downtown. 5 min walk to fortress, manzanilla museum and Bodega Barbadillo (it was important for me).
My aim was to find an authentic place to stay in SdB. Posada de Palacio is absolutely what I looked for. Decorated in old Spanish style with nice old furniture and graphics at walls. Corridors, halls and gardens which are crossing in sophisticated manner and make me feel Posada twice bigger than it really is. Such architecture makes each walk through Posada pleasant and interesting. Incredible terrace on the roof. Very lovely place.
It was my impression. When I droved car from SdB to Tarifa, me and my girlfriend said “Charming! The best!…” But my mother said “Not the best. Wardrobe was not big enough, small shelves for suitcases. Breakfast good, but nothing special”. I said “Really? It passed out of my sight”.
So, if wardrobes are your priority – please be careful, all the other people - welcome!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    34
    24
    15
    11
See reviews for
14
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Location and building are exceptional. Then the staff are really helpful and charming. We've been allowed to extend checkout for 7 hours for free (one of us had a injury) and advised all the time about local bars, special manzanilla bottlings...Thanks Ester, Sergio and the rest of the team. We will be back.

Room Tip: I had one of the suites on the street side but did not notice any noise at all. Room was so big, cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xabier a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

What an amazing hotel! The rooms are beautifully decorated with lots of character. All the rooms are really spacious, comfortable and very clean, perfect to relax in after a busy day site seeing. The surroundings are beautiful in the patio and the reception area. All the staff were extremly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much of a bother for them. The location is great and parking is free for customers. We also enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the gorgous resturant. The hotel is full of character and style with every detail been given careful attention for the customers to enjoy. I will return for certain when I visit Sanlucar in the future!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Extraordinary, old, rambling building on several floors. Stuffed full of antiques, potted plants and with several open courtyards - one boasting a full-sized persimmon tree with delicious fruit! Bedooms have been moderrnised, though some parts of the building are just derelict and await conversion. Once complete, I bet it becomes a Parador! Service not terrific, you could say the young staff are laid-back or just uncaring, depending on your point of view or how tired you were on arrival! One word of advice: don't do what I did and leave the bedroom shutters open at night. Even in late October the mozzies here are ferocious.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel is beautiful, housed in a very old courtyard building, huge bedrooms, packed with antiques. However that's it. Receptionists - unfriendly. Sanlucar de Barrameda - nothing special. Bathrooms - old. Toiletries/ Shower Gel - in a sachet (?!). A very weird stay all in all... We made the most of it (no thanks to Reception who gave no input at all when asked) - we saw the Royal Andalucian Horse show in Jerez (amazing!!) and visited a few local beaches (nice golden sand, but brown sea). From what we saw, this is the best hotel in the town, but the town itself doesn't have much to offer. The hotel does have a v good restaurant - see my other review.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanlucar de Barrameda hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
#1 of 10 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 km away
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Barrameda
Hotel Barrameda
#3 of 10 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Casa Sanlucar
La Casa Sanlucar
#2 of 10 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Macia Donana
Hotel Macia Donana
#6 of 10 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#5 of 10 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Palacio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Palacio

Property: Hotel Posada de Palacio
Address: Calle Caballeros 9, 11540 Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sanlucar de Barrameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sanlucar de Barrameda
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,005 - ₹ 7,535
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Palacio 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former palace of the eighteenth century located in the historical and artistic center of the most beautiful cities in the South: Sanlúcar de Barrameda , filled with noble buildings and beautiful wineries set ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Posada de Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Palacio Hotel Sanlucar De Barrameda
Posada De Palacio Sanlucar Barrameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing